We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best meals in New Zealand”
Review of Szimpla Gastro Bar

Szimpla Gastro Bar
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Mangere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Szimpla Gastro Bar is a new concept bar & restaurant located under the ibis budget Hotel at Auckland Airport, not far from Mangere Bridge, Manukau. A home away from home for visitors to New Zealand staying in neighbouring hotels and an exciting new social venue for members of the local business community and nearby suburbs. With its rustic Kiwi charm, top-notch hospitality, delicious grub and range of brews.
Winter Park, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“One of our best meals in New Zealand”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

How lucky to find this restaurant right under the same roof as our economy hotel. After flying forever from the States we relaxed and were amazed at the tasty meal we ordered. Curry of the day and Chicken Breast Lemon. We liked the atmosphere, inside and out places to sit and enjoy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloripaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    166
    40
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taranaki, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great place for a meal.”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Have had a couple of meals there now with frioends. No one has been disappointed with their meals. Excellent friendly service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chrisandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Szimpla delicious!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were staying at Ibis hotel next door and after a long flight were looking for somewhere to get food and relax.How pleased were we to stroll twenty paces from hotel to Szimpla. We had the most delicious burgers and chips and a cold beer,The gastro bar is comfortable, inviting and very reasonably priced. So much so that on our return journey we called back to eat before flying home.The staff were friendly and helpful.Would definitely recommend it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenny1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Perfect last meal in NZ!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went to Szimpla for a casual last meal in NZ after camping for a month. It was just what we were looking for. Reasonably priced, great service, great atmosphere and decore, and most importantly a great selection of yummy food for all tastes. I would definitely go back... I was also surprised to find such a trendy place out near the airport.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mungbean4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Yummy food, & awesome staff”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The food was divine every bite was as good as the last!!! Great service by the staff!!! Try the pork belly you will not be disappointed!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diwaterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szimpla Gastro Bar also viewed

Manukau, Auckland Region
Mangere, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Mangere, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Mangere, Auckland Region
 

Been to Szimpla Gastro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing