We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rest after a long flight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Certificate of Excellence
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“rest after a long flight”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

arrived into Auckland at 7:30 am. arrived at the hotel at 8:45 asked for a room & was given one at 10am. comfortable room, attentive staff, restaurant good but overpriced, internet fee a rip off. get this, you can buy 30 minutes in their business center for $5, or spend $19 for 24 hours in your room. complimentary shuttle from airport excellent. all staff was very professional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ugoniee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Ugoniee

Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel, it is much appreciated.

We were pleased to hear that you were able to get a guestroom early and so able to rest after your long flight and that you found it comfortable. We were also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant Vapor.

We offer free Wifi for 20 minutes in all public areas and then we have a structured rate for time / MB required by the guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Brian Tinworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    367
    184
    38
    18
See reviews for
147
287
78
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Everything was prefect except no inroom WiFi.
Got a room facing "in", view of the garden.
Quiet, no noise at all.

Being on the 2nd floor (one floor up), I was skeptical at first about leaving the part of the blinds open overnight, as I want to see the light shining into the room. But it doesn't look like anyone walks through the garden at night, so I feel safe and secure.

Room Tip: Rooms facing "in" are best. Rooms facing "out" aren't too bad either. But f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YNot7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear YNot7777
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel, it is much appreciated.

We were pleased to hear that you found our guestrooms very quiet, as we have been actively reducing the level of noise by introducing door silencers throughout the hotel. This is as a direct result of comments made by guests in previous reviews.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Brian Tinworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Good place to stay with a good conference centre and business facilities close to the airport. Staff were friendly, helpful and very knowledgable. The breakfast was well worth it, with a vast selection of options. Our conference was also catered for and was simple but well thought out.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shakey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Shakey72

Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel, it is much appreciated.

We were pleased to hear that you thought our conference facilities were good and that our staff gave exceptional service. We have many good comments about our buffet breakfast and are glad you enjoyed it too.

We look forward to welcoming you back for business or pleasure.

Kind regards
Brian Tinworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
2 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lovely hotel, clean rooms however I stay in many hotels and am amazed that holiday inn charge for wifi.. This should be complimentary as even motels in mangere offer this service free of charge . One bonus is the bus service from hotel to airport and vice versa has decreased from $10 one way to $5 one way ....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBlackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear MBlackie

Thank you for your review of our hotel, it is much appreciated.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Keep a look out for our new initiatives for Wi-Fi in our guestrooms in 2013.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Brian Tinworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Book 2 night at holiday inn and pay no more than $150.00 per night for 4.5 star hotel, this price is normal for motel only at new zealand.

Hotel allow sleep 2 + 2 kid under 18 with two big queens size bed, inc free breakfast buffe( kids eat free), may be one of the best value deal in town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smart8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Smart8

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel, it is much appreciated.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Brian Tinworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I must start by saying that despite my "poor" rating, the front desk did reaccommodate us in a different room - here is the story:

We were checking in for a rest before an early morning flight. The first room we checked into at this large, well-worn hotel was filthy. The beds were remade, but after having been slept in my the previous guest. The sheets had stains and hair, and were clearly not clean sheets. The carpet was terribly stained and the upholstered chair was greasy from dirty hands. The curtains had splattered stains and the entry tile was dusty with bits of leaves as if it hadn't been swept for weeks.

We promptly returned to the front desk to say that we could not stay due to the cleanliness issues. I asked for a refund. The manager appeared and profusely apologised saying he would find a better room. We were moved to a brand new looking junior suite. It took a while for the airconditioning to work, but we were fine in the end.

My overall opinion is that the rooms did not get that dirty overnight and they probably need a lot of help on re-training the housekeeping staff. I would stay right at the airport next time.

Room Tip: Chose the junior suite or a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KidsnMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Kidsnme,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

I am very sorry that your accommodation did not meet you expectations, and the level of cleanliness in the first room you were allocated was unacceptable. This is clearly not the standard to which Holiday Inn aspires. I believe our cleaning standards are high and our training is excellent, however on this occasion something went wrong. I am glad the Duty Manager took prompt action to move you to an alternative room that was acceptable to you.

I would hope that you will give us another opportunity to restore your faith in the Holiday Inn brand.

If you would like to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me on brian.tinworth@ihg.com

Kind regards
Brian Tinworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Yes, convenient location, yes, a lovely setting - just needs a little bit of tweeking !!

1) I had received an email pror to our stay - welcoming us to Holiday Inn. Unfortunately, the info attached is wrong. It states: "Shuttle charge (one way) $10.00 NZD" So, instead we arrived by Taxi, at $26, figuring that just for $6 difference it wasnt worth waiting for the shuttle. When we arrive, we find out that the shuttle is actually $5 one way ................ Update the website please.

2) My side of the bed sloped towards the ground, although I thought maybe I was imagining it - so my husband slept on that side the next night, it turns out that yes, it does slope and then it was him with the very sore back instead of me!

3) Check the Bill very carefully - we had drinks in the Bar, yet there were two sep charges - one of them wasn't ours. $17 we could have inadvertantly paid for.

4) We dined in the restaurant both nights of our stay, the hot food wasn't hot. It was luke warm - it was very tempting to ask for our plates of food to be microwaved. We should have learnt from the first night !

5) Being very loyal to the IHG Brand (Platinum member) - it is then nice to be greeted as such, but no verbal mention at check in, as is usually the case. A sticker on a piece of paper is not quite the same as for example the (standard) complimentary bottle of wine and personally signed welcome note (Crowne Plaza, Melbourne) ..............

A lovely setting - but, very let down by just a few things

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mckenzie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Mckenzie88,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback which is important to improving the quality of the service we provide.

We will check and update our website for information on the airport shuttle bus and ticket prices accordingly, and your comments on the bar bill and unheated restaurant plates will be used in training and team briefings to increase our accuracy.

Your description of the issues with your bed are certainly not a standard we intend to provide, so we will check our beds to ensure they are all standing at an even level.

Finally I was disappointed to read that you were not recognized properly as a Priority Club Rewards (PCR) Platinum member, which you should have been at check in, as this an important aspect of a Priority Club members stay. However, I must point out that it is not part of the official PCR benefits that members are to receive complimentary bottles of wine as standard, but at the discretion of the hotel.

If there are any aspects of your stay you would like to discuss in further detail please do not hesitate to contact me on brian.tinworth@ihg.com. Once again thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Brian Tinworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
2.1 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
0.4 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.0 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
1.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
1.1 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Auckland Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Address: 2 Ascot Road, Airport Oaks, Mangere 2022, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mangere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mangere
#4 Business Hotel in Mangere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Auckland Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Auckland Airport is located only 4km from Auckland International and Domestic Airport Terminals, set amongst 10 acres of tranquil established gardens, out of flight paths and set back from the road away from traffic – Holiday Inn Auckland Airport is a sub-tropical quiet oasis. The hotel's airport shuttle bus will link you with the hotel in just 5 minutes, so you will soon be relaxing after your flight in one of the well appointed rooms or by the hotel swimming pool. You will be warmly welcomed by genuine people offering authentic New Zealand down-to-earth consistent service in a relaxed and unique environment. The decor features stunning authentic Maori carvings and a huge aquarium backdrop to the reception desk and a centrepiece to the lobby. Holiday Inn Auckland Airport is a non-smoking hotel with plenty of outdoor spaces for those who still like to. The Auckland Airport accommodation offers guests excellent hotel facilities, restaurant dining and access to attractions in and around the greater Auckland. Holiday Inn Auckland Airport is a great choice for families as children eat and sleep for free. The 250 spacious en-suite guest rooms have a contemporary design with a focus on functionality, quiet and comfort. Holiday Inn hallmarks include showers with a massage option shower head, choice of soft or firm pillows and mattress toppers for a great night’s sleep. All rooms have been refurbished. In-room features include;* individually controlled air conditioning,* ensuite bathroom,* flat screen TV,* Sky TV channels,* in-room movies,* workspace/desk,* phone,* iPod docking station radio/alarm,* high speed internet access,* fridge,* complimentary tea/coffee making facilities. The refurbishment at the hotel has been a well constructed, modern design, that has given space back to the guest to relax in. All our standard rooms are 28 sq. m and feature contemporary design with a focus on functionality, quiet and comfort. The guest rooms have been divided equally between Twin rooms with 2 double beds, and King rooms. Our King DELUXE has the added bonus of facing the beautiful centre courtyard gardens. We also have Nine Suites ranging from our Superior Tower Suites and Deluxe Spa Suites to our Super Deluxe Tower Suite. ALL our Suites have Spas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport Hotel Mangere
Centra Auckland Airport Mangere
Centra Auckland Airport Hotel
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing