We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Enroute back to Brisbane from Bora Bora, we had booked a really bad hotel so felt didn't need to plunge back to reality quite so suddenly, the airport info desk advised us of this hotel, recently opened and close to the airport. We got the free bus and it was a pleasant surprise, very modern and decorated with some great artworks done by one of the owners. We had a lovely well equipped, quite room, all you need for a good nights sleep. We ate in the restaurant and it was a beautiful meal with very friendly helpful staff. All round, a very pleasant way to end our wonderful week in Bora Bora and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone transiting through Auckland.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yanya14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,056 - 1,062 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

One night family stopover before flying out in August 2012. Chose Sudima based mainly on tripadvisor reviews, location and price. Selected a 'superior' room with 2 double beds (self, wife and our little boy). Functional and clean but absolutely bare-bones! It really was a case of a 'bed in a beige box'! The room was sufficient to hold the two beds and suitcases but nothing else - I had some work to do and had to take my laptop down to the bar area to find a space to work. There was not even a bar fridge in the room. The internet situation was also a bit annoying - yes, it was "$10 for unlimited access" - per device! So, if you're like me (and a lot of people) and travel with a number of devices (laptop, phone, tablet), then the internet at Sudima is no longer cheap. It cost me $30 for, essentially, a couple of hours use. The airport shuttle (shared between a number of hotels) was very convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RussellJW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Friendly staff. Close to airport, but far enough away from the flight path. Backs onto the main road but double glazed windows meant we didnt hear any road noise. Fantastic dinner. City prices but also superb quality. Breakfast great value. We left our car there while overseas and had no problems at either end. And the shuttle bus was easy and quick. Bus driver very friendy and helpful. I would stay here again rather than at the other cheaper dirty hotels down the road. Recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonoFi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaAuckland, General Manager at Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We picked this hotel because we were told that the restuarant was better quality than the other big hotel very near the Auckland International terminal. The price was reasonable and the pick up drop off bus servcie was useful. The staff and service were up tp scratch.

make sure you dont get a 'double room' if you want to share the bed with your partner as the doubles are small, you'll want a queen or king bed room.

Resturant food was good (dinner).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaAuckland, General Manager at Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for your response. Its nice to know we are up to scratch! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at the Sudima Auckland airport for one night before a 6am international flight. We chose the Sudima because of its price for three adults in the one room.

The hotel is new, relatively clean and certainly fit for purpose. The rooms are small however as an airport hotel so you are in and out quickly. This is more of an observation rather than a criticism.

The less pleasant aspects is that the hotel is a fair distance from the airport. It is located in the airport industrial zone rather than near the shops and terminal. The hotel food is priced as such and we did not eat at the hotel. We were fortunate that we had a hire car and could get out however the location would have been problematic if not. It would have also meant getting up earlier still for the shuttle to the terminal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotsyd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Couple, man&wife, stranded at AKL Airport incoming from a huge TransPacific flight as volcanic ash prevented our domestic flight from leaving. By recommendation (commission was good?) by "I-Site" at AKL domestic we paid upfront by voucher for Sudima Hotel to await our next 'move'. We were told that 'food court' or grocery store options were easy walking: they 're NOT, and that Sudima is a nice new 4 1/2 star property: it's NOT: to wit; Stained carpet in the room, toilet roll ( 1ply) + holder placed incorrectly in tiny bath; the roll falls off, no nightlight in room or bath, fuzzy TV screen with volume set low (cannot be adjusted), nzd24 for daily internet access, nzd58 for breakfast 'buffet' or nzd50 for 'Continental'. Tired as we were, we did not pay those outrageous prices as 'captives'.
The whole 'wind & water' (FengShui) seems wrong. Entrance is down a myriad of side streets although the hotel 'fronts' (on an angle) onto the highway. Sounds of juggernauts through the night rumbling past.
Courtesy Bus from A/P to hotel is excellent & drivers are the 'best' we've ever encountered in our travels: helpful, cheerful and really kind.
In our 'situation', we felt trapped. & didn't appreciate hotel's mercenary attitude. Dinner for 2 approx. nzd90+, without wine? No thank you, and our travel insurance (delay) would not pay that in any event.

It's not a horrible property as such, but lacking in so many 'basics' to render it poor value when all traveller necessities are factored in for $ spent: No drinking H2O, as mentioned in earlier review: no fridge, micro in 'bare bones' room.

Linens were crisp & clean. Two towels only for the room. Shower was good. We were sold a king superior room and given x2 double beds? comfortable as far as that went, but ?

Clearly a 'one off' business model, given a choice, we would not return.

Room Tip: if one could NOT face the highway, maybe it would be quieter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaAuckland, General Manager at Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for your review. We regret your flight was disrupted and are pleased to have been able to host whilst your new travel plans were arranged. The information you received from a third party prior to your arrival appears to have been incorrect and unfortunately this has led to some confusion as to our location. Great though that our free courtsey bus got you here so successfully. Our internet price of $10 per day unlimited data, has been well recieved by many guests since its introduction last summer. We have taken on board all your comments and will endeavour to improve our value moving forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed at this hotel 29 July 2012 and it was fantastic. Free shuttle bus from the airport. Check in was quick and easy. Staff were great.

Our room was a good size - very clean, two double beds which were very comfortable, plenty of room for our suitcases. the only thing missing was a fridge in the room. We were on level 3 and heard very little noise.

We had dinner in the restaurant & the food was fantastic, our complements to the chefs.

I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwimeggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.5 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.3 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
1.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
1.4 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel

Address: 18 Airpark Drive | Airport Oaks, Mangere, Auckland 2022, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mangere
#3 Family Hotel in Mangere
#3 Business Hotel in Mangere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
Price Range: $141 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel is backed by a 4.5 Qualmark rating and maintains the highest environmental standards. Opened in 2011, Sudima Auckland Airport hotel is less than 2 km from both the domestic and international terminals and offers 153 well appointed rooms. Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel is the first hotel in New Zealand to be awarded the CarbonZero certificate. All rooms are elegantly designed to enhance your experience. You'll enjoy delicious cuisine prepared by our award winning chefs in our restaurant and bar, work out in our gym, built to performance standards, and relax in style in our indoor heated pool. Your hotel experience alone will be well worth the trip. Well-appointed rooms featuring • High speed WiFi throughout the Hotel (charges apply) • Flat screen TV with cable and pay TV • Double glazed window • Total blackout curtains • Tea and coffee making facilities • Shower over bath • Individual Climate Control • Iron and ironing board • 24 hours front desk service • Radio alarm clock • Safe deposit box • Minibar in rooms (based on request only) • Two Double beds (King Bed on request only) • Complimentary parking during stay • FREE access to hotel indoor heated swimming pool and gym. • Airport transfer 24/7 (charges apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing