We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Below Average” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well Below Average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel was rated as a three star - I would give it 2 at the most. Firstly, the woman on the front desk was so unwelcoming and could do with some training in customer service and manners. Secondly, the cleanliness / upkeep was very poor. We had cockroaches in our room at night time. I feel terrible that I made my Mum stay here with me! The one positive I can give it was the free shuttle to and from the airport but this is a pretty standard service nowadays. What worries me most is that tourists stay here and leave with the impression that this is a standard representative of NZ.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teina_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hi Guest
Thank you very much for your time in commenting on your recent stay with us.

My apologies for your bad experience on your stay with us. We had terminated the contract aforesaid front desk staff as her performance was not to our standard.

All our rooms are well cleaned and audited before check –in however before your arrival there was I group staying with us from Europe and did a lot of mess wherein my housekeeper overlooked housekeeping audit of some rooms.

However apart from this I hope your mum enjoyed our other services.

Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    105
    105
    78
    74
See reviews for
101
146
58
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Was a great place too stay. People freindly,bed comfortable and shuttle got us to the airport in good time. Friends dropped us there and we all enjoyed a meal before they left and we spent a really nice night in a clean,fresh and modern room. The real way to start a holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I booked my room on Nov 22. for the purpose of using it before my Midnight flight.

I arrived at 7.a.m after 8 hours bus trip from the south. Upon arrival, the woman at the front desk told me I can not check in until 2pm. Then I asked if I can eat my breakfast now instead of tomorrow morning (as part of what I paid) because I will be checking out at 10.pm. She rudely tell me that I can not eat until the next morning. I even explain that I am checking out at night time and I won't be there in the morning. she then said its the rule.Then I asked if I can just use their phone so that I can call my friends to pick me up as I am really tired. Again, she said she they don't have public phone. She gave me a direction ( about 10 minute walk away) on where to find public phone. Finally, I asked if they have wifi and she said yes and its $5.00 so I gladly took it skype my friends to pick me up. I did not return to the hotel although I paid for everything. I was very upset and very disappointed with her poor and rude attitude.
I am also working in the hotel Industry in North America and there is no way we treat our customer like this. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mila i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalend P, Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thanks for taking out your precious time on commenting on your recent booking with us.

I had investigated your complain wherein on that morning we had a group staying so no room was checked out in order to accommodate you. The restaurant is operated by separate owners so can’t entertain barter system.

I had disciplined my front desk staff on this and asked them to be helpful to all guest in any way.

However I apologies for this and look forward to accommodate you back in our hotel
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mangere hotels

kerikeri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stay here the night to pick up my daughter on a 5am flight as we live in Kerikeri, Northland. Great friendly staff & service was great. the on site restaurant is really nice & very affordable prices.I think there would be something for everyone on the menu. Rooms are comfortable but not ultra modern. In saying that they are very clean & well appointed. We will stay here again if we travel overseas as the will store your car for 2 weeks & do the shuttle to the airport. Great job & keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Excellent location, free shuttle, free parking for up to 14 days and Cheap room rate!! We used our entertainment card and the already cheap rate meant it cost us only $70 for the night. There are only a few places cheaper than this and they are in no way as nice! For what we needed it was excellent. Clean rooms, not too old. Staff helpful with our bags. Easy Peasy. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on opposite side to carpark are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandiimandii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Upon our late night arrival the staff couldnt be bothered to greet us. Female staff have attitude like they miss world and some staff have smiling issues and dont know how to welcome or greet their guest. i have booked with this hotel many times and have had the same issue always.The cleaners and room services staff were much friendlier and helpful then the front desk people.


The management needs to look into educating their staffs in customer service. Wearing the uniform and looking smart wont make you a provisional if you dont have the right attitude.

I have one last booking in December and i do hope to see some changes

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Shesal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just spent two nights here, no problem at all. Receptionist very friendly. Paid $83 per night for double room and this included continental breakfast. Room basic, but large and very clean. I have paid same price for a hotel in Auckland CBD and that room was the size of a cupboard, so no complaints here. Breakfast is very simple, cereal, toast, juice, tea and coffee, and you can upgrade to eggs, hashbrown and bacon for extra $5 which is perfect, cant complain, nice and simple.

Tip - Head downstairs for breakfast before 0800 to avoid the crowd.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank resa0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge
2.7 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
1.5 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel

Property: Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Address: 150 Mckenzie Road, Mangere 2022, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel is a 52 room 3 star hotel that is located within a 5 minute drive to Auckland Domestic and International Airport. The hotel specialises in looking after guests by offering clean, great value accommodation with little value added free extras such as:* Free Parking for 10 days* Free Shuttle pick ups ONLY from the airport* Airport drop offs $2.00 per person. Free Light Continental breakfast per person on particular room types per night of stay. We are your perfect choice for a night before a flight out, or just the start of your journey within New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing