We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely horrible dirty hotel. Worst ever. My family suffered”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely horrible dirty hotel. Worst ever. My family suffered”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely horrible dirty place, advised the manager who was totally disinterested. Please do not book here, worst place my family have ever stayed. Got tummy bugs and children got bad chests from the damp

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillster111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Jillster111

Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. I would love for you to contact me directly at shalend@vrgroup.co.nz as there are number of issues you have raised in your review that are a real concern to me. I need to know your booking details so that I can trace your room details. I am not one to take such things easily and need to address them after receiving more information.

I look forward to hopefully hearing from you in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    107
    109
    78
    77
See reviews for
103
150
58
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novosibirsk, Russia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Well the hotel worth it's value 120%.
+
Location near the airport
Supermarket/pharmacy/2 restaurants in 5 minutes walk access. So you can easily prepare for the next part of your trip.
Parking is free and there were plenty of places at least when we stayed.
Rooms are clean.
Stuff is polite and ready for help
Provided adapter for European plug-in
-
No conditioner provided which together with hot summer makes sleeping a bit uncomfortable ( frankly speaking they provided fan, but I don't like sleeping under "Katrina" type of wind)
No free wi-fi

I would recommend this hotel if you need 1 night stay before going deeper to the NZ

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndreyT1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Andrey,
I would like to thank you for taking out time to comment on your recent stay with us.

We are so glad to hear that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great rooms, Great price, Great location – there are no properties in Auckland Airport that can match what we offer with complimentary breakfast and free parking.

Take care and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With Thanks
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a one night visit when we first moved to New Zealand in July. A great stay that time--easy transport to the hotel even at the late (after midnight) hour, clean and spaious and updated room. The owner also transported us to my Medical Council interview in the suburbs so we didn't need to rely on a cab. For the price (about $80) it was perfect.

Fast forward six months. We had a flight into Auckland that arrived at 11pm and one out the next morning at 7am. Another stay seemed appropriate. This one was not so good. The room was dingy with stained bedding, was awfully hot despite the fan, and on the road so lots of traffic noise. The sink was new, but the rest of the bathroom old with cracks in the walls. Perhaps the hotel is getting slowly updated and we got lucky the first stay? Either way, we'll find another spot next time we overnight at Auckland airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisaAAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you on commentting on your recent stay with us.

Unfortunately on your stay day we had to put 2 rooms out of order as there was some leakage therefore we had set up a partial renovated room to accommodate you.

We are on final stage of renovation which will be completed in a week.

Secondly, the owners do not stay in the property nor do taxi business.

Thanks
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mangere hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Located close to Auckland airport with clean and functional rooms. However, be prepared to haul your suitcase up stairs if you are on the second level, and the rooms were quite warm (a fan was provided). The biggest issue we had was the noise from the road and constant coming and going of the shuttle bus throughout the night.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rosalyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel is good if you are staying briefly.
It is clean and only located 5 mins drive from the international airport.
We found the hotel very noisy as we were on the ground floor close to the restaurant.
The room was very warm and there was a fan on offer. Being on the ground floor we did not feel comfortable sleeping with the windows and door out to the courtyard open.
The beds were very firm, towels small, and pillows flat. All bearable for a nights stay.
Breakfast included was very basic. We were able to choose from toast, cornflakes, weetbix, jam, marmalade, butter, milk, tea, coffee, juice. Would have been nice to have had cold water on offer.
Check out was quick and easy. Check in took a while and they had to search for our booking, as we booked through expedia.
Carpark was off road with plenty of parks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OE11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here for one night before our flight back to Australia. The hotel lobby looks a bit like a Neighbours set - a bit glum - but the staff are very helpful and the rooms are clean & comfortable.
We managed to book a second room for our two neices who had arrived near the end of our trip at a very reasonabel price.
Excellent stop over and a relaible shuttle to Auckland Airport. Recommended.
Next door is the Kiwi Motel that may be of more interest to backpackers and both share what looked like quite extensive grounds that we did not have time to explore.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterthepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

When we walked in the room, I commented- "Wow, this is nicer than we need." If you have a room on the second floor, be prepared to bring your bags up the steps! Parking appeared a little limited (maybe because they let people keep cars there 14 days) Wake up call and shuttle were both on time. Bed wasn't the most comfortable, but hotel was quiet and worked for what we needed- a few hours of sleep before a 6am flight. (Coffee/tea kettle and mini-fridge were a plus.) The room was clean, and the three staff members we encountered were all pleasant.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Redwhine21224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.7 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
2.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.5 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel

Property: Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Address: 150 Mckenzie Road, Mangere 2022, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel is a 52 room 3 star hotel that is located within a 5 minute drive to Auckland Domestic and International Airport. The hotel specialises in looking after guests by offering clean, great value accommodation with little value added free extras such as:* Free Parking for 10 days* Free Shuttle pick ups ONLY from the airport* Airport drop offs $2.00 per person. Free Light Continental breakfast per person on particular room types per night of stay. We are your perfect choice for a night before a flight out, or just the start of your journey within New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing