We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to airport, free shuttle, very clean rooms and fantastic staff”
Review of Oakwood Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakwood Manor
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great for an overnight airport.

Shuttle was prompt and efficient with the driver setting the tone for the friendly staff to come.

Reception and restaurant staff were truly helpful and hospitable and managed to organise some food even though the kitchen had officially already closed.

The rooms were clean and tidy with all the expected facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richardd2557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 305 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

My 9-year old niece and I stayed at Oakwood Manor for one night during a weekend in Auckland. The night was paid for using FlyBuys points, so I can't speak to price, but we were very pleased with this motel.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, very welcoming. It was evident that there is an effort being made to provide top customer service.
The room (#145) was spacious, clean and comfortable with a Queen bed and two twins, big TV, as well as a separate kitchen and bathroom area. If I'd been staying longer I would have liked to have a bit of counter space in the bathroom area, but that is a small detail.
We had a swim in the pool, which was directly across from our room outside. The kids all loved it! Free parking, good location. I'd happily stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed for one night before heading to the south of the north island next day. Picked up from airport shortly after we'd rung from the Tourist Centre at the Arrivals hall. Friendly staff, pleasant restaurant, good food, and quiet location. The accommodation consisted of kitchen, bathroom and bedroom/lounge, with a good range of kitchen equipment, iron and ironing board, towels galore, some toiletries, free wifi, TV, tables and chairs, free tea/coffee. Modern, spacious and clean, a perfect place to relax after a very long flight, and the driver returned us the next morning to the airport from where we'd be taking the bus. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarumanthewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

The staff were friendly and made an effort being service minded, incl the shuttle drivers to and from the airport. That will always be a big plus. The family unit was clean and
comfortable, just what we needed before an early flight the next day. Because of the convenience we decided to try out the restaurant for our dinner but that was a big mistake. We opted for four so called gourmet burgers. When we arrived there were only two other tables occupied, by a couple and one single. It took ONE HOUR to get the burgers. It wasn't too much of a problem as we weren't in a hurry but waiting for that long only to find that the patties were still RAW inside is totally hopeless. There was nothing gourmet about them in the first place. Budget, frozen patties, a sad looking bun and a couple of lettuce leaves at the price of $16.50. We would have done twice as good at McDonalds and also had the food cooked. I sent mine back while the others left theirs. Twenty minutes later I had the same burger back but now fried beyond recognition. There were both pork & beef steaks on the menu, at nearly $30, served to the other two tables. They looked just as grey and uninspiring as our meals. The woman who acted as waitress apologised and said the chef was new. New he may have been but he certainly was no chef.

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank seadragon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

4 of us arrived in Auckland, having travelled from the UK to see a friend here in NZ. As soon as we landed, we went in search of a place to stay for the night. Oakwood Manor had two rooms left and they also organised for a shuttle bus to come and collect us and all of our suitcases from the Airport free of charge! The driver, Warren, was very chatty and made us feel at ease instantly. We then mentioned we were looking for a rental car, Warren then told us he would look for one for us and surely enough, 10am the next morning after we were refreshed from the lovely shower and comfortable beds, Warren had organised for our hire car to be delivered to us. How lovely!

As a result of such a good night stay, my partner and I booked to stay again before we head off to Thailand and his parents also booked to stay again before they head back home to the UK.

500MB of free WiFi was also very handy!
Thank you!
We shall see you all again soon!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Sherrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

4 of us arrived at Auckland airport on the 7th with no accommodation or car rental sorted out after speaking to someone at the airport they recommended oak wood manor. We had a free shuttle pickup from the airport and the man was extremely helpful in finding us a rental car for the next morning which was delivered to the hotel by 10am... Couldn't have gone any smoother if we'd of planned it weeks in advance. The rooms are nice and comfortable beds. We booked a stay again for our return to the airport a week later... Would recommend to anyone

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We arrived at the airport late at night (11.pm) to be picked up by the Oakwood Manor staff. Very friendly and hospitable. Took us back to the Motel, checked us in and showed us to our unit. The unit was very spacious, clean and tidy.Met the new Managers in the morning who were also very friendly. This Motel is just a little away from the hustle and bustle of the airport. With the good ickup service this make a good place to stay. Look forward to staying again.G & G

Room Tip: Be nice to the Motel staff and don't take for granted. Be friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaylene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
1.1 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
1.7 mi away
Ibis budget Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
2.2 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
1.4 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Manor

Address: Oakwood Manor 610 Massey Road | Mangere, Mangere, Auckland 2022, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Price Range: $99 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakwood Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free WiFi, 14 days free parking and a 24-hour reception, Oakwood Manor Motor Lodge is located 10 minutes' drive from Auckland International Airport. Set on 2 peaceful acres, this lodge offers a free courtesy airport shuttle service and laundry facilities. Guests can enjoy a meal at the on-site restaurant followed by a dip in the outdoor swimming pool. All accommodation in Oakwood Manor Motor Lodge offers either a kitchenette with cooking facilities or a London kitchen with tea and coffee facilities. Each comfortable room features a TV and a refrigerator as well as an en suite bathroom. Oakwood Manor Motor Lodge is close to public transport, a hospital and shopping centre. It is 8 minutes' drive from Villa Maria Estate Winery. Central Auckland is 20 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Oakwood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Manor Motor Hotel Mangere
Quality Inn Mangere
Oakwood Manor Auckland/Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing