We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven at the end of a long rough road”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Port Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2013

After a long, hot rough drive down the Oondatata track we went out of our way to go to the Standpipe for the night. Having been there before we knew the facilities are excellent. On arrival, looking dishevelled and tired, we were given a friendly welcome and immediately directed to our room with the promise that our dinner booking would be taken care of. As I said the facilities are excellent in the rooms, even ice in the freezer for that well earned drink.

Room Tip: Downstairs in the most southerly block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank investigator2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 178 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

The room was spacious and looked brand new and modern. And we loved the big beautiful dark green bath towels. We had originally booked a standard room but when we arrived our reservation could not be found. We were offered a standard room but decided to upgrade to a superior room ($135) and it was well worth it. The food in the restaurant was terrific (separate review).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed again at the Standpipe on my quarterly travels, comfy, clean, good size executive room, ate in the restaurant which has a great variety of food on offer, try the Indian dishes they are certainly the best in town! Staff always welcoming here, and I would recommend to any traveller.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed a weekend here for a conference. Facilities and staff were fantastic, very helpful and friendly. I had a delux queen double room and it was very quiet and comfortable.

The meals during the conference were excellent and plenty of food to go round. Breakfasts were brilliant too. I'd thouroughly recommend the Standpipe for conference facilities or just for a weekend away.

Room Tip: Deluc x rooms overlooking the golf course are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Standpipe motor inn one night on our way to Perth. Staff were friendly and efficient. Rooms were spacious with good amenities. Would happily stay again if we're ever driving through Port Augusta.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarai26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I often stay here overnight to break the journey when going to and from Adelaide from the west coast. Budget rooms are $100 a night. Rooms are dated but clean and comfortable. The main draw card for us is the fantastic Indian restaurant located at the motel. Lovely to enjoy a great meal over a bottle of wine then stroll back to the room. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opal2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I and our 2 year old stayed after a trip across the Nullarbor from WA. This was the first Motel we came across and we were happy to pull in and give it a try.
Excellent value for money - $150 for a deluxe room (compared to WA prices at least) - the room was newly decorated, very comfortable and clean. Only downside would be that the ensure was a little dated, but still very clean. Room service from the on site Indian restaurant was available, and the food was fantastic. Authentic and reasonably priced when considered the quality.
Overall a brilliant, much needed stay and rest. Would greatly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Augusta hotels
0.9 mi away
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Majestic Oasis Apartments
#2 of 10 in Port Augusta
698 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
#5 of 10 in Port Augusta
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Ecomotel
Crossroads Ecomotel
#1 of 10 in Port Augusta
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Port Augusta
323 reviews
2.0 mi away
Motel Pampas
Motel Pampas
#6 of 10 in Port Augusta
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Augusta Courtyard Motel
Augusta Courtyard Motel
#1 of 5 in Port Augusta
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Standpipe Golf Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Standpipe Golf Motor Inn

Address: Corner Eyre & Stuart Highways, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Augusta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Port Augusta
Price Range: $97 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Standpipe Golf Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation surrounded by landscaped gardens, an eighteen - hole golf course, grand dining homestead with an emphasis on fine food and wine complemented by discerning personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Standpipe Golf Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Augusta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing