We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Stir Your Imagination”
Review of Annesley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Annesley House
Ranked #3 of 7 Portland B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is one of those places that you could really spend a good few nights in. We stayed one night in 'Wadmore' We woke feeling totally relaxed and refreshed. It could have been because of the relaxing spa, comfortable bed, great sleep or the yummy port that was left for us!
We felt like welcomed guests staying in this historic house.
One tip - don't rush your stay! We checked in later than we intended (The Great Ocean Road can do that!) and were torn having a look around Portland or hanging out in Annesley house!
They have a gorgeous large guest room downstairs filled with books, historic clippings, games and all sorts!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NInbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesleyHouse1878, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thank you so much it makes it all worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 145 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a unique property and if you like history this is for you. It has been restored with a great eye to detail for the period but still provides the mod cons we all expect. I would stay here again for a longer stay and will most definitely recommend it to my friends. Portland is a pretty port town where you can buy fresh fish at the pier and use the excellent kitchen facilities to cook up a feast. One down side was no coffee plunger in the room which would have been a good addition next time I will take my own as coffee bags can only go so far. Also explore some of the towns nearby as they also have good things on offer. The only reason I marked the service down as we didn't see anyone just walked in a picked up our own keys.

Room Tip: The rooms at upstairs are great and have good views, we stayed on the ground floor as my elderly mot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesleyHouse1878, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your kind words Heather. We will put coffee plungers in all our rooms. For guests that arrive or leave outside of hours we use self check in & out procedures. This saves our guests the worry of arriving or leaving at a specified time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed in Rosalie's Retreat and the Captain's Quarters. We were very pleasantly surprised by the standard of this accommodation. The rooms were spacious and well equipped and the lovely period features as well as some quirky additions were really great. The continental breakfast facilities we'd requested were lovely and plentiful, complete with apples from the owner's tree. We had a great chat with Mark who has lovingly restored this old building (a never ending task) and we were fascinated to know more about the history of the building. It was a fabulous stop on our fantastic Great Ocean Road-trip. Highly recommend it. Especially as Portland doesn't seem to have any other options of a similar standard. As far as we could tell.

Room Tip: Sid the dog was v cute. We had a great meal at Mac'sHotel (?!) just down the road and across on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_G.UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesleyHouse1878, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you so much we are glad you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have stayed at Annesley House a couple of times. I can see that it would not be everyone's cup of tea but I really love the spaciousness of the rooms and the grandeur of the old building. It is the best I have found in Portland so far.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank soksabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesleyHouse1878, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for writing a review.

You are correct we are not everyone's "Cup of tea". We like to think we provide an experience not just a bed for the night. Our catch phrase is "Time marches on but memories last a life time".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went and stayed at Annesley House over the recent Australia Day weekend. We were in the Captain's Quarters. The building is really lovely... high ceilings and beautiful floors. The whole place is filled with light. And the quarters were great too. A beautiful and comfortable old bed... very comfy leather couch... curios galore.
The owner was a really nice guy. He told us about the history of the house and gave us some tips for local seal viewing (and there were actually seals where he said they would be). He even gave us some delicious local strawberries and some very tasty port.
The only thing I'd say is you probably need to bring bottled water as the water in the taps isn't the tastiest, but that's a minor point. I highly recommend this place. It's unlike anything else you'll find on the market and if you want to feel like you're having a special experience and not just the same old hotel/motel holiday that you've had a hundred times before, this is the place for you. It really is very special.

Room Tip: The owner showed us around all the empty rooms when we got there. They're all beautiful in diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesleyHouse1878, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. You are correct Portland water is a bit of a acquired taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We arrived to see our amazingly spacious and beautiful apartment, 'Baytree', complete with yummy local strawberries, balsamic vinegar and port. Mark is a lovely host, full of good information and stories. It was great to stay in such a great house steeped in history, which Mark and family have clearly taken so much care and time restoring and maintaining. The location is also excellent, being only walking distance from shops and harbourside, yet very peaceful and tranquil. Thank you for an amazing stay! Maddy & Brian

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaddySiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesleyHouse1878, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Arrived around 18:30 to be greeted with a sign telling us the rooms we were to stay in, keys in the locks. Rooms large and full of character, reasonably clean and comfortably furnished. Quality complimentary teas and coffees and the decanter of port a pleasant surprise. Quick glimpse of mien host in the morning but not a warm welcome. Located conveniently for shops and restaurants. Quiet location in a quiet town.Will not be returning or recommending to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theplusminus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesleyHouse1878, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

We often use self check in & check out procedures when we have guests payment & details in advance. Our guest often travel long distances & we find check in times are either not specified or inaccurate. Many of our guests appreciate this flexibility.

Sorry for any confusion this may of caused. In the future we will make sure the self check in & check out procedures are made clear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bentinck
Quality Hotel Bentinck
#6 of 7 in Portland
50 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Portland
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lorelei Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#2 of 7 in Portland
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quest Portland
Quest Portland
#1 of 10 in Portland
231 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cape Nelson Lighthouse Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annesley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annesley House

Address: 60 Julia St, Portland, Victoria 3305, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Portland
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: $118 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Annesley House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The critics and our guests rave about Annesley House. We are both a "TOP CHOICE" & "HIGHLY RECOMMENDED" in the 2011 Lonely Planet. Meticulously restored it to its former grandeur Annesley House boasts six serviced apartments and the Grande meeting room. Each apartment has its own unique character together with everything the modern traveler can desire,free Wifi, complementary parking, guest laundry etc. Annesley House is located in the centre of town, it is a quick stroll to all shops, cafes/restaurants,harbour and the town beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Annesley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annesley House Portland, Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing