We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Auckland Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Certificate of Excellence
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel, arrived late at night after a late flight. Reception staff were just lovely, and could not do enough for us. Room was lovely, clean and king bed was nice. Room had access to outdoors in morning which was lovely with fountain in garden. Would recommend this hotel.
Would suggest that the shuttle bus be made complimentary, as most other hotels around that area are.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan S, Ryan South - General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Auckland Airport. It was great to read that you had an excellent stay and that you would recommend the property.

I note your commentary regarding the airport shuttle bus and the cost. Please allow me to clarify that "The Yellow Bus" is a third party airport shuttle bus provider that all hotels in the airport precinct use. It is not free at any hotel but is sometimes included in rates in the same way that sometimes car parking or breakfast can also be packaged up in rates. Packaged rates generally have discounted inclusions and are great value but for guests who only need a room then a room only rate is great value too.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Auckland.
Stay Real,
Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    357
    180
    33
    15
See reviews for
141
281
75
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel due to a flight delay - so was placed there courtesy of LAN airlines.

I am used to such airline placements involving long delays at reception, por food, etc etc, so usually would have paid to stay elsewhere and avoid the procedure, but this time I did not.

The staff at reception were extremely polite and cheerful and handled the couple of bus loads of pax very efficiently. The buffet dinner was quite good. The room was basic but comfortable.

As I had an overnight stay I decided to get a cab into the city - and as other reviewers have stated, that is a very expensive exercise.

The next morning the staff maintained us all informed of the progress of our flight and eventually got us all back onto buses and back to the airport. Such disruptions to travel are always bad, often involve many grumpy passengers, etc, but the staff here did a truly good job.

The hotel is definitely just an overnighter - I cannot imagine why you would want to stay for any reason other than close (<10 minute) proximity to airport. But for that purpose it is quite good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judd e l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan S, Ryan South - General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hi,
Thank you for sharing your Holiday Inn Auckland Airport experience.

What a delight to read that you had a great stay even under the difficult circumstances of a delayed flight. Being an airport hotel we have a lot of experience with delayed flights but it is still a challenge and it is nice to hear that the team are continuing to deliver a great experience.

Getting to the city via taxi can be expensive but there are a couple of other more affordable options if you have the time e.g bus or hire a car from some of the lesser known providers in the airport precinct which offer some great deals. You can always avoid the trip by staying around the airport precinct, there is more to Auckland South than the actual airport. Please have a chat with Front Office next time you are here and we can recommend some great activities.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Auckland.
Stay Real,
Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatka, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed 4 nights with good overall experience. Check in was quick and staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and smells fresh. Our bed was comfortable and room was clean. The area feels safe and secure. They have washer and dryer available that was helpful. The only downside was the stairs, I didn't see an elevator on the side we stayed..? may have missed it. Be sure to see One Tree Hill and Mt. Eden close to there. The view is awesome. There is a drive up if you are unable to climb. Don't miss the Sky tower it's well worth seeing.

Room Tip: Ask about elevator. They have a garden view available, but we were hardly in our room so we didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan S, Ryan South - General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Auckland Airport.

For your future visits please do not hesitate to request a ground floor room which we would be delighted to allocate for your stay.

It was very nice to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to get out and see some of Auckland's highlights. Perhaps for your next visit you could check out Villa Maria Winery which is just the down the road from the hotel and is a highlight of any trip to Auckland.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Auckland.
Stay Real,
Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

After spending a few days travelling around Northern New Zealand and staying in Holiday Inn and Crown plaza properties, I felt that IHG were a chain of hotels which I could trust.

Due to an early morning flight out of Auckland, I checked myself and my family Into the Auckland Holiday Inn airport hotel. On checking in, I was allocated three modern rooms and the process was smooth and straightforward. The rooms were modern, quiet and clean with comfortable beds, unfortunately this is where the good points end.
My room had been upgraded to an executive room as I'm a gold IHG member, however here wasn't a duvet nor blanket on the bed, just a sheet. The other 'standard' rooms did have sheets and blankets, so that was a bit odd.

Due to the late evening check in, we thought we would try the restaurant to eat in. The food appeared to be cooked fresh and there seemed to be a good selection at the buffet, especially of starters. Two members of our party decided to treat themselves and order from the menu opposed to using the buffet. We choose salmon and steak, which both seemed to be relatively easy meals to cook well!

When the salmon arrived, it appeared to be overcooked, bland and lacked taste. Due to our time restraints, it was eaten anyway and no fuss was made. Approximately 5-6 hours after going to bed, an eruption of illness occurred, which included vomiting and a close proximity to the toilet being required.

In the morning, the rest of the party (excluding the ill member) decided to have a simple, plain breakfast (how can you muck up a breakfast!?). Although there was a good selection of continental food, the 'hot' options were tepid at best. I attempted to have a small English breakfast, although it was very cold throughout. I had the option of ordering a freshly cooked eggs, however these were again not cooked as I ordered.

As I sit on my flight with my family now, one member is rushing to and from the loo, whilst the others are hungry due to the Inedible breakfast. I only get to spend a very short period of time with my family each year and feel that it has been ruined by the illness caused by the appalling food standards. Never in my life have I had such a bad dining experience whilst away.

Whilst checking out of the hotel, I explained my experiences to the members of staff, who were apologetic and did attempt to compensate us for the poor experiences we had received.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank madmatthewd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan S, Ryan South - General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Auckland Airport.

I am sorry to hear about your illness and I do hope you are feeling much better. The Manager on Duty who looked after you on check out has also been attempting to contact you. If you could return our call on +64 9 256 7109 we would like to check on your condition.

Firstly I do apologise that your bed was made up minus the duvet. Of course that should always be on the bed like you observed in your other two rooms and I will follow up with Housekeeping as to why your suite was listed as ready when it was not finished. If there is anything you ever need for your room to make your stay more comfortable please do not hesitate to ask.

Regarding your food experience I feel it is important to note that whilst the salmon was not cooked to your liking there is also no way to confirm without a medical test if it caused illness. In fact we served over 200 guests on the evening in question and served many portions of salmon on the buffet and a la carte without anything other than positive feedback. The hotel strictly adheres to New Zealand food policies which are amongst the tightest in the world.

Generally illness caused by food does not occur until 12 hours or more later. If a doctor was given the opportunity to fully investigate the case he/she would be reviewing what was eaten over a 48 hour period prior to your arrival. Illness like what you have described can just as easily be caused by any number of other environmental factors, not just food. Only a lab tested sample can confirm.

As you have stated the staff did offer medical assistance and a goodwill gesture of a food & beverage discount was offered and accepted because you did not fully enjoy your F&B experience. The medical assistance to confirm what made your family member ill was declined so I am disappointed to read here that you have blamed the hotel as the source of illness without any evidence.

I do hope to speak with you soon to further discuss this matter and resolve it to your satisfaction and I look forward to your phone call. I have just now left you another voicemail.

Kind regards,
Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

The hotel is about 4-5Km from the airport so if you are overnighting to catch an early flight the next day it is a good choice.

It is quite far from central Auckland - taxi cost around $70 for a one-way trip to city center.

There are shopping areas and restaurants near the hotel as well.

The room was comfortable and breakfast was good. The shuttle to and from the airport was not free and had to be booked and paid for in advance. It is not a hotel shuttle but rather an outside service which picks people from all hotels in the vicinity.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddiki89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan S, Ryan South - General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Auckland Airport.

What a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay and the comfort of the room and the quality of the breakfast particularly impressed you.

The airport shuttle bus has a ticket machine at the airport and in the hotel. Tickets can be purchased just prior to getting on the bus but there is no need to arrange/prepay tickets before you get to the airport or before you are ready to depart the hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback and the team and I look forward to seeing you again in Auckland.
Stay Real,
Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

The hotel airport shuttle is not complimentary so be prepared to pay extra for this service as well as for coffees at the buffet breakfasts.
The rooms are as can be expected, however the corridors do echo.
Convenient to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 213SN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan S, Ryan South - General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport. You are quite right that the airport shuttle which is run by a third party for all properties in the airport precinct is not free but we would hope that at $6 and free for children 12 and under that it is still quite good value. Machine coffee is included in the breakfast buffet which is very nice but yes there is a charge for a barista made espresso coffee.

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay otherwise and that the convenient location of the hotel worked for you.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Auckland.

Stay Real,
Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

My second stay in this hotel and an excellent standard for an airport hotel.

The hotel is around 7-10min by taxi from the airport. Hotel is very pleasant with a wonderful garden and water features in the middle courtyard. The rooms are "motel style" but very clean and functional.

Best feature of the hotel is that the staff are excellent, and it will not "break the bank" on day 1 of your holiday or business trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gman558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan S, Ryan South - General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Auckland Airport. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the friendly team and the gardens were a highlight.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Auckland.
Stay Real,
Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.4 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.2 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
1.0 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
1.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
1.2 mi away
Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Auckland Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Address: 2 Ascot Road, Airport Oaks, Mangere 2022, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mangere
#4 Family Hotel in Mangere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Auckland Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Auckland Airport is located only 4km from Auckland International and Domestic Airport Terminals, set amongst 10 acres of tranquil established gardens, out of flight paths and set back from the road away from traffic – Holiday Inn Auckland Airport is a sub-tropical quiet oasis. The hotel's airport shuttle bus will link you with the hotel in just 5 minutes, so you will soon be relaxing after your flight in one of the well appointed rooms or by the hotel swimming pool. You will be warmly welcomed by genuine people offering authentic New Zealand down-to-earth consistent service in a relaxed and unique environment. The decor features stunning authentic Maori carvings and a huge aquarium backdrop to the reception desk and a centrepiece to the lobby. Holiday Inn Auckland Airport is a non-smoking hotel with plenty of outdoor spaces for those who still like to. The Auckland Airport accommodation offers guests excellent hotel facilities, restaurant dining and access to attractions in and around the greater Auckland. Holiday Inn Auckland Airport is a great choice for families as children eat and sleep for free. The 250 spacious en-suite guest rooms have a contemporary design with a focus on functionality, quiet and comfort. Holiday Inn hallmarks include showers with a massage option shower head, choice of soft or firm pillows and mattress toppers for a great night’s sleep. All rooms have been refurbished. In-room features include;* individually controlled air conditioning,* ensuite bathroom,* flat screen TV,* Sky TV channels,* in-room movies,* workspace/desk,* phone,* iPod docking station radio/alarm,* high speed internet access,* fridge,* complimentary tea/coffee making facilities. The refurbishment at the hotel has been a well constructed, modern design, that has given space back to the guest to relax in. All our standard rooms are 28 sq. m and feature contemporary design with a focus on functionality, quiet and comfort. The guest rooms have been divided equally between Twin rooms with 2 double beds, and King rooms. Our King DELUXE has the added bonus of facing the beautiful centre courtyard gardens. We also have Nine Suites ranging from our Superior Tower Suites and Deluxe Spa Suites to our Super Deluxe Tower Suite. ALL our Suites have Spas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport Hotel Mangere
Centra Auckland Airport Mangere
Centra Auckland Airport Hotel
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing