We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Airport Hotel with Too Many Extra Charges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Typical Airport Hotel with Too Many Extra Charges”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The rooms are renovated and clean, nice bathrooms, good TV channels (Disney for kids!), but the outside has seen better days. The pool was unheated so not usable in June, and some smokers were by the outside intake vent so the smoke went right into our hallway, fortunately not our room. Just beware of the extra charges to factor in when comparing hotels: parking fee, shuttle fee and charge for internet. A regular airport hotel, definitely not a 4 star, New Zealand must use a different rating system, this is a 2.5-3 * airport hotel with several extra charges. If you need a clean, comfy bed for the night, this will suit just fine, but be prepared for the little fees.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Java73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Java73,

Thank you for your feedback. We are truly pleased you liked you room accommodations. Guest comfort is of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide a clean and comfortable accommodation at a good value.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    359
    181
    36
    18
See reviews for
144
283
76
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed on two separate occasions during my recent trip to New Zealand. Booked through Virgin Rewards from Australia and recieved a great rate. For the second visit I received an even better walk up rate direct from the hotel. Upon arrival I realised I had stayed at this hotel (but it had a different name) back in 1987.

Rooms were clean and well appointed and did not lack for anything. There was a big function on the first time I stayed but did not hear any noise from it at all. The bar was pleasant and the buffet meal in the restaurant was excellent with a good variety of choices. The big plus was the breakfast buffet - a great variety of choices. A highlight...!!!

The staff were friendly, engaging and helpful as well and the attitude of staff certainly can make or break an experience.

Overall, a great place to stay close to the airport but not too far from central Auckland.

Room Tip: Both rooms I stayed in were near the "Tower 3" entry and were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Scott M,

Thank you for your comments on recent stays with us. It’s great to be able to welcome a guest back after so many years. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and the team were able to make your stay memorable. Look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Ryan South
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
202 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We always stay at the Holiday Inn when were heading away on holiday and have an early morning flight. It's an excellent location with a regular shuttle bus to/from domestic and international terminals. This time we flew up early so the kids could enjoy the hotel pool. It was nice to have some time to enjoy the pool and hotel gardens. This hotel is consistently offering great value accommodation with excellent amenities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Leanne D,

Thank you for review and for being a loyal customer of our hotel. I am sure we will be seeing again in the near future on your next trip.

Safe travels,

Ryan South
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our stay here was prior to going to a funeral in Christchurch. Your staff went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The food was excellent, also!
The room was quiet, very comfortable and had everything we needed. We had a great night sleep ready for our flight the next morning. A big thank you to all staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Molemap,
Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us. I am glad to see that you were well looked after by our great team, and you enjoyed an excellent meal. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Brian Tinworth General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Room was musty smelly, old hotel, could do with a bit of renovation, the staff at the cafeteria was rude, did not allow us to take our breakfast to our room, will never in this hotel for the price they charged and the condition of the place..Stayed December 29/2012

Room Tip: staff should be more friendly when ask about food
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crocus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Crocus V,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that the accommodation and Restaurant Team did not meet your expectations while you were with us. We do give constant attention to the condition of the hotel, and I am sure should you stay with us again you will be able to note that the hotel is looking fresh and appealing.
I was disappointed to read you were not allowed to take your breakfast back to your room, as this is certainly available to all guests in the hotel. Your comments have been passed to the restaurant.
If you would like discuss your stay further, please feel free to contact me on brian.tinworth@ihg.com.

Kind regards,

Brian Tinworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the night before flying back home next morning. The hotel is different(old style) than what I expected. It is a great location. My only feedback will be that the rooms smelled a bit musty and the spoons in the room were not squeaky clean. Apart from that the beds and the service were excellent. We had dinner at the hotel and it was great. The portion sizes were massive. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMum29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear TravellingMum29,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to our hotel. I am very glad to see you had great stay overall, but we will certainly discuss your constructive comments about the bedroom and see how we can improve to this to make an even better hotel.

Kind regards,

Brian Tinworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed one night at the inn,what a welcome relief after a 8 hour drive check in was hassle free the room was so inviting beds were so comfortable sheets and blankets were lovely crisp and clean the room itself was very clean the cleaners do a great job,had breakfast at the hotels restaurant great value for your money had a full breakfast they had everything you could think of waiters were excellent all staff at this hotel are so helpful and friendly, was worth every cent we paid for to stay at this hotel we will defiantly be back to stay next time we are back in Auckland

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear busy I,
Thank you for your review of recent stay with us. It is fortunate to be able to share this positive feedback with our hard working team and reassure them we are together making a great hotel guest’s love. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Brian Tinworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
2.1 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
0.4 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.0 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
1.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
1.1 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Auckland Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Address: 2 Ascot Road, Airport Oaks, Mangere 2022, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mangere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mangere
#4 Business Hotel in Mangere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Auckland Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Auckland Airport is located only 4km from Auckland International and Domestic Airport Terminals, set amongst 10 acres of tranquil established gardens, out of flight paths and set back from the road away from traffic – Holiday Inn Auckland Airport is a sub-tropical quiet oasis. The hotel's airport shuttle bus will link you with the hotel in just 5 minutes, so you will soon be relaxing after your flight in one of the well appointed rooms or by the hotel swimming pool. You will be warmly welcomed by genuine people offering authentic New Zealand down-to-earth consistent service in a relaxed and unique environment. The decor features stunning authentic Maori carvings and a huge aquarium backdrop to the reception desk and a centrepiece to the lobby. Holiday Inn Auckland Airport is a non-smoking hotel with plenty of outdoor spaces for those who still like to. The Auckland Airport accommodation offers guests excellent hotel facilities, restaurant dining and access to attractions in and around the greater Auckland. Holiday Inn Auckland Airport is a great choice for families as children eat and sleep for free. The 250 spacious en-suite guest rooms have a contemporary design with a focus on functionality, quiet and comfort. Holiday Inn hallmarks include showers with a massage option shower head, choice of soft or firm pillows and mattress toppers for a great night’s sleep. All rooms have been refurbished. In-room features include;* individually controlled air conditioning,* ensuite bathroom,* flat screen TV,* Sky TV channels,* in-room movies,* workspace/desk,* phone,* iPod docking station radio/alarm,* high speed internet access,* fridge,* complimentary tea/coffee making facilities. The refurbishment at the hotel has been a well constructed, modern design, that has given space back to the guest to relax in. All our standard rooms are 28 sq. m and feature contemporary design with a focus on functionality, quiet and comfort. The guest rooms have been divided equally between Twin rooms with 2 double beds, and King rooms. Our King DELUXE has the added bonus of facing the beautiful centre courtyard gardens. We also have Nine Suites ranging from our Superior Tower Suites and Deluxe Spa Suites to our Super Deluxe Tower Suite. ALL our Suites have Spas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport Hotel Mangere
Centra Auckland Airport Mangere
Centra Auckland Airport Hotel
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing