We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and close to the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis budget Auckland Airport
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We booked this hotel close to the airport.
Was a good price and staff were helpfull but the rooms are really not very comfortable and you really wouldn't want to be staying for any longer than 1 night 2 max.
Parking available.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for, so don't complain. It does a job.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,589 - 1,595 of 2,872 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

It markets itself exactly what it is - a budget hotel so can't really complain. The room was very big (bigger than other Ibis hotels I have stayed in). Presumably this was luck of the draw given other review comments that the rooms are small. Comfy bed, hot shower - for the price and location can't really go wrong. No real noise from airplanes either.

On the plus side there is free parking at the hotel, which is useful if you are then going to park at the terminal when checking out like we did.

On the downside there are no tea/coffee making facilities - given most people staying here will be transit passengers this would have been a welcome touch.

Airport shuttle is charged (think it was $6 pp), not free like other review comments suggest.

For the price, would stay here again if it was a quick overnight stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HungryTraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden H, Manager at Ibis budget Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear HungryTraveller86

Thank you for choosing to stay with ibis budget & for taking the time to give feedback.

It's good to read you found most aspects of the hotel to be good value for money, we certainly market the hotel to be affordable, clean & comfortable.

The yellow bus is charged, per person it is $6 from the airport and $5 per person from the hotel, it is a communal service throughout 4 other hotels and both airports.

I hope the rest of your travels went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

It was ok for a night no tea and coffee making in rooms or fridge very small but fine becouse it was close to airport and we left the next day .there was a supermarket close by and plenty of takeaway place, wifi was not free but parking was. The staff was helpful and polite and is more like a back packers but with a bathroom . Bus did run every 45 min to airport which cost $5.00 per person .

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Kathleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Room was very clean and tidy.....Small rooms but no problem since we stayed only over night...
Would recommend to everyone....Good value for the money, very convenient
Would have been nice for free shuttle, but did not braked the bank
Would stay again and highly recommend to everyone

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ursibaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank NHK19
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hayden H, Manager at Ibis budget Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed here as our flight from the Cook Islands got in too late to get a connecting flight to Christchurch.

We were both really impressed with the price, location (courtesy bus from just outside the terminal building), cleanliness and how quiet it was considering it was right near the airport.

Their is a Macdonald's in walking distance for a quick bite to eat. The courtesy bus runs 24 hours so can ship you to early morning flights. Also breakfast is included and worthwhile.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afw1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Only 7 to 10 mins from the airport, which makes it ideal for early morning arrivals and departures.
The room provided a clean place to sleep and shower. We stayed in a family room which is really cramped for 4 people. Complimentary parking available.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
1.4 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
0.8 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis budget Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis budget Auckland Airport

Address: 2 Leonard Isitt Drive | Auckland Airport, Mangere, Auckland 2150, New Zealand (Formerly Formule1)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mangere
#2 Green Hotel in Mangere
Price Range: $80 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis budget Auckland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best value accommodation at Auckland Airport. Ibis Budget is the ideal choice for transit guests, located within walking distance to both the Domestic and International Terminals. Complimentary on-site parking for the night of your stay. 198 contemporary rooms, vending machines, breakfast and internet access available. Adjacent to the hotel is a range of shops and outlets including cafes, supermarket and casual dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis budget Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing