We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly staff & a good price”

William Dutton Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
William Dutton Motel
Ranked #7 of 7 Portland B&B and Inns
Bendigo, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly staff & a good price”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

3 of us stayed for 4 nights in 2 rooms, I have to say that the bed in our room was very comfortable, which is a big change from the usual in motels in this price range. 5 stars for the bed alone. The managers were very friendly and helpful, rooms clean and had everything we needed. Only gripe is the car park but I am not sure there is much that can be done to help, the parking spaces are very tight. I would be happy to stay here again any time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booboobear60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
13
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Was recommended to me at the local information bureau. Good value for money ($82 for the night). A good sized room which was clean and the bed was comfortable. Walking distance from the centre of town (except the weather meant needed to drive). Heating worked well so nice and warm on a very cold night. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwillyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Fairy, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Fairly standard motor inn. The included breakfast consisted of four pieces of bread and two small bottle of juice left in the fridge. The carpark is quite tight. The shower wasn't particularly clean. Our main grumble was that our unit (number 7) seemed exceptionally noisy - you can hear the phone ringing in reception all hours of the day, and the resident children shouting and playing. It's OK value for the price, but better for an overnight stop than an extended stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Just a standard motel near the town centre close to amenities like shops, cafe, bars & restaurants. The rooms are clean and functional with tea/coffee facility and also a microwave oven. Free car parking is available off street within the motel's courtyard.

Portland is a logical midway stop for a road trip from Melbourne to Adelaide via the Great Ocean Road. This motel is a reasonable choice for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Portland
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mariner Motel
Mariner Motel
#1 of 7 in Portland
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admella Motel
Admella Motel
#4 of 7 in Portland
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#2 of 7 in Portland
91 reviews
0.9 mi away
Portland Retro Motel
Portland Retro Motel
#5 of 7 in Portland
29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Portland
Econo Lodge Portland
#6 of 7 in Portland
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to William Dutton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William Dutton Motel

Property: William Dutton Motel
Address: 141 Percy St, Portland, Victoria 3305, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Portland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — William Dutton Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your William Dutton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
William Dutton Motel Portland, Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing