We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lorelei Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed at the Lorelei in early Jan for 1 night.The mood was relaxed and inviting and I highly recommend it to anyone seeking a spacious and ambient spot to call home.

The location is excellent, very central but slightly out of the main traffic area. Very easy to find and a short walk to restaurants and nearby town centre. I had the pink room on the front corner of the house and found it very clean comfortable and well thought out. As per comments of previous guests a large range of small items are complimentary and use of the common areas to relax with other guests is encouraged. Roger is warm host who puts you at ease quickly and does his utmost to ensure you enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: I peeked at a few, they all looked good. Roger was more than happy to let me have a look at the room...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Lorelei Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 95 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

We recently returned from a wonderful stay at Lorelei.
Having booked a room for one night en route from Adelaide back to Melbourne, the room was everything we could have wished for – an oversized spacious and spotlessly clean bedroom, complete with four poster bed, and charmingly shabby chic miners couch, with detached heritage bathroom/spa. We arrived in the middle of a hot spell, so the reverse cycle air con unit was also extremely welcome. T
he house itself is a large turn of the century villa on one of the nicest streets in Portland, close to a handful of decent eateries and the foreshore. The bright and airy lounge and porch/garden are lovely, comfy spaces to relax in, perfect to wind down and chill out in after a long drive. Owner Roger Alexander is a friendly and knowledgeable host, and has a keen eye for detail – amongst the many personal touches unique to Lorelei, we were invited to enjoy boutique local wines (from Cape Jaffa, Mount Benson wine region down the road), as well as given access to a fridge stocked with sparkling wine and imported beers, water and soft drinks. Port and sherry, Nespresso, boutique teas and a generous stockpile of (chocolate) biscults are also available for guests to enjoy through out their stay. All in all, a lovely experience and great value. We look forward to returning to sip some complimentary port by the fireplace in the winter!

Room Tip: Room 1 is huge, complete with large heritage ensuite and a four poster bed.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TruffleQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I have just returned from my 4th stay at the Lorelei. Lucky me :)

I travel a lot with work and always look forward to visiting Portland. This B&B is lovely, atmospheric and friendly. Everything has been thought of including free drinks in the lounge where you can chat to other guests or read a magazine quietly.

I cannot recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We recently stayed at Lorelei bed and breakfast on our trip along the Great Ocean Road. When we arrived we were shown the facilities and to our room. Our room was large and had its own bathroom, the room was decorated beautifully and was spotlessly clean. The room had everything we needed and more. We also enjoyed the fact that there was access to complimentary espresso coffee, beer, wine and port in the living room. We sat in the large bay window in the living room reading the paper and enjoying a drink as the weather was not particularly favourable to outdoor activities. The next morning we enjoyed a continental breakfast in the large dining room which included cereal, a range of breads, fruit and yoghurt. There was also a phone that could be used free of charge for local and std calls if need be. Its these extras that made us feel at home at Lorelei. Highly recommend Lorelei if travelling through Portland.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abbey_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed here on our way from Adelaide to Melbourne; sadly we only stayed one night, wish it could have been two.
Lorelie B&B offered just the right amount of privacy, combined with helpful tips on Portland from the host. Our room had a beautiful four poster bed, clean fully stocked bathroom and the serve yourself drinks were really appreciated.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canadianexpat035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

my husband and I stayed here for one night on our way to the Great Ocean Road. it was one of the highlights of our honeymoon. First off, the B&B is in a great location, super easy to find, and a very short walk to restaurants and pubs in Portland. Upon arrival we discovered that our room was just beautiful, with a huge comfy bed and the most wonderfully enourmous bathtub I'd ever seen. The inn has a gorgeous sitting room with some wonderful complimentary cheese and wine. Upon waking up we had a fantastic breakfast with the most helpful and accommodating staff. I cannot recommend this little gem of an inn enough! it's truly adorable!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oskargidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Over the years having stayed at much of the accommodation Portland has to offer and frequently being underwhelmed it was nice finding a place that can be recommended. Quiet and comfortable with attentive service. Nice touches like free drinks in the lounge room and quality breakfast top off a nice experience. Price not much more than a 3.5 star motel but superior in every way.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.7 mi away
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Portland
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bentinck
Quality Hotel Bentinck
#7 of 7 in Portland
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#2 of 7 in Portland
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quest Portland
Quest Portland
#1 of 10 in Portland
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annesley House
Annesley House
#3 of 7 in Portland
144 reviews
1.4 mi away
SeaScape Accommodation
SeaScape Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Portland
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorelei Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorelei Bed and Breakfast

Address: 53 Gawler St, Portland, Victoria 3305, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: $114 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lorelei Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great value Bed & Breakfast Accommodation in the heart of Portland VIC. Whether visiting for business or pleasure we invite you to enjoy our gracious Federation home situated in central Portland within easy walking distance to restaurants, cafes, hotels and the harbour. Room tariff includes Continental Breakfast, Free WiFi, Foxtel Movies, Sport and Entertainment as well as complimentary drinks including beer, wine, soft drinks, bottled water, tea and espresso coffee. With six ensuite guest bedrooms, a large inviting lounge and a formal dining room, Lorelei B&B is large enough for you to enjoy a spacious, relaxing and comfortable atmosphere yet small enough to offer personal service and attention to detail. All Rooms Feature:- Queen size bed- Private ensuite bathroom with bath & shower- TV & Free Foxtel satellite channels- Free Wireless and Cable Broadband access- Desk- Climate control heating & air conditioning- Tea & coffee making facilities- Access to free fax, phone & printer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lorelei Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorelei Bed And Breakfast Portland, Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing