We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As it once was, with modern comfort”
Review of Annesley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Annesley House
Ranked #3 of 7 Portland B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 8, 2012

A wonderful comfortable place to stay. The fabric and style of each apartment retains the style of its Victorian (or Georgian?) origins. The level of comfort is however impeccably modern, after some of the most sensitive renovation I have seen. In our 2 bedroom suite, this meant more than ample heating, a fine modern bathroom and fully equipped kitchen and TV and wi-fi.

A beautiful garden and outdoor furniture, a generously equipped guest lounge and a very warm welcome from Mark and Sid the fluffy dog. I can't think of anything to improve. A remote but very comfortable corner of Victoria.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneObsessive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annesley_House, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you Sid & I are both flattered!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 147 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very unique place to stay. Mark was great host. On arrival strawberries in our room along with some nice port. Room is very comfortable and the bathroom very old school with great character. However bath is slippery even with mat in so be careful! And the gourmet breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nowweare4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annesley_House, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you, hope you enjoyed the strawberries & port.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Lovely family owned and run business. Stayed here with my husband and two teenage sons in Dr Brewer's rooms. More than enough room for us. The boys had a room each which they really enjoyed. I loved the way the rooms where furnished in keeping with the era and the main shared lounge room was very comfortable and inviting. Everything we needed for a family holiday.

Being able to cook in the room was great with two teenagers. Being able to walk to all the shops and local beach was excellent as I dislike using my car when on holiday.

Coming from the city loved the feel of this country town and will definitely be back.

Thanks Mark and family. See you again in the future.


Rhonda C

Room Tip: Dr Brewer's great with 3 bedrooms. I believe there is also smaller rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 385rhondac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annesley_House, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We do have smaller apartments, 2 bedroom (House Keepers) & 1 bedroom (Wadmore, Baytree, Captains & Rosalies). We like to match our guests to apartments, Dr Brewer's & House Keeper's are best for families

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Loved staying there, Mark the owner went out of his way to do everything to make you comfortable, even to making sure that the cab came on time at 5.45 AM.

When it didn't arrive he offered to drive me to the airport and his beautiful dog Sid makes the place irresistable ( if ordering a cab make sure you speak to a person not a automative voice)

Denise Drysdale

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annesley_House, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thanks Denise,

Sid said thanks for the ham & cheese sandwiches.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Annesley House is a perfect combination of history, comfort and style. The building has been lovingly and tastefully restored into a unique accommodation experience that is incredibly good value. There are 6 apartments - each different, but each with very comfortable fittings and everything you'd need. Upstairs rooms have views, downstairs are larger. We had a look at them all and would have been happy in any. The attention to detail and amazing furnishings are a real treat and there is plenty of info about the history of the place if you are interested.

The location is just around the corner from the main shopping area and a short stroll to the waterfront area. It is not on a main road so was very quiet at night.

Host Mark warmly welcomed us with port and strawberries and managed to be there when you needed him while allowing us plenty of privacy. We stayed three nights and didn't want to leave.

Absolutely a top choice - Annesley House deserves its high ratings and stands out among a humdrum crowd. Highly recommended and I don't say that often.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RT-Whanganui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annesley_House, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you, so nice just about cried!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Had a very good experience staying in this hotel. I called to inform that I will be arriving a lot earlier and Mark the owner told us it's ok. He asked if we liked port, he just got from Barossa valley. So he gave us lots with fresh strawberries and balsamic vinegar in our room. The apartments are very spacious. Tastefully decorated with Victorian themed fittings and furniture. Very highly recommended. PS. If you are a dog lover, Sid the sausage dog will give you a warm welcome too.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iskura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annesley_House, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you it was nice to see you all enjoy yourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at Annesley House for only one night - and immediately regretted not having more time to spend there. The room was amazing - hot tub included in the bed room - four-poster-bed, etc. The friendly manager greeted us with some fresh strawberries and maple syrup in the fridge - no better way to make someone feel welcome! We slept peacefully and didn't hear any noise from other guests, although there were a couple of kids staying there as well. Will definetely come back next time we are in Portland!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philipp H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesleyHouse1878, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed the strawberries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.5 mi away
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Portland
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bentinck
Quality Hotel Bentinck
#6 of 7 in Portland
51 reviews
0 mi away
Quest Portland
Quest Portland
#1 of 10 in Portland
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lorelei Bed and Breakfast
1.3 mi away
SeaScape Accommodation
SeaScape Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Portland
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#2 of 7 in Portland
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annesley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annesley House

Address: 60 Julia St, Portland, Victoria 3305, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Portland
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: $118 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Annesley House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The critics and our guests rave about Annesley House. We are both a "TOP CHOICE" & "HIGHLY RECOMMENDED" in the 2011 Lonely Planet. Meticulously restored it to its former grandeur Annesley House boasts six serviced apartments and the Grande meeting room. Each apartment has its own unique character together with everything the modern traveler can desire,free Wifi, complementary parking, guest laundry etc. Annesley House is located in the centre of town, it is a quick stroll to all shops, cafes/restaurants,harbour and the town beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Annesley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annesley House Portland, Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing