We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming place for informal good food”
Review of Pickled Pelican - CLOSED

Pickled Pelican
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
559 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
“Welcoming place for informal good food”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Ate here as a small group mid-week and pretty much had it to ourselves due to the day and the terrible weather outside. The Pelican is an odd place in terms of location as it is a few blocks away from the main area and doesn’t quite catch the eye or have too much passing foot traffic. Inside the design is that of a coffee shop even though they do evening food. Personally it was a bit too bright and breezy for me to sit in, but this is personal taste – but the very harsh lighting did rob a bit of atmosphere.

The tapas is really very good though, better than I expected from the coffee shop feel and mostly the prices were OK for each dish.

Service was friendly and helpful and efficient – not constantly getting in our way but always around to add dishes, clear things etc. There are fancier places in town for sure, but the Pelican makes for a friendly informal place for good food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bob_the_moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    25
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unexpected in a small town.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great food, more of an upmarket place. Not the usual choices on the menu, a bit different. My colleagues and I all enjoyed our meals very much. We even went back the following night!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gl0be_r0ver_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Advertises on flyer at info centre”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

By recommendation and after reading their colourful advertising card at the Info Centre, we went on Tuesday morning to have breakfast. The girl behind the counter said"we don't do breakfast today" Either their advertising is wrong or the girl was mistaken. No sign of any further communication or apology, we looked at one another and left.

Perhaps one has to ring and find out what they are actually serving on any given day before bothering to go along.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romicast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Thai Beef Salad ever!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Groovy little den on the way into Portland, looks fairly non-descript from the outside, but charming surprise once though the front door. Delicious calamari and heavenly Thai beef salad, topped off with tasty fries and yummy aoli and relish. A little put off initially by having to pass through a cloud of cigarette smoke generated by staff members hanging around the front door, but this had no impact on the dining experience here after. A must if you're passing through town!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raj7_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Presentation of food outstanding.”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We both enjoyed our fish meals on the dinner menu. My fish of the day was cooked very well, perhaps a tad too much hollandaise sauce but it was delicious. The homemade tartare sauce on my husband's plate was also very tasty. Our choice of dessert was presented really well, very creative and tasted delicious. This is a more upmarket place than a pub so meals are more expensive. Wine list was adequate, we enjoyed our choice of white wine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickled Pelican also viewed

 
Portland, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing