We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard room?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Standpipe Golf Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Port Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Standard room?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at the Standpipe Golf Motor Inn for one night. We had booked a standard room for $128 but discovered that it was completely unacceptable. (See the attached pictures.) The room was dirty, the carpet was stained, and the bathroom was terrible. We were given the key to a second room but discovered that it was already occupied. The third and final key was for one of the renovated rooms. These rooms rent for an additional $20 but are much better. In my opinion, the standard rooms shouldn't be rented until they have been updated.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marigoldlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    75
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
56
11
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stay here occasionally when traveling between Darwin and Victoria - it isnt my first choice - that is the Majestic Oasis but it was booked the night i wanted to stay. The standpipe is usually a cheaper option although the Majestic is newer. I was in the budget accommodation which must just mean it hasnt had a refurb but you can't complain about the room. It's a fairly big complex, you can park directly outside your room and the room I had as well as a comfy bed (plus single) had a couch, the usual tea/coffee but also a microwave - so if you want to prepare your own meals you can. The decor is dated but if you're not fussed about that - it's clean and big rooms, flat screen tele, good shower although the loo is poked into a corner next the basin so if you're a bit bigger it might be a bit of a squeeze but you wouldn't NOT stay there because of that.
I didn't eat at the motel so cannot comment on meals

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

Very clean and modern, air con is fabulous after traverling in 45 degree heat from ayres rock all day in the car. The meals are the best at the dinning room. very country but you wont go hungry and they are well above standard of most motels with out the price.

Room Tip: This is the sort of place you would use as an oasis after a long day on the road. Nothing to do but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

I have stayed here many times. There are standard rooms and better quality rooms. Both have previously been good. On this occasion I found my standard room to be dirty and with torn stained carpet in the doorway. The chair provided was also stained. Not at all good value for money. The standard has dropped considerably of late.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaycar98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed here for one night on my way through and I would never stay there again, the room was old and definitely needs an upgrade, the food is way overpriced too.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

During our 10 day tour of South Australia - we stayed at the Standpipe Motel for 1 night. Our guide recommended the Indian food, and we were not disappointed.

Excellent cuisine, although the beers are expensive (£7 per pint) The rooms were big, and had the usual motel facilities including toaster, tea & coffee, can't remember if there was a microwave. Bed was comfortable and very clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hargrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

I recently travelled to Port Augusta for the 1st time for business.
ON checking in I immediately contacted the front desk to see about upgrading (at my expense) to a bigger room. Despite staying in an executive room, it was tiny. A very neat, recently refurbished room nonetheless.
The room reeked of bleach when I checked in, i had no concerns the room weas clean at least!
I didn't eat in the restaurant nor drink at the bar. If ordering room service, get the Indian cuisine. Great food.
No room soundproofing. Laughed myself to sleep on the 2nd night listening to the guy in the next room snore.
Undecided if I will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tapp0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Augusta hotels
0.9 mi away
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Majestic Oasis Apartments
#2 of 10 in Port Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
#6 of 10 in Port Augusta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Ecomotel
Crossroads Ecomotel
#1 of 10 in Port Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Port Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.0 mi away
Motel Pampas
Motel Pampas
#5 of 10 in Port Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
3.5 mi away
Highway One Motel
Highway One Motel
#9 of 10 in Port Augusta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Standpipe Golf Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Standpipe Golf Motor Inn

Property: Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
Address: Corner Eyre & Stuart Highways, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Augusta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Port Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Standpipe Golf Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation surrounded by landscaped gardens, an eighteen - hole golf course, grand dining homestead with an emphasis on fine food and wine complemented by discerning personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Standpipe Golf Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Augusta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing