We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Port Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest
Level Contributor
125 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is the best motel we have stayed in on extensive trips within Australia over the last decade.
It is 'over the bridge' from the main town centre. at the junction of the Eyre and Stuart Highways - an iconic location. Further pluses are the lay out of the complex and the presence of a 18 hole golf course.

We took a budget room at the end of a long days trip. It was surprisingly large and well equipped and possessing good quality furniture. It had an excellent bathroom. It had good small domestic equipment in the room including micro wave, large fridge (a must in the heat) and drinks facility. The aircon was quiet and excellent as well. It was very reasonable priced.

It had a rather good restaurant which specialized in Indian food - and although this is not to my personal liking there was alternative enough choice on the menu for us. The cooking was excellent and all in all better than many higher starred hotels. The restaurant is upmarket and priced accordingly.

We can't wait to return and perhaps spend a few days here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin_bishop1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    78
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
56
11
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Nice hotel on the outskirts of town, the original building dates from the 1800s and someone did a really good job restoring it.

The rooms themselves are clean and comfortable and staff were always very helpful and attentive. The pool is very clean and the shadesail over the top is a great idea for hot days. We spent a few hours on a 40 degree afternoon sitting on the deck chairs in the shade.

One star off for the internet policy though - I know it's not an urban area but only one hour of free wifi a day got pretty annoying!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SashaN1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sale vic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

ime 61 been all over australia i stayed at the standpipe one year ago i can say its the best acomadation ive ever had clean modern good furniture flat screen tv quality bedding good air con nice quite spot not far to town

Room Tip: you cant go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john26574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Do not expect city luxury at this in on the edge of the outback. However quirky, this hotel offers several really compelling reasons to stay.

First, the attached restaurant serves some of the best Indian food I have ever eaten. This alone is worth staying for at the hotel.

Second, rooms are very spacious and clean.-Money is great.

Third, the location of this hotel is very good, and the proximity to the golf course offers residents good access for an early morning run or a round of golf.

This hotel is less snazzy then the majestic oasis, but feels more like a hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PCS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Motel room was pretty good, nice beds, clean modern bathroom, TV, fridge, coffee, etc. Has free parking and pool.

Would give this motel a higher rating if it weren't for the ants. The entire motel is covered with tiny ants that give off quite a bite! Walking from the car to the room covered my leg in about 15 - 20 ants, all of which were painfully biting away at me. The ants are everywhere! The pool, the reception, the outdoor BBQ area. I was scared to leave the room. It's a shame, as everything else was quite good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navin333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The great thing about staying here is that you can feel tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Port Augusta town; as it can feel a little unsafe at night. However that's not the best part of staying here, terrific Indian food in the historic building/dining room, lovely views from certain rooms and if you choose a deluxe suite, you'll be very impressed with golf course views and very modern furnishings!
Service is good, but not outstanding, definitely the rooms and location that make this the best choice for a stay in Port Augusta.

Room Tip: If you're wanting the best views, choose the left deluxe building (full renovated) and upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brettdscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynella South Australia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

After a long, hot rough drive down the Oondatata track we went out of our way to go to the Standpipe for the night. Having been there before we knew the facilities are excellent. On arrival, looking dishevelled and tired, we were given a friendly welcome and immediately directed to our room with the promise that our dinner booking would be taken care of. As I said the facilities are excellent in the rooms, even ice in the freezer for that well earned drink.

Room Tip: Downstairs in the most southerly block
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank investigator2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Augusta hotels
0.9 mi away
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Majestic Oasis Apartments
#2 of 10 in Port Augusta
597 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
#6 of 10 in Port Augusta
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Ecomotel
Crossroads Ecomotel
#1 of 10 in Port Augusta
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Port Augusta
308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Augusta Courtyard Motel
Augusta Courtyard Motel
#1 of 5 in Port Augusta
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Discovery Parks – Port Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Standpipe Golf Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Standpipe Golf Motor Inn

Property: Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
Address: Corner Eyre & Stuart Highways, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Augusta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Port Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Standpipe Golf Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation surrounded by landscaped gardens, an eighteen - hole golf course, grand dining homestead with an emphasis on fine food and wine complemented by discerning personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Standpipe Golf Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Augusta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing