We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Kudos
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Our first indication that this was somewhere we would definitely use again was when I rang to inquire about a reservation. We were offered a room at a very reasonable price when every other hotel I had rung close to the airport was charging outrageous prices due to the rugby world cup semi final All Blacks/Australia game. Also it was an apartment so we didn't have to book 2 rooms for our family of 4. Free care of our vehicle while overseas was also offered. After dropping off our vehicle we were then taken to the Airport free of charge. On arriving back the apartment was a welcomed respite when we had jetlag - clean, modern, easy to find, welcoming and friendly. All the little extra details like the beautiful complimentary breakfast, the washing machine and drier (with washing powder), the real coffee, the abundance of fresh bath towels, the large comfy bed, the fab tv to watch the rugby, fresh flowers on the table, the bathroom products, fruit juice in the fridge, tasteful artwork on the walls, and it was quiet and peaceful. Would definitely use again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TaupoFrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 59 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

Note reception hours are from 9 AM to 5 PM but, phone is not answered, nor reception desk open even during reception hours. At door is a cell phone number to call. Nobody was answering the faciliyt phone listed on booking documents when I called from the airport.

Also airport pickup is by prior arrangement during reception hours only. Notice pickup... The room has a list of taxi's to call.

Internet access must be requested when you check in so a custom logon-id and password can be created. Good luck finding someone to give you one after check-in.

This is a one person operation with just a handful of rooms.

The room is spotless.

I stayed twice but was charged 3 times.

All in all, a strange, and frustrating experience.

Room Tip: Probably be OK if you are renting a car from the airport -- not for passing through
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We booked an upstairs apartment but when we arrived (on time) we were given one downstairs. I was not happy with it as the layout did not work for us and it fronts with sliding glass doors directly onto the pavement. We could not have what we had booked as it had been given to someone else despite our confirmed booking and deposit. The owner was neither apologetic nor pleasant about this.

The apartment was clean and a good selection was left for breakfast.

There is no secure parking despite having been told that there was. There is broadband but it is not wireless so I could not use it with my iPad.
The only toilet in the apartment is in the en suite to the double bedroom. Therefore anyone in the other bedroom or bed in the lounge has to trek through that bedroom to use it - which means the light and noisy fan at night.

All of this pales into insignificance compared to the noise. There is apparently no soundproofing at all between the downstairs and upstairs apartments. We had elephants stomping above us and running up and down the concrete stairs, at least that is how it sounds. We could hear them use the toilet, flush, cough and turn over in bed! I am not exaggerating - we could hear them put their cups on the table. They got up before 5am and woke our whole party. This is not likely to be unusual as it is marketed as airport accommodation .

Checking out was difficult - the notice on the office says "open normal business hours".
I'm not sure what that means, we tried at 8am, surely normal business hours for a hotel? - at 9.10am another guest called the owner and he asked could we wait another hour. Well...no.
He was apparently moving house but should surely have made arrangements to look after the guests or at least have told us the day before.

Perhaps it is better in the upstairs apartments but the service was poor and we will not use these again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kirajax327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites Kudos, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

It is hard to read such a damming review. Unfortunately the guest was quite correct with many of their comments at the time they stayed. Since this time considerable changes have been made to solve many of the problems. The upstairs apartments have had an addition of a layer of high quality underlay and an additional heavy duty carpet to considerably reduce the noise. In addition the ground floor bathroom doors have been 'sound-proofed to cut down any noise from above. All apartments now have free WiFi.
Most guests now say that our apartments are quiet, comfortable, clean and spacious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Stayed here when in transit through Auckland Airport. Relatively new so room fresh and modern. Attention to detail and very clean and well maintained. Complimentary continental breakfast varied and more than adequate. Management very helpful. Son who lives in Auckland had picked us up from Airport - mamager had thought he had driven us from regional centre and offered that he could stay overnight free of charge (very considerate and generous).

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeff55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank Ardudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.4 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
0.9 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
1 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
1.8 mi away
Ibis budget Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Kudos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Kudos

Address: Unit 40 203 Kirkbride Road | Kudos Business Centre, Mangere, Auckland 2022, New Zealand (Formerly Kudos Airport Apartments)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mangere
Price Range: $132 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Kudos 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest luxurious apartment style accommodation available, these spacious serviced apartments provide superior facilities in a delightful environment. Close to the airport while still an easy commute into Auckland City, the apartments are suitable for long term stays as well as shorter visits. Guest’s needs and comfort are particularly well catered for in these deluxe apartments well renowned for service, friendliness and professionalism.** Please note: Reception Hours are 9am to 5pm. Please contact us if your arrival time is outside these hours to ensure you are greeted upon arrival and that access to your apartment can be arranged. 24 hours notice required **Kudos provides a number of local attractions for those with time to relax. Adventurous guests will like the range of sporting choices; the Aviation Golf Club is two minutes away as is JK’s 24 hour driving range. Alternatively Treasure Island Mini Golf allows even the novice to have fun while playing. Two local gyms including indoor and outdoor pools provide those seeking exercise with some great choices, while the adrenaline junkies will love the quick access to Rainbows End Adventure Park. Shoppers will be delighted to know that DressSmart with its 150+ designer outlet shops is less than five minutes away, or alternatively it’s a quick hop to Westfield Shopping Centre in Manukau. For more genteel pursuits the world acclaimed Villa Maria vinery is a two minute drive away; tasting’s, platters and tours provide an entertaining way to spend a sunny afternoon. Also close by is Butterfly House which offers a number of farmland experiences as well as a fun train ride. Over 50 local restaurants and cafes offer a diverse range of dining options, or for those who like to prepare it themselves the very well equipped kitchens in Kudos offer it all. Each modern apartment offers both a spacious queen bedroom & a double or single bedroom. Office desk with broadband internet and DDI phone, living room with comfortable sofas, stereo, Sky TV, DVD, VCR, CD and tape players, air conditioning; a dining room with table and chairs; a very well equipped kitchenette, bathroom with excellent shower pressure; laundry with washing machine and dryer, iron and ironing board.The level of comfort, luxury, convenience and service that Kudos provides are key areas that differentiate us from other accommodation alternatives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Kudos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Kudos Auckland/Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing