We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comically Bad”
Review of Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palms Hotel
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I booked this hotel on the internet due to needing somewhere close to the airport before my flight early the next morning. Well as soon as I pulled up in the car park I knew this wasn't going to be good. Call me old fashioned but when I see a building with a shabby exterior I'm inclined to think the inside is probably not much better, well unfortunately I was right. I wasn't really greeted at the reception more sort if grunted at, thrown a key and told to walk down the hallway. As I walked towards my room, I was admiring the mess the place was in, floors not clean, broken furniture, stained walls and this was just the hallway! The room itself was not much better, I could have got over the lack of clean windows or the dirty bed or the TV balanced dangerously on a chair! I couldn't however get over the stench of damp emanating from the place. This is a health hazard, I turned round and marched straight back to the reception, en route I couldn't help but take a glimpse at the pool/spa although I noticed the fire hose was leading to it. I couldn't believe it, they use the fire hose to fill up the pool!!! I'm not from NZ so I'm not familiar with it's laws but I'm sure this is pretty much illegal. Well I threw my key back at them and walked across the road to the best western which was fantastic in comparison. Never have I left a hotel early and I have stayed in some pretty crappy hotels but I was absolutely speechless about this hotel, I have never seen such a s**t hole in all my life seriously someone from NZ needs to shut this place down it seriously is a shambles and a major health risk!! I asked the man at the reception how he had the nerve to call this place a hotel? His grunted, unenthusiastic response said everything, real class!

Room Tip: Another hotel
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jared e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Palms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 160 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2011

This place is a nightmare. Met by a stale cooking smell as you walk through the door. The tv doesn't work. The place stinks everywhere. If you are looking for a swim - the pool is a icky green colour. The shuttle service guy was rude- wanted to know what we were waiting for - "ah - checking in mate , you just picked us up from the airport!". As my husband says the "normal rate of $475.00" obviously includes other goods and services. Advertised as $40.00/day out on the road.

Room Tip: Don't go here!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KalsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I wish I had read the reviews on trip advisor BEFORE staying at this motel. Firstly the service was rude and unwelcoming, they gave me the key with no direction what-so-ever of where to go or where I could park my car etc. There was no sky tv, the internet cut out after 10 minutes and the pool and spa area (which looked okay on the website) was far from the picture! Deck outside rooms was uneven and dangerous, beds uncomfortable. The only good thing about this place is its location (close to the airport etc). Can't believe this place is still up and running! Embarasment to people travelling to NZ.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Can't rate this place - the scale doesn't sink low enough!!

Room Tip: there isn't any! Health Inspector notified at Auckland City Council.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

DO NOT EVER STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If I was homeless, penniless, sick, injured or in moral danger I would still NOT return to this dive. The end.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank B0nb0n83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We were only after a room for 1 night, the receptionist who was the same guy that picked us up from the airport couldn't even find us on the system, even after showing him the confirmation that I had printed off prior to arriving. We got given the key to our room, no direction of where to go until I asked. We got to our room & door was wide open & then another guy told us to wait as he still has to vaccum our room, so we stood there for a good 10mins! In the morning we rung for more towels & toilet paper - they said we already had 2 towels & we said correct but could we get another 2. He replied and said he'll see what he can do because the laundry's not open till later? Checkout time is 10am, we got a phone call at 10.20 - no "hello" from the caller, it was just "are you checking out today?" & I said "yes" and then caller said "well it's now after 10am" and I said "I'm aware of that, we'll be out in 5mins" and then caller just disconnected call!!!! The service was just appauling - I will NEVER recommend this place to anyone, not only was it filfy, the service was just as BAD!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leauga t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We came over to the world cup all excited until we arrived at this place. I could not believe how terrible this place was. The staff were rude and the rooms were appalling!!!! The first room we went into the door lock was broken and both window locks were broken so anyone could just come into the room. We complained and the staff were so rude about it. The second room we went to we couldnt even open the room door as the key didnt work. The staff had to open it with the master key. Once inside went to check the windows and the locks were broken as well. How can a place like this still be able to do business as we felt unsafe to the point that we locked all our luggage in the car outside. The showers were dirty, the toilets were dirty, hand rails had been ripped off the walls and just left sitting on a chair like a rubbish tip. Avoid this place at all costs as its unsafe and unhealthy for anyone staying

Room Tip: Don't even consider staying here
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tim o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.1 mi away
Naumi Auckland Airport
Naumi Auckland Airport
#8 of 23 in Mangere
2 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
1.1 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms Hotel

Address: 190 Kirkbride Road | Auckland International Airport, Mangere, Auckland 2022, New Zealand (Formerly Travellers International Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Price Range: $67 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Auckland/Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing