We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Auckland Airport
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but.....”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I stayed here for just over a week on business. The hotel is very new and the rooms are very comfortable with modern of decor. If you are happy looking at aircraft at the airport, the view is fantastic. The selection on the TV was good and the Internet was fast.

Unfortunately, the place is definitely overpriced. Breakfast is NZ$32 for a pretty stock standard hot breakfast. Internet is NZ$29.95 for 24 hours which is pretty ridiculous and laundry for a standard business shirt is NZ$11.50!!

Lastly, while the staff were friendly, they often were unable to help or having to fix up their booking mistakes. Despite being told by my company of an extension to a stay, one of my colleagues kept being asked when he was going to check out. When I checked in, they said I was only booked for 2 nights despite me having booked for 8. Having said that, they fixed it very quickly once I showed proof of my booking. I also had random room service charges on my bill that weren't mine. Again it was fixed quickly though.

The place is very convenient for a short stay on the way to somewhere but I wouldn't recommend it for a stay of more than one night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leerja74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear leerja,
Many thanks for your review,
It appears that some teething issues are needed to be looked into, I would welcome the opportunity to receive additional details in order for me to investigate further and prevent future re-occurrence, you can contact me on h7485-fo01@accor.com
Look forward to hearing from you,
Warm Regards,
Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,409
    1,451
    253
    72
    42
See reviews for
939
1,747
501
739
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

My husband and 13-year-old son stayed here before I flew to Melbourne very early in the morning for business. I loved that I could just walk to the departure gate. It was literally 25 metres from the hotel. And there was no aeroplane noise while sleeping ... none at all. Amazing, but true. I thoroughly recommend staying there for an early flight. Only problem was when we arrived, all three of us, we were given a key, went up to the room only to find it only had one king-size bed. Seemed a bit silly. Anyway, it was all sorted in the end. Robes in the bedroom might have been a nice touch. So would real milk. Also when you're getting up for an early flight and there's others trying to sleep on, the light in the bathroom wakes everyone because there's a glass wall between bathroom and bedroom. Modern touch and it didn't really bother the sleepers. They just went back to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear genbat,
Many thanks for your thorough review,
I am glad to read the room configuration was changed for you. On your next trip, you may want to select one of our Executive room; locate don our Premium floors they also offer Robes, Slipppers, Complimentary Internet & Water as well as an Espresso Coffee Machine.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Auckland Airport.
Warm Regards,
Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Great for an overnight stay before leaving or returning to Auckland. Very modern decor, well appointed rooms. Dining was nice experience made better by the great service from our waiter, food was overpriced though.

Room Tip: Watch for specials, book early for deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam255112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear Pam255112,
Many thanks for your review & tip!
Delighted to read you have enjoyed your dinner & the service.
We look forward to welcoming you back,
Warm regards,
Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

A good hotel, Still very new having only been open a few months. Location excellent, opposite the international terminal. Hotel clean and comfortable rooms a good size and well equipped and are well sound proofed so no aircraft noise. But beware $22 to park a car for an overnight stay, Internet access $29.90 for 24 hours with only 300 meg down load, I found that excessive as many hotels offer complimentary internet access in these days of the smart phone. There are two computers in reception that are free if you can get on them. A good hotel of Novotel 4 star standard.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwifarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear kiwifarmer,
Many thanks for your review,
The carpark price of $22 mentioned is a reduced rate of $35 which is a $13 discount on the airport's usual price. Due to our location, the prices are set by the airport.
With regards to Internet prices, as mentioned, we offer comlpimentary use of our iMacs located in the lobby along with a 30mins/8MB complimentary wireless internet in the hotel lobby.
We look forward to welocming you back at Novotel Auckland Airport.
Warm regards,
Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

In the stress of reoganising our trip to Cairns due to the Chile ash cloud in June this year our travel agent recommended we try the new airport hotel. Well...I know now where I will be staying when I have an early international flight out of Auckland! Not that the usual hotel I go to is bad but the fact that you can just cross the road from the terminal or walk 15 minutes from the domestic one makes life so much easier, specially with young children. The room itself was great, very tidy and clean, the staff very helpful considering it was the hotel's 2nd week of running and they seemed very busy. The kids loved the view and the lights at night. One small thing was the bath being so high, just thinling of older people....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagesse40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear Sagesse40,
Many thanks for your review.
Delighted to read you have enjoyed your stay with us & that we have made the stressful time a little bit easier on the familly.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip!
Warm Regards,
Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We booked a family room which included 2 queen sized beds and requested a portacot (via telephone and email) for our overnight stay recently in this very stylish hotel. Check in was no problem, even considering i had forgotten to bring my advantage plus membership card for check in and id purposes. We were placed on the 6th floor which enabled great views of the terminal plane parking and partial views of the runway. The room itself was smaller than the usual Novotel size, comparable to an Ibis however still very comfortable. It may have been a little more problematic if the portacot had been set up, however it was obviously forgotten but not an issue as baby was able to share a bed with me. We dined in the restaurant for dinner and were well looked after by the pleasant f&b staff. Two things to note, a complimentary newspaper was requested on the checking in form for room delivery the following morning which never arrived and the only toiletry amenities provided are shampoo/conditioner and soap so bring your own shower cap!

Room Tip: Get some yoga in before your flight on Novotels dedicated yoga channel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwifeWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Hotel is opposite the international terminal, so is great if you have a late arrival to or early departure from Auckland. Friendly staff and very comfortable room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
1.8 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.3 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
2.7 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Auckland Airport

Property: Novotel Auckland Airport
Address: Ray Emery Drive | Auckland International Airport, Mangere 2022, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mangere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
#1 Business Hotel in Mangere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mangere
#1 Green Hotel in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Auckland Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located beside Auckland International Terminal and 30 minutes to the city centre, Novotel Auckland Airport provides the perfect accommodation solution for guests travelling in and out of New Zealand. Combining the beauty of natural landscapes with cutting edge architectural design, this hotel features 263 elegant rooms and suites, theatre-style conference centre, 10 meeting rooms, a restaurant and bar plus a fully equipped gym. Parking available at airport, fee applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Auckland Airport Hotel Mangere
Novotel Auckland Airport Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing