We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable”
Review of Oakwood Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakwood Manor
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here for a night before an early flight. Room was very basic, old but clean. I was disappointed that there was no facility for making a hot drink in the room. The neighbourhood is quiet. The airport transfer was very convenient and staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Noisy near the reception area so ask to be a bit further away.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awal9898, Manager at Oakwood Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hi Pip,
Would be interested to know which room you stayed in as all our 55 units have coffee and tea making facilities. The A Block up the corridor all have a London kitchen, with sink, fridge, Electric jug, milk and tea/coffee and sugar. The other 2 blocks have kitchenettes with cooking facilities.
So do not understand when you could not make a hot drink. Thanks for your comments anyway.
Kind regards
Lou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
There are newer reviews for Oakwood Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 286 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here for two nights prior to flying out due to the great rate for accommodation and car parking. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay again due to the convenience of the parking and shuttle ride to the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awal9898, Manager at Oakwood Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hi Thanks for comments, it is very much appreciated.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
Lou & Morgan
Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Good for airport transfers
We booked this hotel because of promotion. Price was 2x lower than standard. Hotel's neighborhood is nice and quiet, but there is no shops. Rooms are huge and very comfortable. They have a kitchenette with a dining area. This is perfect place to unpack the car before flying home after the holidays. Room price includes transportation to the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob_sad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awal9898, Manager at Oakwood Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thanks for your comments yes those rooms are lovely and spacious. We are about a 10 mins walk to the nearest shops and about 20mins to the nearest shopping centre.We do strive to keep
our prices at reasonable levels. The free shuttle and car parking takes the stress from Guests
flying out for a good holiday.
kind reghards
Lou and Morgan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed here for two nights this past weekend. The staff and service cannot be topped. From my initial enquiry phone call to my check out, everyone was friendly, helpful and smiling. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. It was also back from the road so it was quiet and I felt very safe. Continental breakfast was included and it was excellent. The second morning I upgraded to the cooked breakfast, also excellent, cooked to order and served with a smile for $6.00. I was here for work so I didn't need the shuttle or car parking but it's great that it's on offer. My only tiny tiny niggle is that there are no mugs in the rooms, just little tea cups. I don't expect Oakwood to go and buy mugs, I'll just bring one from home.
This is a great value for money place to stay for any reason and I will certainly stay here again and would happily recommend it to others. In fact, I already have recommended to some friends.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room back from the road, as it is a busy road.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antipodeannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awal9898, Manager at Oakwood Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Hi So glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you will be back when you have another
course. The only rooms that have cups are the standard studios the rest of the rooms
do have big mugs, but thanks for your comment we will look into this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great place to stay close to the airport very tidy with a nice pool will be coming back again soon great restaurant pleasant quite location with great service and gardens would recommend to all looking for a quiet place near the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awal9898, Manager at Oakwood Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Hi Thanks for your great comments, really do appreciate that you were happy and I have
passed these comments onto staff. See you again sometime.
kind regards
Lou & Morgan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Arrived mid morning after driving up from Wellington and needed a motel close to the International Airport with a shuttle bus as we had to be at the airport by 5.15am the next morning. The Manager could not be more helpful. The first room he showed us did not have a microwave which we required so then showed us another but he did not like the lock on the door so then showed us a 3rd room which was perfect for our needs and gave it to us for the same price as the original one. (a very big thank you). Allowed to leave our cases etc even though it was quite early. Unit was very clean with separate bedroom; bed very comfortable and another plus was the bathroom had a separate toilet. Wake up call was received and on time - so often this does not happen. Found the staff very friendly. Did feel the grounds needed a bit of a tidy up but in saying that it is winter so not much is flowering but that is the only thing that I could find fault with. Would definitely stay here again when visiting Auckland.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank puppygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awal9898, Manager at Oakwood Manor, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hi PuppyGold, thanks for your comments on your stay at Oakwood Manor. We thrive to keep
our guests happy and help them to make their stay more pleasurable and comfortable. I will inform staff of your comments. A lot of time is spent by the Manager in keeping the grounds nice
and tidy. The trees are Oak trees and we are forever collecting the leaves, at least the four seasons show at Oakwood Manor. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we see you again.
Kind regards
Lou and Morgan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

the evening we stayed at Oakwood Manor, our car broke down. We were lying out 7am so we did'nt have time to sort anything out and been out of towners, we dids'nt know where the nearest garage was, but the staff including the shuttle bus driver told us not to worry, they would organise the repair for us , which they did and also paid for the repair ( we reimbursed them, of course). Our car was ready for us on our arrival back to NZ. Well done Oakwood maor, you certainly helped us out, thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaranakiClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awal9898, Manager at Oakwood Manor, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Hi Thanks so much for your lovely comments on the Motel.
We strive to accommodate our guests in every possible aspect.. Hope you had a stress less
stay away and we were only to happy to help you out with the car. Would love to see you again.
Kind regards
Lou and Morgan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
1.1 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
1.3 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
1.4 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Manor

Address: 610 Massey Road | Mangere, Mangere, Auckland 2022, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Price Range: $93 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oakwood Manor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free WiFi, 14 days free parking and a 24-hour reception, Oakwood Manor Motor Lodge is located 10 minutes' drive from Auckland International Airport. Set on 2 peaceful acres, this lodge offers a free courtesy airport shuttle service and laundry facilities. Guests can enjoy a meal at the on-site restaurant followed by a dip in the outdoor swimming pool. All accommodation in Oakwood Manor Motor Lodge offers either a kitchenette with cooking facilities or a London kitchen with tea and coffee facilities. Each comfortable room features a TV and a refrigerator as well as an en suite bathroom. Oakwood Manor Motor Lodge is close to public transport, a hospital and shopping centre. It is 8 minutes' drive from Villa Maria Estate Winery. Central Auckland is 20 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oakwood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Manor Motor Hotel Mangere
Quality Inn Mangere
Oakwood Manor Auckland/Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing