We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly and good facilities. Prior guests leave damage.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clifftop Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clifftop Accommodation
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly and good facilities. Prior guests leave damage.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Portland is compact and the oldest Victorian settlement. Still a major industrial exporting port and a hive of modern activity. It is a centre point for east, west and inland travel on the Victorian S. W. Coast.
There are lots of nearby places to visit. Two to three days would be enough.
The accommodation was very good and if you are able and prepared to cook with minimal but adequate facilities, it is good (ex-chef)
Town food facilities are orientated to the working-man's expectations with 'Indian buttered chicken' being a popular dish. However, there are some cafes that are better than others!
You have to seek them out and they seem to change from time to time,
The B & B is has the best view. It has very good self catering facilities but not so good on 'provided' breakfast.
My regret is, a previous guest had broken the 'featured' telescope. It was not whale season but it would have been good to be able to 'spot' the telescope before trying to zoom in.
Good location, but do not wait for the tram, as it travels in its own time, even though it starts from over the road.

Room Tip: Go for the N.E. room. It has a better balcony and sometimes a working telescope. The other rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here and could not fault this place. Without doubt the best accommodation in Portland. The room was spotless and the view is to die for.Everything here was classy without being over the top. They even had a full sized bathmat!

Room Tip: Read the reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We really lucked out with this apartment - for a price not much higher than a motel, we had a apartment overlooking the sea, right on the edge of town. And what a nice apartment it was - we felt completely spoiled with the binoculars and telescope, small but well equipped kitchen, and modern bathroom.

Only grip is that perhaps the bed could have been a bit softer, but that's just personal preference.

Reception was very friendly, and couldn't even hear the other occupants in the house (There are 3 apartments side-by-side), maybe we got lucky and had the place to ourselves?

No whales spotted this time, but next time we're in the area, we are definitely coming back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marz1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed last weekend for one night only. We both had a very enjoyable time in Portland and the accommodation was fantastic , exactly what we expected. A little out of the main area but the views are fantastic. Will defiantly stay again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magpieman4361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

These apartments offer a very good standard of accomodation and the most amazing views of the bay and the surrounding country. The bed was comfortable and beautifully dressed, there was a huge bath in a spotless bathroom and all other items for self-catering were of good quality. Whilst there, in September, we saw seals and a whale mother and calf from the balcony. We were there for a bird-watching trip and we had falcons zipping past the window and several other interesting birds on and under the cliffs in front before we even left for one of the many great sites close by Portland. Watching the ships come and go in the harbour was also very interesting. It was a good base from which to visit the surrounding area. Portland itself is worth half a day if you are interested in historical things. The people at the family history place were quite helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcm04999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is one of the best little apartments we have stayed in. As most other reviewers have stated it is spotlessly clean, very well appointed and wonderful to be so close to the sea. The one thing I would disagree with the other reviewers is that Portland is a boring place to visit. True it is a working, normal, town, but to us this was a bonus over places that are simply relying on tourism. The boats coming and going just added to the interest. There is so much to do in such a small radius. So many walks. Interesting places to see. The local people are great. We had three nights and hope to go back as there is still plenty we have not done. And we had the bonus of a southern right whale and her calf off the breakwater on our last morning. It was magic!

Room Tip: All three rooms have beautiful sea views but rooms one and three have outlooks on two sides because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumaralja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Hard to imagine that the view could live up to claims - but it does! This is a fantastic place to stay in an amazingly beautiful part of the world. Apart from the view, our room was very comfortable and well equipped - we stayed 2 nights but would have liked a few more. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magicpossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.5 mi away
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bentinck
Quality Hotel Bentinck
#7 of 7 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.3 mi away
SeaScape Accommodation
SeaScape Accommodation
#3 of 10 in Portland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#2 of 8 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quest Portland
Quest Portland
#1 of 10 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariner Motel
Mariner Motel
#1 of 7 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifftop Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifftop Accommodation

Property: Clifftop Accommodation
Address: 13 Clifton Court, Portland, Victoria 3305, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Portland
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clifftop Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clifftop Accommodation Portland Australia, AAA 41/2 stars. Clifftop offers 3 studio style apartments, overnight or weekly with full sea views. From your room watch for whales & Dolphins, international shipping & the local fishing fleet, take a walk along to clifftop or stroll along the beach, quiet location close to town, restaurants, lighthouse, free off street parking, suitable for adults. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clifftop Accommodation Portland, Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing