We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfectly acceptable, but unexceptional, Comfort Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Port Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

As a member of the Choice Privileges frequent guest program, it was a no-brainer to book this property on a free award night when I needed overnight accommodations in Port Augusta (the last bastion of civilization before reaching the outback). The motel is very typical of older Comfort Inns in Australia; no frills, but completely acceptable. Rooms and facilities are dated, but functional. The location is good if you have a car and, as others have noted, there are several nearby businesses useful to travelers. Motel staff were friendly and provided us with all the information we needed (like where to find the Woolies and Coles supermarkets to stock up on supplies).

Unless you get a deal, I'm not sure why you'd prefer this motel to its competitors, but it's perfectly fine for over-night, no frills lodging. I just wish that Comfort Inns in Australia provided free internet like they do in the USA, but that's a common problem at most Australian motels.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Comfort Inn Augusta Westside, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

G'day,
Thank you for reviewing our property, all feedback is appreciated.
We are only just getting around to using Trip Advisor to reply to reviews. One thing that it has told us is that we have not done enough to let guests now about the luxury Eco Suite's that are available to guests as part of our complex. These are Port Augusta's newest rooms & at not much more than a normal room represent above average value.
As you have pointed out correctly we were getting a bit dated on the original motel side, but have also built Port Augusta's newest luxury accommodation on the Eco Suite side of the property. Essentially giving guests a choice of options. Having said that are currently going through a refurbishment that will bring up the original motel units to nearly as good as the luxury Eco Suites.
We are proud of our staff as they keep getting acknowledged for their friendliness & knowledge. Australia is slowly providing free internet like America. The new Eco Suites do have free WiFi & we are arranging that for the original units as well.
The Eco Suites are currently on special on line.
Once again thank you for reviewing our property.
Safe Travels
Aaron (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 97 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We pre-booked a family suite online as part of a Melbourne to Perth drive. When it became apparent we would be late we rang the hotel from Adelaide to let them know. The hotel typically has someone on the front desk until 9pm. We called back at 8:45pm to let them know we would be there at about 9:10pm. They said they would wait for us.

The hotel was relatively easy to find and was well signed from adjacent streets. It is located towards the harbour end of Loudon Road which is a quiet cul-de-sac. Over the road is a bottle shop (alcohol & other beverages) with other shops (including a supermarket) approximately 150m away. Guests can essentially obtain all they need at their doorstep.

Check-in was very quick but in part helped by the late hour of our arrival. Our room was a family suite (not necessarily the correct name) and contained a queen and two singles (my brother and I were travelling with our father). First impressions of the room was that it was basic but clean and looked comfortable.

The beds were sufficiently comfortable though as seems to be the norm these days (much to my dislike) the pillows were somewhat on the high and firm side. Whilst it was cold outside during our stay the room temperature was adequate without excessive use of artificial means.

The faults of the room became apparent come morning time. The major fault was the water pressure in the shower. After a few seconds of normal showering the water became a trickle and one needed to channel their inner Cirque de Soleil performer, bend like a pretzel and then mould themselves to the wall in order to wash off soap. I was advised later by reception that it was due to everybody leaving (and showering) at the same time of the morning but that pressure had returned to normal. Personally I don't believe this is acceptable for accommodation. They should have sufficient infrastructure in place to meet the surge in demand during peak hour. It put a dampener on what had otherwise been a pleasant stay. The other minor fault was a kettle that would not boil on the second attempt.

Overall the Comfort Inn was a good choice with plenty of nearby facilities to accommodate most all of your needs. Staff were pleasant and accommodating of our needs. The experience was spoilt by a lack of water pressure at a time when many people are likely to be heading off. If choosing to stay here then take this last bit of information into consideration.

For those keen to get out and look around Port Augusta, there is a gravel walk trail that runs along the western bank of the inlet which is accessed from the southern end of Loudon Road. I didn't venture too far along this section as I was keen to cross the inlet to the main side of town. Just north of Loudon Street is the main highway (bridge) crossing of the river. It has a footpath on the southern side but one can cross to the other side of the highway and take a pedestrian bridge just north of the traffic bridge. The path continues around to the southeast for some distance.

The eastern side of the inlet appears to contain the majority of the retail / commercial precinct and is perhaps a 1km walk from the hotel. It was here that we went for a cooked breakfast upon departure. There did not appear to be a great choice of open outlets at 8:30am, which was somewhat surprising.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelv976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Comfort Inn Augusta Westside, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

G'Day,
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay.
As we live on the premises I think I can remember the morning & it hasn't before or since, we checked all our services but couldn't find a fault. Mean while the pressure returned leading me to believe it was on the SA Water delivery side & unfortunately beyond our control. From time to time a shower head may get blocked, providing a restricted stream, to which we duly replace. As with any fault always contact reception at the time (which you probly did) to allow the property to attend to it at the time.
Once again thank you for taking time to provide feedback.
Safe Travels
Aaron (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a one night stop over here, the reception was efficient and friendly , the rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. Avoid the breakfast which was over priced and not very nice.Conveniently located with supermarket and hotels close by.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacsbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Comfort Inn Augusta Westside, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

G'Day,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Great to see the reception highlighting again. Great to hear the rooms are clean & comfortable. Plus we are going through a refurbishment. For those wanting the best accommodation our luxury Eco Suites will certainly impress. Sorry to here about the brekky. Not for that that reason but I have personally taken on the breakfasts as my pet passion if your on Facebook have a look at our page 'Comfort Inn & Suites Augusta Westside' you will see some of the fantastic meals going out.
thank you for the feed back it all helps.
Safe Travels
Aaron (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival the reception staff ensured a quick check in. I was pleasantly surprised with the size of the room, there's a large sitting area and the room came with a microwave and kettle/toaster as well as a usable sized fridge which is a handy addition. Austar channels are few but a nice addition for the price. Bathroom a little dated but satisfactory. Location is right near the water, with a 15-20 minute walk across the bridge to the city centre. A good choice in Port Augusta.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davo2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Comfort Inn Augusta Westside, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

G'Day,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Great feedback for the staff again! Renovations of the rooms are going ahead & the new bathrooms are going to be stunning.
Once again thank you.
Safe Travels
Aaron (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed at this motel for two nights on a visit to Port Augusta. The location is excellent. A supermarket, bakery, newsagent and really good hotel for meals just a short walk. The rooms are large and well furnished. A lounge with table and chairs was provided with a modern TV amenities. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioner was not loud. The rooms are on the expensive side though. There is no under cover parking.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Comfort Inn Augusta Westside, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

G'day,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Great to see you enjoyed your stay.
Safe Travels
Aaron (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

After a 3 day drive across the nullarbor this motel was an oasis.Aaron was welcoming,the room was very well presented,clean and with good facilities.The room was very quiet,good value and I would definitely stay again.It would be hard to find a better place to stay,period.Aaron and Christine have been in the industry for years and know how to treat their guests well.
Mike Pearce

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilltop4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Comfort Inn Augusta Westside, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

G'Day Mike,
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel & glad you enjoyed it.
its something we like doing & that probly flows through.
Thanks again & look forward to seeing you in the future.
Safe Travels
Aaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Unfortunately, we were unable to stay at this motel as we travel with a small dog and they do not allow pets in their rooms, but Christine went out of her way to call other establishments trying to find us another place to stay for the night, one staff member even offered for us to pitch our tent in her back yard. After several calls, Christine found a B&B that would allow us to stay in their accommodation. After the very poor customer service we received at 'shoreline caravan park' Christine was a welcome sight with a top notch attitude and great customer service. I can not comment on the facilities as we did not stay there, but based on our interaction with the owner, can only assume that this level of service will extend far beyond the reception desk.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Levonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Comfort Inn Augusta Westside, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

G'Day,
Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback.
Firstly we are just getting used to be able to comment on feedback.
We pride ourselves on being friendly & Christine leads from the front. From all the other reviews it confirms its on all levels at our motel. Not sure what else I can say!
Safe Travels
Aaron (Personal assistant & husband of Christine)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Augusta hotels
0.4 mi away
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Majestic Oasis Apartments
#2 of 10 in Port Augusta
675 reviews
0.6 mi away
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
#4 of 10 in Port Augusta
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Ecomotel
Crossroads Ecomotel
#1 of 10 in Port Augusta
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Port Augusta
321 reviews
1.5 mi away
Motel Pampas
Motel Pampas
#6 of 10 in Port Augusta
62 reviews
2.1 mi away
Highway One Motel
Highway One Motel
#9 of 10 in Port Augusta
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Augusta Westside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Augusta Westside

Address: 3 Loudon Rd, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Augusta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Port Augusta
Price Range: $90 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Augusta Westside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Augusta Westside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing