We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lorelei Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lorelei Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Very quiet location and helpful, friendly owners. Pleasant rooms with every amenity. Lovely breakfast, with cooked options available as extras. Would definitely recommend, and would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
55
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Located in a quiet area just few steps from Portland shops and restaurants, the B&B is old-style but really nice and clean. The man is extremely nice and free drinks (soft, wine and beers) are provided to customer. A nice resting room is present and the garden is very nice with lots of flowers

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SilvioP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Love the homely vibe of this quiet and charming bed and breakfast.

Roger the owner and his kids are the sweetest people ever!

The rooms are well put together, spacious, fresh and very clean. We were so comfortable during our stay. Slept like a baby in the cozy beds.

The breakfast is yummy and Roger even went out of his way to ensure we had gluten free options.

This is the place to stay in Portland. Would recommend to everyone for a peaceful getaway!!!

Thanks Roger… you're a gem!

Sarah and Chris, San Francisco

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snhawthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

A very pleasant stay on New Years Eve. The building was very spacious and comfortable. The snacks were appreciated and breakfast tasty. Roger was a very pleasant and friendly host. Finally, we were favourable impresses by Portland with some lovely buildings.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietraveller036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

This was a lovely place to stay - high ceilings, airy rooms, four poster beds and lots of space in the room. Having use of a large guest living room, breakfast room and veranda made our stay.
Roger is a great host and despite his passion for cricket, he was gentle with his comments to this suffering pom.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed recently for an overnight business trip and just loved this place. Gorgeous setting- relaxed and friendly host Roger who could not do enough for us. We adored the country style four poster bed and massive room with anything you would require. Breakfast was delicious including cereals, toast, tea and coffee and home made omelette with smoked salmon. We would love to come back again for more of the same!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This B&B has it all - a wonderful reading/lounge room, great breakfast, nice rooms and en suites and a friendly, helpful and generous host. Roger sets out wine, port, beer, cheese, nuts every evening and has tea, coffee, biscuits and toffees available on a self-serve basis all day. Nice touches are the coffee machine which makes a lovely cup of coffee (whatever strength you want), decaf and regular instant coffee, rooibos,tea-bags as well as loose tea and tea pots - enough to suit every taste. We loved our stay here and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 3 seemed a little larger than room 2 - but both were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Autraliantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.7 mi away
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bentinck
Quality Hotel Bentinck
#7 of 7 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#2 of 8 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quest Portland
Quest Portland
#1 of 10 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mariner Motel
Mariner Motel
#1 of 7 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annesley House
Annesley House
#3 of 8 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorelei Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorelei Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lorelei Bed and Breakfast
Address: 53 Gawler St, Portland, Victoria 3305, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lorelei Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great value Bed & Breakfast Accommodation in the heart of Portland VIC. Whether visiting for business or pleasure we invite you to enjoy our gracious Federation home situated in central Portland within easy walking distance to restaurants, cafes, hotels and the harbour. Room tariff includes Continental Breakfast, Free WiFi, Foxtel Movies, Sport and Entertainment as well as complimentary drinks including beer, wine, soft drinks, bottled water, tea and espresso coffee. With six ensuite guest bedrooms, a large inviting lounge and a formal dining room, Lorelei B&B is large enough for you to enjoy a spacious, relaxing and comfortable atmosphere yet small enough to offer personal service and attention to detail. All Rooms Feature:- Queen size bed- Private ensuite bathroom with bath & shower- TV & Free Foxtel satellite channels- Free Wireless and Cable Broadband access- Desk- Climate control heating & air conditioning- Tea & coffee making facilities- Access to free fax, phone & printer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lorelei Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorelei Bed And Breakfast Portland, Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing