We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful accommodation with unique character”
Review of Annesley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Annesley House
Ranked #2 of 7 Portland B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We are a family of four from Switzerland who spent one night at Annesley House. We found it through Lonely Planet. Very clean, comfortable, friendly & very professional owner. Home made liquor superb. We could have easily stayed much longer if we had the time. we strongly recommend Annesley House. Rea, Irene, Stephanie and Panos

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own personality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesleyHouse1878, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 147 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

We enjoyed staying in Rosalie's Retreat and stepping back in time, learning the history with all the cosy comforts. Filled with lovely antiques and included is a claw foot bath which I made good use of. Annesley House was a welcome rest after driving the GOR. I It was extremely clean and had all we needed, toasty heaters and and a cosy bed. It was nice to have thoughtful inclusions like local cookies and delicious tea. Stay somewhere different and enjoy the history.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmakateslate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesleyHouse1878, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you glad you enjoyed the uniqueness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here one night on our GOR trip and really enjoyed the suite. Big room with TV, little kitchenette, nice beds and beautiful ensuite bathroom with big bath. Little extra bedroom/ sitting area off the kitchen. I particularly remember the great tea that was available, forgot the brand but it was very good!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tikitaka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesleyHouse1878, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. The tea we use is called tease company is located in Melbourne, it is not cheap but very good quality. I hate insipid tea bags, I think if you are going to drink tea drink nice tea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We loved it here and I could have happily moved in! We chose "Rosalie's Retreat" apartment and it was just lovely. The attention to detail the current owners have made in relation to fixtures and fittings is excellent. We loved the feel of the place, it was clean and comfortable with everything catered for. I loved the selection of teas, the quirky old fridge and the bathroom was fantastic! This is a very special hotel and I would highly recommend anyone to stay here. The owner was a really friendly guy and it's clear all the love and attention he has put into this very special house. I would definitely recommend to anyone who loves history and wants to stay in a unique building. I left a piece of my heart behind in the beautiful Annesley House :)

Room Tip: Rosalie's Retreat was just lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaztin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesleyHouse1878, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Lovely overnight stay at Annesley House in early Feb 2014. The whole place is quite unusual but oozes charm and character. If you are tired of the boring motels on the Great Ocean road then you should stop here?

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesleyHouse1878, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you Adam,

We don't do normal glad you appreciated it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We spent 2 nights in this lovingly restored house. Mark, the owner, has put such care into all the detail, an eclectic and quirky mix of antique and vintage furnishings, with all modern conveniences as well. Central location with restaurants and pubs nearby. Lots to see and do, maritime museum, WW2 lookout tower, cliff walks, tram ride, and lovely little botanic garden.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank melanie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesleyHouse1878, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you so much nice to see you found the botanical gardens they really are a hidden treausre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a nice stay at Annesley House. We received a friendly welcome by Mark and his cute dog and we stayed in a lovely big room (with port). If you fancy seeing wildlife (we hadn't seen much yet at that point) ask Mark and he can tell you the exact places to spot animals!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank travelsgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesleyHouse1878, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you so much glad you found the animals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.5 mi away
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Portland
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bentinck
Quality Hotel Bentinck
#6 of 7 in Portland
51 reviews
0 mi away
Quest Portland
Quest Portland
#1 of 10 in Portland
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lorelei Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#3 of 7 in Portland
93 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cape Nelson Lighthouse Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annesley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annesley House

Address: 60 Julia St, Portland, Victoria 3305, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Portland
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: $122 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Annesley House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The critics and our guests rave about Annesley House. We are both a "TOP CHOICE" & "HIGHLY RECOMMENDED" in the 2011 Lonely Planet. Meticulously restored it to its former grandeur Annesley House boasts six serviced apartments and the Grande meeting room. Each apartment has its own unique character together with everything the modern traveler can desire,free Wifi, complementary parking, guest laundry etc. Annesley House is located in the centre of town, it is a quick stroll to all shops, cafes/restaurants,harbour and the town beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Annesley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annesley House Portland, Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing