We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 day stay at Lorelei”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lorelei Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2 day stay at Lorelei”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Beautiful old home with period furniture. Roger goes out of his way to make you feel comfortable and welcome, including complimentary beer and wine, plus cheese available. Start the day with a very nice home-cooked breakfast. Central to Portland, which I find to be a lovely place to visit after the Great Ocean Road.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pether_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
58
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

With an unplanned detour into Portland, we had booked at Lorelei as an alternative to the city's standard motels and were more than impressed. Lovely huge historic house with a lot of old time charm, like the four poster bed in our large room and the lovely lounge to sit and relax.
But it's all those little extras that really make the place special. From free drinks, including *real* coffee to pre-dinner wine, cheese and crackers. And there's a lovely selection for breakfast including several cooked options, all prepared by an excellent and helpful host. We'd definitely stay again when in the region.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouringCyclists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This lovely B&B is only a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Portland. The house is full of character and the room is beautifully appointed. Roger is a an excellent host who was always there to greet us with a smile. Overall a fantastic stay and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Travelling the Great Ocean Road for five nights and Portland our first stopover. We booked online and were not let down. The owner Roger is very helpful and provided a lovely place to rest. Very spacious room and good size ensuite. Nice lounge to relax in and even a nice cold beer! Breakfast was a wide variety and enjoyed in the roomy dining room with the period furniture. Handy to the town to walk for dinner. Nearby plenty of tourist things to do as well. Would stay again for sure! Thanks Roger for the most pleasant stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Frith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We found this lovely B&B on Trip Advisor & agree with all the previous positive comments. Roger is an excellent host & cooked a great breakfast that we ate in the period style dining room furnished with polished wood dining table, china crockery, wooden floor boards etc.

The continental breakfast is included in the price as is the red & white wine,port, cheese and biscuits in the communal lounge room. For an extra $10 each we had the fully cooked breakfast. I had the pesto eggs & smoked salmon and my partner the bacon, eggs & tomato on toast. The coffee was from a Nespresso machine & there were jars of biscuits & Oreo bars for a sweet snack available 24/7.

Our room was lovely & the en suite bathroom was fully stocked. Roger was telling us that Lorelei was originally the doctors surgery and residence before being converted to a guest house. It is on a lovely block with established trees all around the wide veranda. Everything is close by. We had dinner at the local hotel and that was a good value meal, but could have chosen from many different eateries all very close by.

If you would rather a B&B than a hotel/motel this is a very well maintained, comfortable example of how it should be done. Full marks Roger & we hope to come back to enjoy your hospitality on our next trip to Portland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaytrippersMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, Owner at Lorelei Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review and fantastic comments on Lorelei B&B - much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay in Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This B&B was a really lovely place to stay. We were sorry it was for only one night. Roger was very helpful and friendly.
The cost for what is offered is extremely reasonable when we visited in September 2012. We enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glennmartin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at Lorelei on a business trip through a referral by a colleague. It was one of the best experience I have had for a long time. This small Federation home in central Portland gives a home away from home feel. The old style furniture makes it feels like a boutique hotel. Roger, the owner of this place, is very friend and thoughtful and will try hard to make the stay more enjoyable and comfortable.

The room was spacious and clean. The WiFi is free and cable TV is provided in the room, Complimentary drinks including beer, wine and soft drinks are available in the lounge area 24 hours day.

This is my first B&B experience and it was probably the most enjoyable one. I felt totally relax and at home there. I would not want to swap 4 or 5 stars hotel for it. With star hotels, I could only see corporate greed. At this place, I could see service. The owner makes an honest living by proving a good facility and good services to his customers. It is highly recommended by me for business trips or personal visits to the area.

By the way, this place is also within walking distance to good restaurants. I will certainly come back on my future visits to Portland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahamqla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.7 mi away
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Portland
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bentinck
Quality Hotel Bentinck
#5 of 7 in Portland
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#3 of 7 in Portland
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Annesley House
Annesley House
#2 of 7 in Portland
143 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mariner Motel
Mariner Motel
#1 of 7 in Portland
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Portland
Quest Portland
#1 of 10 in Portland
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorelei Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorelei Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lorelei Bed and Breakfast
Address: 53 Gawler St, Portland, Victoria 3305, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lorelei Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great value Bed & Breakfast Accommodation in the heart of Portland VIC. Whether visiting for business or pleasure we invite you to enjoy our gracious Federation home situated in central Portland within easy walking distance to restaurants, cafes, hotels and the harbour. Room tariff includes Continental Breakfast, Free WiFi, Foxtel Movies, Sport and Entertainment as well as complimentary drinks including beer, wine, soft drinks, bottled water, tea and espresso coffee. With six ensuite guest bedrooms, a large inviting lounge and a formal dining room, Lorelei B&B is large enough for you to enjoy a spacious, relaxing and comfortable atmosphere yet small enough to offer personal service and attention to detail. All Rooms Feature:- Queen size bed- Private ensuite bathroom with bath & shower- TV & Free Foxtel satellite channels- Free Wireless and Cable Broadband access- Desk- Climate control heating & air conditioning- Tea & coffee making facilities- Access to free fax, phone & printer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lorelei Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorelei Bed And Breakfast Portland, Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing