We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Wadlata Outback Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Weekdays 9am-5pm, Weekends & Public holidays 10am-4pm It is free to enter the Wadlata Outback Centre, a major tourism attraction and accredited Visitor Information Centre for Port Augusta, the Flinders Ranges & Outback. A tour through Wadlata's Award winning Interpretive Display,the "Tunnel of Time", is a must see and do (fees apply). You could walk through the Time tunnel in 10 minutes or spend up to 5 hours exploring to find out where the dinosaurs first roamed this land. Be introduced to the people who first owned, explored and settled the region along with those who live there today. The Centre"s cafe, the Outback Tuckerbox has a great selection of meals,cakes and coffee. Staff at the accredited Visitor Information Centre can assist with accommodation, tours and can supply all the information you need for your stay in our Region and for your trip ahead. The gift shop has a great range of Australian Made gifts, a range of native bush foods, maps, books and general souvenirs suitable for all age groups.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Very educational. Good range of interactive activities and information about the area and outback. Well set out contains past and present information. Well done WADLATA

Thank cazzabowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadlata, Manager at Wadlata Outback Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Ohhh thats great...thankyou for taking the time to comment and we are always happy our visitors enjoy this major regional attraction, which is owned and operated by the Port Augusta Council. We do not have any volunteers and operate with all paid staff but we have tried hard to ensure the Tunnel of Time experience is affordable for all to enjoy and that everyone has an opportunity to learn about our back yard. You will find we have so much to offer with many different experiences and Wadlata's Tunnel of Time will entice you to keep coming back. Once again thankyou for visiting and posting your comments. Much appreciated.. regards Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 178 of 193 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

The museum is really special, the stories and artifacts from the harsh and colourful past of Outback South Australia have been put together so well. I was glad that we had put aside half a day, to give us time to move through the displays, both static and interactive from prehistoric days, through the Aboriginal dreamtime to when Europeons arrived and tried to tame this inhospitable land, where the temperatures regularly reach into the 40+ oC in the summer. I became completely immersed in the stories of the explorers, those who tried to settle and farm and the characters such as Tom Kruse who made sure the mail always got through to Birdsville regardless of the weather conditions prevailing at the time. These stories came alive through the videos and displays such as huge wool bales, mailbag and old photos and equipment. I loved trying out the pedal radio for the School of the Air and then arriving at the present time and driving a mining truck with a simulator. The geology of the area was also well explained. There was so much to take in that my suggestion is to break up the visit with a stop at the cafe for a snack or lunch then continue as there is so much to take in. Children and adults alike are well catered for in this unique and exciting museum!

1  Thank grevillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryPortAugusta, Manager at Wadlata Outback Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

I think I will have to get you to do our Marketing.....your comments are exactly what Wadlata is all about.......the building looks so small from the outside by it is really like Dr Who's Tardas...the "Tunnel of Time" just keeps going and there is so much to experience and learn about this wonderful part of Australia. If you allow enough time the self guided interpretive centre will provide you with the most important knowledge you need to really enhance your visit to the Flinders Ranges & Outback of SA. We also offer a free Pass Out that will allow you to return at another time and not on the same day. You can break your journey through Time. You are certainly encouraged to keep coming back as there is always something that you would have missed. Thank you so much for your excellent comments and making the time to visit our wonderful centre. Kind regards...Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Took me back to my childhood and early working years with the old telephone exchange. Very thorough information throughout. Everything in info centre etc. was well set out and easy to see/explore. Staff helpful. Cafe reasonable and yummy.

Thank travellerdianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryPortAugusta, Manager at Wadlata Outback Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to visit the Wadlata Outback Centre and also for posting your comments. Yes Wadlata is really a tribute to all of those people who helped develop the Outback, including the Flinders Ranges, into such an exiting place to visit. Wadlata really is that starting off point for your visit and stay awhile....It is important to visit our past as we beleive this helps us move forward and appreciate what we have in our own back yard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Good to see a focus on our desert -Beautiful all year around

Thank Vronno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryPortAugusta, Manager at Wadlata Outback Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Its great you felt strongly enough to leave a comment about our Tunnel of Time at the Wadlata OutbackCentre and the role it plays in introducing visitors to what the can see and do in the Outback and it certainly gives people a better understanding of its evolution. Yes I agree our Outback is just beautiful in all seasons and in all weather conditions. It is just not desert as many people think, but the colours and variances in the land formations and not to forget the people who live there just keep you intrigued. Once again thankyou for visiting and leaving your comments. Hope to see you back again... Regards Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

this was an interesting place to see. would recommend it if travelling through

Thank jan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryPortAugusta, Manager at Wadlata Outback Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to pass on your valued views about your experience of the Wadlata Outback Centre and its "Tunnel of Time". It is great to hear you found our Flinders Ranges and Outback attraction interesting and well worth a visit....hope to see you re-visit again one day as many visitors find they find something they had missed. Kind regards..Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wadlata Outback Centre also viewed

Port Augusta, South Australia
 
Port Augusta, South Australia
 

Been to Wadlata Outback Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing