We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopover to/from Auckland Airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Gawler, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good stopover to/from Auckland Airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We arrived after-dark into Auckland with 2 teenagers and a 3yo in tow after a 5 hour flight, just wanting a meal and bed for the night before we picked up our motorhome. We booked the Oakwood as it was fairly close to the airport, had a family unit to fit us all in, and also a restaurant so we didnt have to travel for food.
Good value for money, our room was basic but pleasant and fit the 5 of us with ease. The burgers in the restaurant were delicious too! The reception staff were excellent, as were our shuttle drivers. In fact, our shuttle driver in the morning wasnt very busy and actually drove us to where we picked up our motorhome. I dont think this was usually what they are allowed to do, but it really helped us out with the 3 kids and all of our luggage, thank you so much!!
Good value for money, we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awal9898, Owner at Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hello Gawler
Thank you for your wonderful review .
i know what it is like to travel with young children .
it is not unusual for our shuttle drivers to drop people off to car hire or camper van collection points just part of our aim to go the extra mile when ever we can.
We are a family friendly complex so are used to having children around and our restuarant has a kids menu to keep them fed at resonable prices
Many thanks for your review and we hope to see you again in the future
regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    82
    66
    28
    27
See reviews for
73
96
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I arrived in Auckland International airport on 4 Mar 2013 at around 1 am. We made a call to Oakwood Manor Motor Lodge to request for their complimentary shuttle service by using the free telephone located at i-site, just opposite of Macdonalds. The driver and his companion (two Indian lads) came to pick us up within 15 minutes. The driver was also the one who checked us into the motel. Good response time and friendly service!

We are not sure if there is a fan or air-condition provided. It was a cool night and there was no need for us to use either that night we stayed at the motel. The room is pretty big, enough for us to open our big luggage, and place our back packs, and still have plenty of room to move around.

We stayed at the motel for a night before moving on to our next destination. The furnishing in the room is old but it is kept clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awal9898, Owner at Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hello ChinoGirl
Thank you for your review i am glad we were able to be of sevice for you and that our staff were so helpful for you.
Clean is still the number one requirement of travellers and a am glad we were able to meet your exspectations.
many thank for staying with us at Oakwood
regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turners Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was not expecting much bang for my buck but this motel exceeded my expectations. The room was a studio with a queen bed, small bathroom and small kitchenette closet. I stayed for 2 nights.

I was picked up from the Domestic Airport by a very friendly chap who chatted happily while we were on the road. A nice way to make me feel welcome at the start.

Reception was busy but friendly and I was booked in in no time at all.

The room was clean and comfortable and had everything that I needed. The bed was very comfy and I slept well, both nights I was there. I generally do not rate pillows at all, but the pillows they used in my room were of good quality and really were really supportive. They did not lose their loft like a lot of cheap pillows. The linen was good quality too and was a pleasure to sleep in.

The staff were fantastic, polite, friendly and very helpful. I lacked for nothing. When I needed milk for my copious cups of tea, in-room, the staff were more than happy to fill a small jug with milk - and refilled when I ran out! Excellent.

Their in-house restaurant served delicious, well-priced meals. I ate in-house both nights. The server was a lovely lady with a ready smile and pleasant countenance. She was unobtrusive but there if you needed anything.

If you do not have transport, like I didn't, it pays to ask about buses. The bus stop was only 100 metres away, so very handy. I took a bus to Westfield at Manukau City and it was a 2 stage ($3.40) trip. The buses are not very regular so make sure you plan your trip and don't miss the bus as it is a long walk back. You can also take a bus to Akl city centre, so you have lots of choice.

The complementary mini bus to and from the airport is a huge bonus. I really appreciated this part of their amenities.

Thank you Oakwood Manor for making my stay comfy and very pleasant. I highly recommend this facility.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awal9898, Owner at Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hello Trudy
Many thanks for your wonderful review on trip advisor are staff all ways strive to go the exta mile where ever possible .
Customer satisfaction is our gool
The refurbishment is now complted and it is good the here that our customers appreciate the new beds etc
We look forward to you staying with us again in the future
Many thanks
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed at Oakwood Manor Motor Lodge as my last stop on my way home from New Zealand. Travelled NZ with a friend and we picked a one bedroom unit which gave us separate rooms not to disturb each other.
As indicated by other reviewers it is not a hotel for a romantic stay or similar. But it well serves the orginal idea of a motel, for someone on the road who arrives late and wants a bed for the night, and then plans to head off in the morning. It is very conveniently close to Auckland airport.
Bed linnens, towels and such were in excelent condition. Eventhough it is marketted as renovated, not all redecorations has been successful or simply skipped as some wall paint at some more hidden locations hangs off the wall. Further, the ceiling is rather high and one can see several spider webs in those high corners. But once again, it is a motel for the night, and none of the above will likely impact your ability to sleep.
My only real remark is that in at least my unit the plastic floor in the kitchenette (which one must pass to and from the bedroom) had some sticky substances all over it that glued into ones socks. You simply feel like wearing your shoes indoors too.
On a more comic detail noticed was that the plummer who reinstalled the hot and cold tap handles after the renovation of the kitchenette counter of my unit, mixed them up.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LabanTheGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awal9898, Owner at Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hello Laban
Thank you for your review unfortunatly the room you stayed in is not one of the renovated rooms as all the high ceilings are being closed in for just the reason you mentioned and all the floors are being tiled with new toilet suites and tiled showers installed.
We are on to the last 7 rooms so i hope when you next vist New Zealand you will be once agian able to stay with us
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

handy located motel, few minutes to airport or few minutes drive for the last moment shopping in Manukau City Centre. Nice clean Motel perfect for the one night stay. Good meals as well...
we will use thios spot again if we were to visit Auckland and north part of North Island.

Room Tip: Well, this time no problem with parking space. They have shuttle service to and from airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tad1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awal9898, Owner at Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hi Many thanks for your review we look forward to seeing you again .
Still a few more improvements to do but we are hoping to have the entire complex updated by the end of March
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

If you want a cheap decent room then this is the place. There is nothing here to make you want to linger and the room is dated with very noisy bathroom fans etc but it is fit for purpose. For an early flight it is fine.

Room Tip: If you are driving then its first come first served for spaces outside of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trixie_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awal9898, Owner at Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hi thank you for your review you must have stayed in one of the last rooms still to be gutted with so far over $300,000 spent we are on to the last few rooms and all the fans are being replaced if a problem i hope you can stay will us again in the future to see the improvements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night as it was close to Villa Maria Winery where we were attending a concert. It was also a great price - only $79 for a studio!! The room was basic but all that we needed and nice and clean. There was a fan on the ceiling which we liked as it was very humid. What made our trip was the friendly helpful staff! When we booked in we asked about how we could get to the concert and they said that for a small fee they could take us in their shuttle. We made a time to do this but later extended that time and again the staff were great about it. They dropped us off at the concert when we were ready to go and then collected us at the end of the night when we phoned them that we were ready. It was an excellent service and made our trip as we didn't have to wait for taxis etc. Several other guests also used this service and the staff didn't mind doing several trips as we all wanted to go and return at different times. The staff went out of their way to make our trip enjoyable and it seemed that any request would be catered to. It made it such a pleasure! The cooked breakfast the next day was yummy! We would highly recommend this Motor Lodge and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grapevine22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awal9898, Owner at Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hello grapvine
Thank you for your kind comments it is our aim to provide the best possible service we can and go the extrra mile when ever possible .
We look forward to you staying with us again in the future
Many thanks
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
1.1 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.2 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
1.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
1.3 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge

Property: Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge
Address: Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge 610 Massey Road, Mangere 2022, New Zealand (Formerly Oakwood Manor Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakwood Manor is located just 4km from Auckland Airport, located on tranquil park-like grounds. The hotel has a selection of studio, business, one and three bedroom apartments and two bedroom Town Houses . The facilities include onsite restaurant open for breakfast and dinner, swimming pool, wireless internet and guest laundry - free shuttle to / from Auckland Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Manor Motor Hotel Mangere
Quality Inn Mangere
Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing