We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Obstinate but Warm Australian B&B experiences!”
Review of Victoria House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria House
Ranked #2 of 7 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The breakfast we had here was one of the longest time-taking breakfast experience ever but it became our family memory in this Great Ocean Road trip. :)
The obstinate looking old lady was taking an order for the every piece of breakfast elements from each person including my kids and my mum and served a very nice breakfast plate. The family room was 2 story room. A bit cold upstairs but had a quite nice sleep downstairs. It was one of the most expensive room we had in this trip but was deserve to spend (including the breakfast, it's actually not that expensive).
Nice garden was a plus to enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlBae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 93 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

A comfortable place to stay. Nice to be able to get a family room in a B&B. loved the port & sherry of an evening in the lounge. Craig is wonderful- friendly, entertaining & knowledgeable. Made for an interesting stay!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cimocounselling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We were just here for the night but it was a very nice night. Craig seems to have found his niche in life - the quintessential innkeeper - sincere, helpful and pleasant. The place was old- fashioned, quaint and homey, with modern plumbing! Craig accomodated us, and a couple who were going fishing, with an early start full cooked breakfast of just about anything we wanted. A nice experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

After a long day on the Great Ocean Rd ,we arrived in Portland and went straight to the tourist info centre( how great are these when traveling !) The lady working there helped us find accommodation and we went to this wonderful B&B . Craig was really laid back made us feel really relaxed and welcomed. The rooms are lovely with their own bathrooms and Tvs ,bed really comfy and warm . Craig had made us a fire in the sitting room complete with CDs , DVDs port ,sherry and fruitcake . After a delicious dinner at the Gordon Hotel we sat around the fire until time for bed and after a good night sleep we were served an enormous breakfast which included,fruit,yoghurt cereal juice, followed by a cooked breakfast ,no one leaves hungry from here. Cannot recommend this B&B highly enough a wonderful experience .

Room Tip: All rooms great ,we chose downstairs so we didn't t have to carry our luggage upstairs .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

It was a long weekend. My partner and I decided to do the great ocean road, and though we would have stopped before Portland we could not find accommodation in any of the towns. When we booked for Portland we didn't realise how long a drive it was, however it was definitely worth going further than your average tourist. Most Melbournites turned their nose up at Portland. Yes, it is a working town, not a tourist attraction, that's for sure but the accommodation was one of the most beautiful historic guesthouses. The owner was keen to help and made a pretty great breakfast! The walk along the port is pretty.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reschndler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Victoria House, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our host Craig was very friendly, knowledgeable and extremely helpful. It is a short walk to the port area and to the centre of the town where there are many shops and places to eat. Victoria House has a wonderful old world charm, with antique furniture matching the style and history of the building. The rooms are large with own TV and en suite bathroom. The breakfast which is included in the tariff, is simply magnificent, and if you eat all that is on offer, it is unlikely that you will feel like eating much for lunch. There is plenty to do and see in Portland, so overall it was a very relaxing, enjoyable and interesting stay at Victoria House, and can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aussie_tourist001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and had a very enjoyable time. Craig who owns and runs the B&B is very personable and a wealth of information. The rate includes a large cooked breakfast in addition to cereals, yogurts and fruits. We saw the cooked breakfast come out and they were massive so we ordered a half serve, which was more than plenty for us. It sets you up for the rest of the day.

The location is close to the foreshore and within walking distance to the shops and for wandering around the town.

We stayed in room 7 which was well appointed with an alcove leading to an en-suite. The room was nicely decorated and the bedding good quality, but I found the mattress left me with a sore back.

There is nicely decorated lounge areas to chill out and sip on a complimentary port or sherry and fruit cake. There is also a selection of DVDs if you can't find anything to watch on TV, or in our instance the reception on the TV wasn't so good.

Overall we had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay and would recommend Victoria House.

Room Tip: If you are not a big eater ask for a half serve of the cooked breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolynthb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Portland
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Bentinck
Quality Hotel Bentinck
#6 of 7 in Portland
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annesley House
Annesley House
#3 of 7 in Portland
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mariner Motel
Mariner Motel
#1 of 7 in Portland
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Portland
Quest Portland
#1 of 10 in Portland
228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lorelei Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House

Address: 5 Tyers St, Portland, Victoria 3305, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: $94 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria House: You are welcomed to relax in the friendly atmosphere of a fully restored Georgian home of historic importance. In 1834 Edward Henty established a farm at Portland Bay, founding Victoria's first permanent settlement. Today, no less than 100 historic buildings are still in use - one of the most outstanding being Victoria House, the Bluestone mansion which first opened its doors as a hotel in 1856. During its 150-year history it has been a gracious private home, a seminary, government offices and, most recently, a guesthouse. Our completely restored, original bluestone guesthouse is waiting to welcome you. Victoria House has delightful recently renovated ensuite rooms with Free WiFi in main building, HD TV/DVD and tea/coffee-making facilities. You'll enjoy our home with its traditional sitting room, cake port and sherry and welcoming fire, its location - strolling distance from the city centre, beach and harbour, and our personalised service. We serve hot country breakfasts, and provide local information to help make the most of your stay in Portland. Whether you are holidaying here, on business, or breaking the journey between Adelaide and Melbourne, you'll be glad you chose to stay with us. You'll be pleased by the moderate tariffs..Only 5 minutes walk to the harbour, restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Victoria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Portland, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing