We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mighty fine”
Review of Quest Portland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2012

A pleasant surprise after being on the road for a long time. Two nice bedrooms. Kitchen great. Could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topgun15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry W, Owner at Quest Portland, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

It's very encouraging to see that we were more than you had expected. We hope you will visit Quest Portland once again in the near future and stay for a longer period of time.
Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 231 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

It was a shame that we only stayed here for one night as we travelled the great ocean road from Melbourne to Adelaide as the apartment was fantastic. Apartment was spacious, modern and immaculately clean. It had everything we needed - wi-fi, swimming pool, kitchen facilities, two fabulous bedrooms and wonderful bathrooms too - highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anon2midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry W, Owner at Quest Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2012

Thank you for your encouraging review! We hope that next time you will be able to spend more time here in Portland at Quest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Great location 2minute walk from the main street!Beautiful new rooms!Come with kitchen hot plates oven dishwasher washing machine dryer couldn't ask for any better!very clean tidy Rooms lovely pool can't wait to stay here again only bad thing is that the fire alarm is right in front of the heater/aircon and I set off the fire alarm bad location of fire alarm other than that it was perfect!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missySa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry W, Owner at Quest Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comments and review. Your enthusiasm to our service and product is such great encouragment to all my staff members.
Thank you for your comment with regards to the smoke detector, we will definitely endeavour to investigate a better location for it in hope that it will provide the safety to our guests as well as comfort at the same time.
We hope to have you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed here with our 1 year old recently and were completely dissapointed. We prepaid using the Quest website and requested a king which nobody paid any attention to. Although i realise that its a busy time of year, we booked this ages ago so one would think that a king could be held for us. It seems requests are not even noticed.

The room was very small. Really not any good for an extended stay or for more than 1-2 people.

It seemed our room wasn't actually serviced properly. Things missing from the usual fare (conditioner provided but no shampoo etc).

Parking is not great. Whilst you will probably get a park, there is no allocated parking so you may end up with somebody parking outside your door and have to park away from your room. Wouldn't be hard to number the parking!

Generally looks like it could use a lick of paint and a good scrub.

On a good note the breakfast was really nice (continental) and staff at breakfast were really friendly and helpful. Everything was replaced quickly when emptied and the staff were on top of cleaning up too.

Quite dissapointed, do not recommend and wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank natay79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry W, Owner at Quest Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2012

Thank you very much for taking time to review our property. Your comments and experience is vital to us so that we are able to achieve 100% cusotmer satisfaction.
With regards to your bedding request, it is quite difficult for us to lock in your request at the time of booking. This is due to the fact that we allocate rooms only the night before and that anything can change (in-house guest extentions and other bookings) from the time you book to the time you actually arrive. We however always try our very best to allocate to your requirements and it is only when we absolutely have tried everything that we can and in your circumstances not meet every one of your requirements.
Our executive suite (our hotel style room) is the smallest room type reflected in our tarriffs. In the complex and we only have 6 of those in the property. As per your comments, we do not encourage more than 1 or 2 night stays in those rooms types for more than 1 or 2 people. For more than one person we also recommend our one bedroom apartment as it is much more spacious. We hope that you will try our one bedroom apartment next time you visit Portland I will be more than happy to provide you with a complimentary upgrade if you mention this review. (upgrade will be subject to availability)
As we are less than one years old as a property, I am a little concerned with your comment with regards additional paint and ä "good scrub". I would like to know where specifically in the property you might be referrring to as I absolutely want to rectify the issue. As seen in your review, presentation of our proeprty is very important and I really do thank you for helping us improve our standards.
Although an unfortunate experience previously, we do hope that if you ever travel to Portland again that you would give Quest Porland a second chance.
Thank you once again for your comments and valuable time in writing this review, with your comments and experience we will strive to increase standards and improve on our services to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Situated on the outskirt of Melbourne, Portland is a town with approximately 12 000 people.
Quest Portland displays a dashing yet elegant property from the second you approach the premises.

With its' venue situated closely to all the main shops, and also supermarket - i found it very convenient and relaxing while staying there.

Quest Portland was capable of offering a great stay. it is profoundly clear that the quality of service offered by Quest is far beyond excellent.

While entering the apartment, everything was very tidy. It felt almost at a modern atmosphere with an exception of a 'home' feel.

Quest has always had a high level of excellent service, and Quest Portland has definitely upheld the quality.

Keep up the good work!

As some may prefer sophistication and others may prefer Efficiency, both are covered at such a low expense compared to the local competitors.

Room Tip: It all depends on your stay. if you are a big family, of course it is not wise to get a double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry W, Owner at Quest Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2012

Hi Charles, thank you so much for your amazing review and thank you for your engcouraging words to our staff.
We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I've been there three times now and each time I've stayed at this place. When I travel interstate, I usually get put up in Quest or Medina. Since this is the only branded option around, obviously I go for this place. My 'home away from home' of sorts.

Room:
Always comfortable, the only minor neg would be the bathroom gets a bit steamy. Other than that the place feels brand new.
I always manage to get a car park pretty much outside the door of my room.

Service:
Fantastic. Always happy to help whether I call them or see them at reception.

Food:
I'm not usually a breakfast person but they throw enough variety at me to keep me well fed. I always go for the hot chocolate :) Pretty darn good for a coffee machine.
They're situated just around the corner from the main strip of shops, so you're pretty sorted for lunch/dinner with a quick stroll.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry W, Owner at Quest Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2012

Hi Peter!
It is so encouraging to see that you choose Quest Portland time and time again even more so that we hear you call us your home away from home.
We are still currently trying to rectify the ventilation issue in some of our bathrooms. Although they are approved to be of strength, other guests besides yourself have also provided us with the same feedback with regards to the steam.
We hope to see you back at Quest Portland very soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I went down to Portland with a few of my friends and we stayed at Quest apartments for three nights. The service was amazing, everyone there was very friendly and helpful.
I was extremely happy about the room.
It was new
It was big
It was comfortable and most importantly it was clean.
The kitchen was well equpped with everything you could need.
The bathroom was simply amazing!

Overall I had a very relaxing stay, I would recommend this place to anyone and I would certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wong_J274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry W, Owner at Quest Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2012

Thank you for your review and your comments are the most encourgaing for all our staff here at Quest Portland. Nothing is better than a satisfied return customer and we definitely look forward to welcoming you back to the property soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.5 mi away
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Portland
98 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cape Nelson Lighthouse Cottages
1.3 mi away
Portland Retro Motel
Portland Retro Motel
#5 of 7 in Portland
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mariner Motel
Mariner Motel
#1 of 7 in Portland
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portland Holiday Village
Portland Holiday Village
#6 of 10 in Portland
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Annesley House
Annesley House
#3 of 7 in Portland
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Portland

Address: 66 Julia St, Portland, Victoria 3305, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Portland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Portland
Price Range: $107 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Portland 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Portland is the newest accommodation in town. Our property is brand new, featuring modern and stylish executive suites plus fully self contained one, two and three bedroom apartments with everything you need to make Quest Portland your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Portland Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing