We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Australian Arid Lands Botanic Garden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Australian Arid Lands Botanic Garden was established in 1993 to research, conserve and promote the wider appreciation of Australia’s arid zone flora. Located on the shores of Upper Spencer Gulf with spectacular views to the ancient Flinders Ranges, the Garden showcases a diverse collection of arid zone habitats in a picturesque setting of more than 250 hectares.As well as its stunning selection of arid zone plants, the garden is also home to more than 100 species of birds, and has a diverse population of repltiles, mammals and insects.It features a children's animal discovery trail, AridSmart display gardens where you can see how to use the plants in you home garden, and a visitor centre, which incorporates the Bluebush Cafe and the AridSmart Gift and Garden Shop. The cafe has mouthwatering menu choices and you can't go past the Quandong Smoothies. The AridSmart Gift and Garden Shop is where you can purchase a piece of the garden to take home. Its range of AridSmart plants will not only reduce your water bills but will bring the beauty of Australia's plants into your garden.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

You would have to be really up to speed on arid land plants to fully appreciate the content of this place but it is a great experience just to be there and take in the views of the Flinders range and the Outback. The silence is awesome. The Matthew Flinders viewpoint and background material are very interesting especially for Brits.
We must have visited the cafe on a bad day-South Australia time is all well and good but 30 minutes for two short blacks and a cake does tend to severely stretch customer patience.

Thank jimc352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AALBG, Guest Relations Manager at Australian Arid Lands Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

A knowledge of arid plants definitely deepens your appreciation of the botanic garden but for those with little to no knowledge, it is also a great place to begin learning about how wonderful and beautiful Australia's low rainfall plants are. And our apologies for your delay in receiving your coffee and cake - we do our absolute best to make sure our customers are served as quickly as possible but sometimes things get busier than we expect. We'd be more than happy to shout you a coffee next time you pop in for a meal or dessert. Thanks for taking the time to review our garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Australian Arid Lands Botanic Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 231 of 264 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Australian Arid Lands Botanic Gardens, Port Augusta. On the Woomera Road just 1 km on the right hand side of the road on the way out of the city. Very good attraction with guided tours at 10am and after good food at a realistic price at the cafe. Try an FMC, what a tasty hot-dog served with salad. Always happy to make me comfortable. Check out the plant shop. Best of all the staff are very friendly. I lived at Port Augusta for 6 months and went to Arid Lands 1 to 2 times a week and always with 2 other friends and since leaving PA I go there when I visit the city.

Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AALBG, Guest Relations Manager at Australian Arid Lands Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thanks Bruce. We love that you love the garden, the cafe and the visitor centre. After a few light rains this month, the garden is looking fantastic so hope you can plan a return visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Unfortunately it was too hot for us to do the walking tour although I would come back to do so. The bits that we saw were interesting and the staff were friendly and helpful. The guided walk is 12km but there are numerous smaller loops for the less inclined. Take water, hat and sunscreen.

3  Thank magdita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AALBG, Guest Relations Manager at Australian Arid Lands Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

A hat, sunscreen and water are required if you plan to go on any of the walking trails. If you've forgotten to bring them, the visitor centre stocks hats, water and sunscreen. We hope you are able to come back and do one of the guided tours with the Friends of the Garden as they are highly recommended.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Nice building, overpriced food for looking at a dry dead landscape. Some of the displays of art were over run by weeds. I am aware it is nature but there is plenty around so at least make it presentable. I did enjoy it as one of the only things to see or do around Port Augusta.

Thank Mick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AALBG, Guest Relations Manager at Australian Arid Lands Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

The Australian Arid Lands Botanic Garden is very different from most botanic gardens in that it features arid Australian plants that survive in yearly rainfall areas below 250mm. Many people enjoy the view from the cafe, across the eremophila garden across to the Flinders Ranges. On the southern side of the cafe and visitor centre, the courtyard area has just been remodelled and all new plants dotted throughout the landscape. We are now just on the end of a hot and very dry summer which gives the garden a very different look and feel to that experienced in Spring or after rain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

A fantastic experience tucked away in the arid regions of south Australia. The cafe was fantastic, shop had everything from clothing to Sturt 's Desert pea plants and was a place to educate all.

Thank emily79Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AALBG, Guest Relations Manager at Australian Arid Lands Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you. We are presently working on new signage and ways to further tell the story of our botanic garden and the plants from Australia's arid region. We plan to have this completed and in place later this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Australian Arid Lands Botanic Garden also viewed

Port Augusta, South Australia
Port Augusta, South Australia
 
Port Augusta, South Australia
Port Augusta, South Australia
 

Been to Australian Arid Lands Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing