We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and tidy, value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We recently stayed here after arriving into Auckland at 12.30 am. We choose this place as it was the cheapest in the airport area and as we were only staying for a few hours we didn't really want to pay alot. It was clean and tidy, nicely furnished with queen bed and single bed. My only real gripe was the bloke on reception said our room was 'back there' with no other information, so after parking the car we wandered around outside looking for our room. What he meant was our room was pass the reception area perhaps call us dumb but he could have explained himself better. Will stay here again as we would only want a place for a few hours to get some sleep so we won't be arriving at our final destination at 4 am.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzieq100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 445 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed here in late April 2012 on a stop-over between Melbourne and Honolulu. Our family of 2 adults and 3 kids found this a great hotel, with very affordable rates.

For only $115 a night, we had two rooms with an adjoining door, and the room price included a (basic) continental breakfast, which was great before our trip back to the airport.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable.

Dinner in the hotel restaurant cost only $66 for all five of us, which was great value, and the food was very nice. The service was a little slow, but for that price, we were more than happy. The restaurant also include a pool table, and a couch and TV that was a nice touch if you didn't want to spend the whole time in your room.

The hotel offers a free pick-up and drop-off from Auckland Airport, which also saved us money.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to any needing a hotel near the Auckland Airport.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be similar, so I think that any room would be good.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJW1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Arrived Akl airport at Midnight, was picked up by shuttle within 10 minutes and warmly welcomed at the hotel reception.The hotel and rooms have been refurbed and to a fairly good standard, the room was very clean,warm and comfortable. There was a compact functional kitchenette,and a good bathroom, older style tv in the bedroom,one double and a single bed.
The included breakfast was served in the clean and comfortable restaurant, staff were polite and helpful, a prompt shuttle ride back to the airport, and all of this was included at the total cost of NZ$55.
Who could expect any better than that.
Under similar circumstances I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Requst a room in the same wing as reception, then you wont have to trek outside in the weather to yo...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We paid AUD$43 for our room. (209). Room contained Queen and Single bed. Nicely furnished. One of the best showers I have had in a motel room. No road noise or traffic noise from our room. Free transfers to the airport were included. Friendly staff. We ate at the resturant, mostly Indian on the menu but also a few of the basics. We had Hotdog and chips $7.50 and Burger and Chips, about $10. Continental breakfasts $8. Cooked $12. As frequent travellers to New Zealand and using Auckland airport hotels often...this will be our choice from now on. hghly reccommended for the money

Room Tip: Room 209. Wonderful shower. No road or traffic noise.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

When booking the Kiwi Hotel I was looking at convenience to airport, availability of shuttle and price as our flights to Cairns meant we had to stay over night in Auckland at each end of the trip.
I convinced myself when booking that I just needed a bed and the free shuttle service made it extremely cheap. If we'd used the airport shuttle from the Holiday Inn/Grand Chancellor a 5 minute walk away, it would have been nz$10 person each way, so if you considered that it was a $10 bed.
What more can I say, the service was great, the shuttle reliable and did pick ups from as well as deliveries to the airport. Our rooms had been recently refurbished and were clean and comfortable. The rooms we had both nights were reasonably sized and had had a double and single bed. My review of Kiwi Hotel really is as an over nighter conveniently located to the airport.
We didn't eat in the restaurant/bar, choosing to take a 5 minute walk down the road for dinner for a more extensive menu and later opening hours. Their wasn't much atmosphere in the bar/restaurant, but considering everything else and the easy stroll to other places this certainly wasn't an issue
One night we had a room facing the car park which was well lit up. Good for security, but our room was very lit all night, making it quite hard to settle.
If you need a bed for the night, particularly if you're having to stay overnight in Auckland to get an early morning flight or have a late arrival into Auckland, I think this would have to be the best value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiKerry53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Free transfer was a good inclusive, I waited about 10/15min. Driver was friendly. Got to the Hotel, the receptionist seemed busy, but did the job. There was no lift, but they helped bring my bag upstairs.
I requested to use the internet, the guy on reception said they had none. Then I found 3 computers around the corner and he changed his story, but, as they were not owned by the hotel and are out-sourced I needed a pin number on a voucher to use it - they had run out of vouchers that evening, so no internet... (there was wi-fi in the room, chargeable, and I found not worth it).

Room was good.

Bus stop 2min walk from hotel, going to Manukau city, and, on the opposite side of the road 5/10 min walk to bus stop going to Auckland city about $5.50 one way.

There's an airport village 10/15min walk just up the road which has cafe's, a chemist, and a Indian restaurant.

The lite buffet breakfast included in the price, had very little choices, two types of cereals and toast (one of the toasters kept jamming). Add $5 to include eggs.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blossom7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

If you need to stay overnight near the Auckland airport for an early morning departure this is the place.
Low cost, we paid NZD59 for a very nice double room
Car parking, you can leave your car at the hotel for up to 14 days , free
Free shuttle to the airport , just a short drive away.
Perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oneroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
2.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
0.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.7 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
1.5 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel

Address: 150 Mckenzie Road, Mangere, Auckland 2022, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Price Range: $74 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel is a 52 room 3 star hotel that is located within a 5 minute drive to Auckland Domestic and International Airport. The hotel specialises in looking after guests by offering clean, great value accommodation with little value added free extras such as:* Free Parking for 10 days* Free Shuttle pick ups ONLY from the airport* Airport drop offs $2.00 per person. Free Light Continental breakfast per person on particular room types per night of stay. We are your perfect choice for a night before a flight out, or just the start of your journey within New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing