We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Upgrade, meals are a joke and beers $8.50 for superdry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Port Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed here for one night on my way through and I would never stay there again, the room was old and definitely needs an upgrade, the food is way overpriced too.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 188 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

During our 10 day tour of South Australia - we stayed at the Standpipe Motel for 1 night. Our guide recommended the Indian food, and we were not disappointed.

Excellent cuisine, although the beers are expensive (£7 per pint) The rooms were big, and had the usual motel facilities including toaster, tea & coffee, can't remember if there was a microwave. Bed was comfortable and very clean.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hargrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I recently travelled to Port Augusta for the 1st time for business.
ON checking in I immediately contacted the front desk to see about upgrading (at my expense) to a bigger room. Despite staying in an executive room, it was tiny. A very neat, recently refurbished room nonetheless.
The room reeked of bleach when I checked in, i had no concerns the room weas clean at least!
I didn't eat in the restaurant nor drink at the bar. If ordering room service, get the Indian cuisine. Great food.
No room soundproofing. Laughed myself to sleep on the 2nd night listening to the guy in the next room snore.
Undecided if I will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tapp0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The room was clean and the bathroom had recently had an update with its sink and tolet suite. The bed was comfortable and the room had a new LCD flat screen TV mounted on the wall facing the bed.

Not all the rooms are of the same standard but generally speaking I have stayed in quite a few and they have always been acceptable.

The best part about this hotel is the Indian restaurant which is by far the best in the region.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

Great food in restaurant-best place for kids they actually got crayons and colour in pages to keep with a kids meal which is a fisrt in our extensive travels. Menu was great.
Room was clean next to the golf course.
We used it as a stop over on a long driving trip.
I

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

We stayed at the Motel for one night after a drive from Adelaide and before we ventured into the Flinders Ranges. Had read other reviews so knew, pretty much, what to expect.

The rooms are usual Aussie motel rooms. Very clean and roomy but with older fittings. All worked perfectly though and were reasonably priced.

The restaurant was a bit like a school dining hall. Lacked atmosphere. The food, though, was excellent and keenly priced. We had curry and a lovely bottle of wine.

Buffet breakfast was a little disappointing, but the bacon and eggs arrived quickly and was really good. Don't bother with the coffee bags - order fresh stuff.

All-in-all a good stay and will stay again if we are up this way.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t_boneAlton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

The Standpipe is an Excellent place to stay they are on the edge of town but not in a dodgy area they are not in the local CBD area where there can be alot of crime and most of the other palces I looked at required large security gates and fences where the Standpipe did not need this and I still felt safe, they have a wonderful golf course and swmming pool their meals are agnificent!

Deff! recommend this place!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Augusta hotels
0.9 mi away
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Majestic Oasis Apartments
#2 of 10 in Port Augusta
789 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
#5 of 10 in Port Augusta
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Port Augusta
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Ecomotel
Crossroads Ecomotel
#1 of 10 in Port Augusta
200 reviews
2 mi away
Motel Pampas
Motel Pampas
#7 of 10 in Port Augusta
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Poinsettia Motel
Poinsettia Motel
#6 of 10 in Port Augusta
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Standpipe Golf Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Standpipe Golf Motor Inn

Address: Corner Eyre & Stuart Highways, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Augusta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Port Augusta
Price Range: $101 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Standpipe Golf Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation surrounded by landscaped gardens, an eighteen - hole golf course, grand dining homestead with an emphasis on fine food and wine complemented by discerning personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Standpipe Golf Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Augusta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing