We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for a one night stay in transit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hotel has been done up in the last couple of years so that the rooms are comfortable and clean. Staff were friendly and check in and check out was efficient, which is what you want when you are only getting 6 hours at the hotel.
Bus very convenient but even though the hotel is only a couple of kilometres from the airport, the bus service does at a significant amount of time. Ok if not in a hurry but you know what business travel is like!
Would overnight here again for leisure trips and business if my flight times were bettter than the ones I had on this trip which was an 11pm arrival followed by a 6.00am checkin.
This hotel is good value for money though!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blowenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear blowenz
Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor, it is very much appreciated.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the room comfortable, the staff friendly and dependable. We are lucky to have the benefit of being close to the airport but out of the flight path, which makes our rooms very quiet, but perfect for the business traveller, with the added bonus of the shuttle.
We look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind regards
Brian Tinworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 877 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'm going to be unduly harsh about this hotel. I say "unduly" because the hotel has a lot going for it which I'll deal with first.

The low cast building looks good; the entrance area is attractive, the staff (when you get your turn at the checkin desk) are friendly and helpful. The upgraded room we were given looked attractive, was roomy, had a desk and office chair and was generally pleasing at first impression. The restaurant served good food, service was friendly and I have to mention the iced tea.

We asked for iced tea to drink. So the Maitre d' actually made a jug which she said she'd never done before. She used lemon for the fruit flavour and all it lacked to make it a delicious drink was sugar, which we added. A splendid effort and atiitude.

So, for many people, this would likely be a fine hotel. But at $285/night this hotel was in the higher price bracket and the defects I'm listing did not seem reasonable to me.

First (in no particular order),the Internet arrangements were at best poor and at worst less than honestly portrayed. They said there was no wifi in the guest rooms, only wired Internet at $29.95 per 24 hours. That would have been of no use whatsoever to someone with an iPad or similar. Not only that, we were in far flung rooms from the public area but we got perfect wireless reception. So what was that all about? They offered 20 minutes free wifi in the public area - an utterly useless period and frankly an insult; thereafter at a swingeing tariff higher than the wired tariff in the room. I asked management about this;they replied that this was an old building and they were going to do something about it in the near future including changing their ISP wholesaler. IMO, they've had years in which to have got this right for business people and there is no excuse for such a lamentable and costly Internet service.

Second, in our room there was no full length mirror and no mirror whatsoever in daylight.

Third, the bath was very deep. All very well but there are no handles for people struggling to stand up when getting out. Very poor. Plus we couldn't le the bath water out because the plug, not on a chain, was held by water pressure.

Fourth, we had heavy luggage and we were given rooms upstairs. No lift, no porter. What!! $285/night and the manager has to eventually struggle our bags upstairs?

Fifth, and this won't matter to everyone, we are PlatinumPriority Club members; with a long checkin queue, there was nobody available to attend the priority desk; just one hard pressed individual (who needs a pat on the back).

Sixth, and this really got to me; Platinum members are supposed to have complimentary water and fruit in the room. Zilch, except that the person on the desk relented and provided a bottle with his compliments. Maybe individual hotels can opt out of the convention, but I think this is fundamentally wrong. Consistent standards should be applied across the board. Furthermore, at $285/night this amounts to shabby treatment of Platinum Club members who spend lots of money with the ICH group.

Seventh, there was no drinks menu in the restaurant! You had to ask for what you wanted only to find they didn't have it. Hence the iced tea story above (much to their credit).

I think that regional HQ haven't been doing their job properly. I suspect that this hotel is a cash cow and wrong attitude to the detail I've mentioned has prevailed. I wonder what the defensive response, if any, from ICH will be.

A disappointing and annoying shame.

Room Tip: Ground floor for there is no lift.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suspishio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Suspishio
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of our hotel, it is very much appreciated.

We welcome your comments regarding your recent stay with us, and we appreciate you highlighting the positive aspects of your time with us, which we will pass onto the relevant departments.

We will certainly review your constructive criticism and take what steps are necessary to improve our service and product delivery, particularly in regard to the provision of WiFi and our check in standards for Priority Club members.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Auckland Airport and we hope we will see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Brian TInworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay. Got in late and had an easy check in. Found it surprisingly quiet, the kids loved the garden and pool area I loved that the kids eat for free and has great staff. LOVED the breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzbridgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear nzbridgie
Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor, we very much appreciate it.
Yes our lush gardens and lovely pool are a true asset to us. Such a lovely area to relax in.
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and the breakfast – we get a lot of positive comments about our breakfast and I shall pass on ypur comments to the chef and service staff!


Kind regards
Brian Tinworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was a one night stay before a drive up to the Bay of Islands, so our main requirement was food and sleep. Plus secure parking - which we knew we would have to pay for.
We had interconnecting rooms 1163 and 1165 (ground floor, both with 2DB). Although 1165 had an extra rollaway bed (not requested), which made opening the interconnecting door a little awkward.
The beds had comfortable pillows and there was no outside noise to speak of. That being said, the walls are certainly thin - we had to call reception to report an alarm clock going off in the room next door, after we spent 10 minutes convinced it was the one in our room!
The rooms were close to the gym, but a reasonable hike back to reception and the Vapour restaurant.
Speaking of the restaurant, the quality of food was great, service staff were very friendly and helpful. The dinner menu was wonderful, but the breaskfast buffet the next morning was one of the better ones I have had - lots of variety. Fruit, eggs, bacon, sausages, pikelets, doughnuts, danishes, yoghurt, cooked tomatoes, baked beans, toast... the list goes on!
The only 'negative' comment I have is that Room 1163 was already occupied - by an army of ants taking an early morning stroll through the bathroom. The lack of a de-mister in the bathroom was also disappointing.
All in all, I would recommend this as an airport hotel for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InfrequentFlyer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear InfrequentFlyer22

Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor of our hotel, we very much appreciate it.

We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn and that our staff made you welcome.
We are sorry that you were inconvenienced with the rollaway bed in your room, which made it difficult to access the interconnecting room and we have definitely givien the ‘army of ants’ their marching orders and apologise for this
Yes we beleive that we have one of the best breakfasts in the area , a great hot and cold buffet and I shall pass your commence on to our chef.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Auckland Airport again

Kind regards
Brian Tinworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

For an airport transfer I suppose this hotel fulfilled its requirements. On check in I was given a room on the ground floor with a connecting door to the next room, nobody had obviously checked my request in my booking which was for a room on a higher floor with NO connecting room. However when I pointed this out I must say I was moved to a another room which fitted my requirements. The move was executed with grace by the check in clerk but why was I not offered this room in the firstt place, especially as a platinum member?
The room itself was quite large but plainly furnished, the rooms are obviously in need of an overhaul but the bed was comfortable and the area quiet, with a nice view of the garden. The bathroom was very old fashioned in look but was in full working order, with good hot water control.
The breakfast was expensive and only some of the hot food was actually hot! I did not complain as I wanted to get out of the ghastly restaurant asap, it is a hideous, largish area in 70s/80s style with little natural light and a canteen look.
It is better to go out of the hotel and walk 4 minutes to the nearest little shopping area which offers fulsome and cheaper alternatives to the hotel breakfast and dinner and has far more atmosphere.
The bar is marginally better and not too expensive during happy hour.
However the good points are the excellent shuttle service (tho it did break down twice on each occasion I used it!) between the airport and hotel. The staff in the hotel are also excellent with manners and cheerfulness. So all in all, a mixed feeling hotel for me!

Room Tip: ask for a room as far away from the ballroom as possible
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RalphSingapore66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear RalphSIngapore66

Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. It is very much appreciated.

We apologise for not getting your check in details right the first time, but we are pleased to hear that you were able to be accommodated efficiently and with a friendly smile eventually with a room move.

The hotel has had a major renovation in recent years which included all 250 of the guestrooms.

We are pleased to hear that you were able to sample some of the local cafes during your transfer stay, we do have
a very diverse range within walking distance of the hotel.

We will pass on your comments to our staff to keep up the excellent manners and cheerfulness.

Kind regards
Brian Tinworth
General Mnager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

As an elite status Priority Club member, this hotel ranks very highly because of the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We stayed three nights at a public holiday time recently. We had a guest with us who was enthralled by the experience. Reception did their very best to give us near-adjacent rooms in spite of the Hotel being very busy.
We used the restaurant for all meals. Food was plentiful; attractive and varied for all tastes.
The room and facilities were clean, tidy, and had extra bath towels etc.
Car parking was FIVE dollars per night - unlike some (expensive) places!!!!!

Our stay was made that much more enjoyable because of friendly, helpful staff. We have stayed here previously for overnights when using the Airport for overseas.
For travellers, I commend this Hotel for your arrivals or departures: you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelinspector72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear HotelInspector72
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor for our hotel. It is very much appreciated.

We are so pleased to hear that you and your guests enjoyed your stay with us over Labour Weekend. You were very lucky to be some of the first diners to experience our new season menu’s, we are glad it was tasty, attractive and plentiful.

Our staff take great delight in trying to make our guests feel like they are at home, and that nothing is a problem.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Brian Tinworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I've always heard of Holiday Inn, but never stayed in one before. Mum & I stayed here as we had an early morning flight the next day. Our check in was quick and friendly, we found our room easily and had awesome views of the lovely gardens & pool area. The room was a twin with bathroom. Decor was fresh & modern, clean & comfortable. We had a great nights sleep. We also sampled the food in the Halo bar with a gourmet pizza. we shared one and the chef very kindly made one half as my mum liked it & the other just as I liked it - now that is service. The staff were chatty, and friendly which made us feel very welcome. The whole atmosphere was relaxed but still very efficient. Well done Holiday Inn & thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: If possible, ask at reception which room they would recommend, they know best!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welsh_in_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Welsh_in_NZ

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel in Trip Advisor, it is much appreciated.

We were very pleased to hear that your Mother and yourself enjoyed your overnight stay here before travelling on. It is always great to hear that our staff have made a guests’ stay as comfortable as possible and we will pass on your kind comments. We try to accommodate all our guests’ weird and wonderful requests.

We look forward to you visiting our hotel again sometime soon.

Kind regards
Brian Tinworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.4 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.1 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
0.8 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
1.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
0.6 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Auckland Airport

Address: 2 Ascot Road, Airport Oaks, Mangere, Auckland 2022, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mangere
#4 Business Hotel in Mangere
#4 Family Hotel in Mangere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
Price Range: $106 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Auckland Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Auckland Airport is located only 4km from Auckland International and Domestic Airport Terminals, set amongst 10 acres of tranquil established gardens, out of flight paths and set back from the road away from traffic – Holiday Inn Auckland Airport is a sub-tropical quiet oasis. The hotel's airport shuttle bus will link you with the hotel in just 5 minutes, so you will soon be relaxing after your flight in one of the well appointed rooms or by the hotel swimming pool. You will be warmly welcomed by genuine people offering authentic New Zealand down-to-earth consistent service in a relaxed and unique environment. The decor features stunning authentic Maori carvings and a huge aquarium backdrop to the reception desk and a centrepiece to the lobby. Holiday Inn Auckland Airport is a non-smoking hotel with plenty of outdoor spaces for those who still like to. The Auckland Airport accommodation offers guests excellent hotel facilities, restaurant dining and access to attractions in and around the greater Auckland. Holiday Inn Auckland Airport is a great choice for families as children eat and sleep for free. The 250 spacious en-suite guest rooms have a contemporary design with a focus on functionality, quiet and comfort. Holiday Inn hallmarks include showers with a massage option shower head, choice of soft or firm pillows and mattress toppers for a great night’s sleep. All rooms have been refurbished. In-room features include;* individually controlled air conditioning,* ensuite bathroom,* flat screen TV,* Sky TV channels,* in-room movies,* workspace/desk,* phone,* iPod docking station radio/alarm,* high speed internet access,* fridge,* complimentary tea/coffee making facilities. The refurbishment at the hotel has been a well constructed, modern design, that has given space back to the guest to relax in. All our standard rooms are 28 sq. m and feature contemporary design with a focus on functionality, quiet and comfort. The guest rooms have been divided equally between Twin rooms with 2 double beds, and King rooms. Our King DELUXE has the added bonus of facing the beautiful centre courtyard gardens. We also have Nine Suites ranging from our Superior Tower Suites and Deluxe Spa Suites to our Super Deluxe Tower Suite. ALL our Suites have Spas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport Hotel Mangere
Centra Auckland Airport Mangere
Centra Auckland Airport Hotel
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing