We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Auckland Airport
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 25, 2011

My wife and I spent an overnight stay at the Novotel prior to flying out the next day.

The hotel is virtually brand new and is only a few months old. Everything is modern and new.

The location has to be one of its best things about the Novotel. It's right next to the International Terminal and the Domestic Terminal is only a short walk away. A free shuttle is available between terminals if you don't feel like walking.

Because of it's location and our early morning flight we decided to drop our rental car off early. Parking is available but is $25.00 per night so dropping it off early was a better option. To be honest the hotel and both terminals had everything we needed for an overnight stay so we really didn't miss having a car available to us. There is a supermarket, pharmacy and other various shops near the hotel, which takes about 10 minutes to walk.

Check in was simple, easy and hassle free. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We were on the 9th floor overlooking the runway. Our room exceeded our expectations because we had just spent a week at a conference at the Hamilton Novotel and found their rooms, whilst nice, were a bit tired in appearance and were expecting the same here.

However, the rooms, whilst not big, were spacious enough to make you feel comfortable. The room is modern, new and clean with a large comfy bed. There is a mini bar available and a 32in TV with a good range of channels.

The bathroom is spacious and clean with a nice shower area with two types of shower heads.

With the hotel being next to the runway there is very little noise, which doesn't affect your sleep or relaxation.

There is a complimentary gym on the third floor with a good selection of cardio machines and weights. The gym was well used by other guests whilst we were there. In fact the gym would have to be one of the best equipped Hotel gyms that we've stayed in within NZ.

There is free internet in the foyer.

The restaurant and bar is also situated in the foyer area. We didn't use these facilities.

Check out was again simple, easy and quick. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Overall we were very impressed with everything about the Novotel and it's friendly staff.

Quite frankly the complaints we have read on here appear to be petty and feel they are totally unwarranted. We struggled to find any issues or complaints about the Novotel and could only find good things to say about it.

We would happily stay here again and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jbg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2011

Dear jbg7,
Many thanks for your review,
It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback from a regular member of Tripadvisor!
We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel Auckland Airport,
Warm Regards,
Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,146 - 4,152 of 4,418 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed one night in June. We were given an accessible room, which is an odd choice for a young couple (i'm sure there were other vacant rooms in the hotel), but a knock at our door later and made it evident this allocation may have been an error, but alas we were not asked to change rooms.

The main disappointment was the wake-up call we requested for 5.30am to make our flight never came. Luckily we woke up on our own (somehow?) and rushed/stressed to make our flight. Wake-up calls are a basic service and I've never stayed in a hotel that forgot to call me, I would think that this service would be particularly well tuned given this is an airport hotel!

Our only other little complaint is that they did not have any phone chargers (which most airport hotels do). If they had them we could have set our own alarm on our mobile rather than relying on a wake-up call that never came.

Upon checking out I was not asked how my stay was, which is frustrating as, for the first time, I actually had a complaint. Good customer service at check-out is the best time for the hotel to get feedback and improve their service quality, and for customers to make any complaints. Nowadays I guess you just have to use tripadvisor to vent any complaints!?

Overall, the hotel amenities are adequate, new and clean, but the service seems a bit disorganised and staff could perhaps use some more training. I might stay again if I had an early flight, but I'd definitely set my own alarm.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbsmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2011

Dear melbsmich,

Many thanks for taking the time in posting a review about our hotel,

melbsmich, I would like to sincerely apologise for the shortfall in service that you have experienced during your recent stay with us. Let me assure you tha this is not a true reflection of our usually high standards.

I can apologise enough for the inconvenience caused to your stay. The oversight of some of our basic reception duties is inexcusable. I will gladly look into this further, if you are able to email me further details on your stay (dates, room number etc). I am contactable on h7485-fo01@accor.com

Look forward to hearing from you,

Warm Regards,

Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We had an early flight after a week of business elsewhere in New Zealand and all we needed was a hotel with handy location to the airport and a few comforts. Because of its location we were able to drop off our rental car in the car park located next to the hotel. The hotel had all that we needed. Because it is new everything is modern and clean. The rooms exceeded all expectations with modern facilities, comfy bed, big shower and no noise. The room service was very good and the next morning when we need to depart we simply walked across the road to the airport - no early shuttle bus departures. It seemed we arrived and departed in a blink but it was still a great experience. All at a very reasonable price. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonFinola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2011

Dear JohnSharon,

Many thanks for your review,

It is such a pleasure to receive feedback from regular reviewer.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future,

Warm Regards,

Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

I wouldn't normally pay so much for an airport hotel (NZ$123), however on this occasion it was thoroughly worth it. The hotel is very well designed, very modern with a distinctive 'kiwi' feel. Loved the rooms and the location (you can roll out of bed and into the international terminal) though there did seem to be some teething problems (the hotel opened two weeks ago) and a shortage of staff. Check-in and check-out were both slow and we had a considerable wait for drinks and food. Having said that, the staff were friendly and were obviously busy and the food was very good. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mellowpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2011

Dear Mellowpuff,

Many thanks for your review,

It's excitting to read that you have noticed the "kiwi" feel of our hotel.

Sorry to hear about the delays you have experienced on arrivals and departures. We are currently working on expanding the teams accross all departments in order to maintain our extremely high service level.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future,

Warm Regards,

Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We arrived early evening and left early next morning so not a long stay. Check in and out were a bit lengthy but it was service with a smile and more dur to teething problems than inefficency. Our guests were really well treated and the staff even gave our grandaughter a toy. The hotel is modern and comfortable with a quirky bathroom sliding wall. I was a bit concerned that we might not get much sleep being literally on the International Terminal doorstep, but there was no noise at all and we had a great sleep in a really comfortable bed. In the morning it was fantastic to walk across the drop off area and check in to our flight. We totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn06469782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2011

Dear Lynn06469782,

Many thanks for your review,

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us! We are working on reducing delays at the Front Desk during peak time, this will hapen thanks to further training and additional staffing being recruited.

Upon your next visit, you could walk accross to check-in for your flight and come back to the hotel for Breakfast!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future,

Warm Regards,

Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Having recently stayed here for 2 nights against our will because of the flight cancellations in and out of Auckland, I found it interesting to read some of the reviews on here. We had none of the issue experienced by any of the other customers - our stay was pleasant (as pleasant as it can be when you're trying to get home, anyway) and generally very enjoyable.

The hotel is brand new (only a few weeks old, we were told) and all the staff we dealt with were friendly and would go out of their way to help you. Some were still learning the ropes because the hotel is so new but in our view this didn't impact on our stay at all. The free internet in the foyer is a great touch, and not expected of a more expensive hotel. In fact, one of the staff at the front desk suggested that we use the free internet to go to the Novotel website and "pre-book" the room for $164 a night because his system could only offer it at $219 per night.

While the breakfast buffet was disappointing and a little pricey, the food at the restaurant at night was exceptionally good and the service fantastic. We were very impressed and came away pleasantly surprised. The chef was even good enough to prepare a special (simple) meal of chicken breast and vegies - after 10 days travelling (and 2 longer than planned) we were craving "normal" food and what he dished up was fantastic.

The room was clean and well-appointed, and the facilities very nice. The bed was very comfortable - pillows a fraction small for a king bed, but not a big deal. Disappointingly the selection of TV channels was small, but not the end of the world. The gym facilities were excellent, large and brand new. It was actually still under construction when we stayed but all the equipment was usable (they were still installing some sinks and whatnot in the gym).

The Novotel is the only hotel at the heart of Auckland airport, but there are others in the vicinity. Truth be told, I'd rather stay here. It's literally across the road from the terminal, so no shuttles necessary, and it's a 10 minute walk to Countdown (Safeway/Woolworths) supermarket if you want to buy some fruit/veg at normal prices.

We had a rental car for one day and parked it just out the front of the hotel. It seemed to be free (no signs anywhere saying otherwise) and we left it there for the majority of the day (albeit not overnight), so we weren't aware of any valet parking. I'm not sure whether that's just because they hadn't gotten around to putting them up yet or not, but I imagine we might have gotten away with a freebie there. :)

In any case, if the staff are as friendly and helpful to everyone as they are to us, I couldn't recommend this hotel more highly.

Room Tip: Standard doubles are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarge_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2011

Dear Sarge_80,

Many thanks for your thorough review,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and have noted your remarks on items that need improving.

Sarge_80, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future,

Warm Regards,

Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel before we flew out early morning the next day. The hotel is very conveniently located opposite the hotel departure area. The room was great and it was done nicely. We did not eat at the restaurant and only had a night cap. We ordered a glass of wine and a cocktail. There was a need to improve the taste of the cocktail.
The service was good and check out time was really fast.
Parking was very expensive based on their quote. We ended up booking airport long term parking over the internet and not using the hotel's service.

Based on this points, we still think that the hotel is very conveniently located at the Auckland airport and we will use the service again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmokoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
1.8 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.3 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
2.7 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Auckland Airport

Address: Ray Emery Drive | Auckland International Airport, Mangere, Auckland 2022, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mangere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mangere
#1 Business Hotel in Mangere
#1 Green Hotel in Mangere
Price Range: $176 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Auckland Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located beside Auckland International Terminal and 30 minutes to the city centre, Novotel Auckland Airport provides the perfect accommodation solution for guests travelling in and out of New Zealand. Combining the beauty of natural landscapes with cutting edge architectural design, this hotel features 263 elegant rooms and suites, theatre-style conference centre, 10 meeting rooms, a restaurant and bar plus a fully equipped gym. Parking available at airport, fee applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Auckland Airport Hotel Mangere
Novotel Auckland Airport Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing