We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Airport Gateway Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
New Plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“No Frills”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

You get what you pay for here. Check-in was rushed . The room was of good size. The blankets (no duvet or top sheet) clearly had big stains on it. The lightshades were broken and the room was dated. The bathroom is in need of replacement however it was reasonably clean. No cuttlery, wine glasses etc.The walls are not insulated & the noise from other guests plus the road traffic was terrible! The remote control for the TV had clearly not been working for sometime. The brittle sellotape on the remote gave that away. The tv was extremely old & reception was very poor.
We choose to eat in at their restaurant. You seat yourself & order your meal at the bar (we discovered after not being attended too). After choice number 3, I managed to get something that was on the menu. The fettucine had wonderful flavours but nearing the bottom of the bowl there was just melted butter seperating from the sauce. The sirloin steak was very tender & juicy. The staff were polite. However I felt like I was "the hotel inspector", all night the boss kept coming out of the kitchen & adding what had been sold. The drinks were all removed from the bar & calculated. The tableclothes have paper over them, this gets turned over & used again. I discovered at breakfast that they hadn't even bothered to remove the crumbs! They were left on the cloth & paper over the top. Breakfast was very average & once again the butter shone through, this time in the scrambled eggs!We had to ask for cuttlery & the meals were handed to us by the boss wearing his padded ski jacket.There was no atmosphere! Overall the restaurant is very tired & in need of some serious attention including the way it is run!The restaurant looks like it is in serious trouble.We would definitely not go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airportgh, General Manager at Airport Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi,
We appreciate your feed back and will resolve the issues raised by you. The hotel is under the process of renovation and we are going about it in a phased manner. It is unfortunate that you stayed in a room that had a old bathroom. During your next stay I shall ensure that you get a room with a new bathroom.
I shall personally speak with the restaurant manager and apprise him of your comments and they shall be looked into straight away.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    106
    122
    76
    148
See reviews for
96
197
91
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place is great if what you want is just an economic bed for the night. I checked in off a late arrival flight, took a bus into the city from outside the front door, returned at midnight and was back at the airport by 0630. Checkin and checkout were efficiently handled and the room though basic was quiet, clean and tidy with a comfortable bed. Airport transfers were efficiently and promptly executed. My stay was necessarily brief and I did not try any of the other services on offer.

Room Tip: No recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piilate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spent the night here before going overseas for a fortnight. The attraction was that it was cheap, our car could be stored there for the two weeks we were away and they provide a free shuttle to and from the airport. For the price it ticked all the boxes, but you get what you pay for and there was no frills. Light bulbs were out in the room and one leg on the bed was broken.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I've stayed here a few times and am generally satisfied - at least it seems good value for the location and convenience. It is close to the airport and they do free pick-up at any time, which is great. However, I think it's more like a 'motel' or 'lodge' than 'hotel'. It's pretty average and as someone said, dated or 'tired'. This time particularly I noticed the shower very old (like what we had in the 80s), and basin with old non-mixer taps.. The bathroom door didn't even close properly, let alone lock.. (I don't even think the lock was real). Fortunately I was alone so didn't mind too much. The towels were not that clean either (perhaps black hair dye stains - could have been worse), but the sheets seemed fine and the bed comfortable. Thankfully they had electric blankets and a small heater. The phone in the room was not connected so I could not contact reception in the night when needed. They do provide soap and shampoos etc, tea/coffee etc so it's like a 'hotel' in that sense, but a budget one. Service is pretty friendly and courteous but as to be expected. A good place if you're on a budget and can put up with something average.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sriwichic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manawatu
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were booked in for two nights by our company as we were attending a conference in the area. If I had a choice I would have walked straight out again. Receptionist was rude. We had four rooms and not one was satisfactory. Rooms were dated and unclean. Mould around showers and skylights. Cracked dirty tiles in the bathrooms. The hallway carpet was so dirty it must not have ever been cleaned. Rooms smelled of bleach. Lights and Tvs did not work properly The restaurant smelt of old dirty oil. Breakfast was included which consisted of a box of cereal, pears out of a can, a tub of yogurt and stale bread for toasting. There was no hot water for tea so the sever took the cup away and my colleague said she saw the waiter fill it from the hot tap. We had breakfast elsewhere the next morning as could not face the smell again. Do not stay here. There are plenty of other hotels in the vicinity.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderingfeet12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airportgh, General Manager at Airport Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hi ,

We are sorry for your unpleasant stay at our property. Your points are noted for future compliance and would be actioned upon. We are in the process of renovating bathrooms and corridor carpet in next few months. We have already renovated one third of the bathrooms and this is unfortunate that you did not stayed in one of those rooms.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mangere hotels

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

got a good deal on booking.com for $79 for double room with 2 free continental breakfast and free shuttle service. it was good stay before flying overseas. The hotel is old but still maintained. The rooms were spacious and bathroom was great. Will stay again .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gurjeet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2013

After a delayed flight we arrived at 2 am with 3 tired kids & 2 adults, we had pre booked 2 nights at $145 a night. The shuttle should have been our first warning. The reception and room were disgusting, they key would not fit into the lock so they broke into our room... The smell was disgusting the sheets towels and pillow slips were dirty and the room was so so damp... We stayed cause it was 2 am and our kids were exhausted. Everyone slept in their clothes with their jackets over our pillows. We left the next day finding accommodation at the Bella vista which was $10 cheaper and a palace in comparison! This place is a con I suspect doing online bookings for late flight arrival who like us are disgusted....

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airportgh, General Manager at Airport Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hi Shelley,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused. This is the first time that we have received a feedback from the guest with regards to the linen. We have informed our laundry supplier for the same. With regards to the key opening the door of your room, on checking the lock is working fine. I fail to understand why the night shift staff could not operate it for you.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.5 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
1.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
0.9 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
1.1 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Gateway Hotel

Property: Airport Gateway Hotel
Address: 206 Kirkbride Road | Auckland Airport, Mangere, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Airport Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Gateway Mangere
Hotel Airport Gateway
Airport Gateway Hotel Auckland/Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing