We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique”

Wadlata Outback Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Weekdays 9am-5pm, Weekends & Public holidays 10am-4pm It is free to enter the Wadlata Outback Centre, a major tourism attraction and accredited Visitor Information Centre for Port Augusta, the Flinders Ranges & Outback. A tour through Wadlata's Award winning Interpretive Display,the "Tunnel of Time", is a must see and do (fees apply). You could walk through the Time tunnel in 10 minutes or spend up to 5 hours exploring to find out where the dinosaurs first roamed this land. Be introduced to the people who first owned, explored and settled the region along with those who live there today. The Centre"s cafe, the Outback Tuckerbox has a great selection of meals,cakes and coffee. Staff at the accredited Visitor Information Centre can assist with accommodation, tours and can supply all the information you need for your stay in our Region and for your trip ahead. The gift shop has a great range of Australian Made gifts, a range of native bush foods, maps, books and general souvenirs suitable for all age groups.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Good to see a focus on our desert -Beautiful all year around

Thank Vronno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryPortAugusta, Manager at Wadlata Outback Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Its great you felt strongly enough to leave a comment about our Tunnel of Time at the Wadlata OutbackCentre and the role it plays in introducing visitors to what the can see and do in the Outback and it certainly gives people a better understanding of its evolution. Yes I agree our Outback is just beautiful in all seasons and in all weather conditions. It is just not desert as many people think, but the colours and variances in the land formations and not to forget the people who live there just keep you intrigued. Once again thankyou for visiting and leaving your comments. Hope to see you back again... Regards Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Wadlata Outback Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 174 of 185 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

this was an interesting place to see. would recommend it if travelling through

Thank jan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryPortAugusta, Manager at Wadlata Outback Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to pass on your valued views about your experience of the Wadlata Outback Centre and its "Tunnel of Time". It is great to hear you found our Flinders Ranges and Outback attraction interesting and well worth a visit....hope to see you re-visit again one day as many visitors find they find something they had missed. Kind regards..Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Fabulous centre and well worth a visit. From the Aboriginal people and their stories, to the arrival of the white settlers to present day, the interactive and static displays are amazing ... we actually were unable to fit it all in on our first visit and were given a pass out to come back the next day which we really appreciated.
It certainly lived up to what was promised ... an outback experience ... and in addition the staff in the reception area were extremely helpful and friendly, giving us advice for the next leg of our trip up to Uluru and Alice.

1  Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryPortAugusta, Manager at Wadlata Outback Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

I am really happy you enjoyed your visit to the Wadlata Outback Centre and especially our Flinders Ranges & Outbacks "Tunnel of Time" and I will make sure our Tourism Officers know they helped you for your next leg of your journey. We genuinely like to make our visitors happy so thank you for letting us know. We believe the Tunnel of Time is the starting off point for your journey into the Flinders Ranges or the Outback of SA or it seems to put everything into perspective if you have just been there. Dont forget you can use the Pass Out on your return trip, even in 6 months time...as we like to give you every opportunity to really experience every part of our Region even though it is under one roof.
Kind regards....Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Beautiful Centre will everything you should need while travelling. They have excellent customer service and plenty of visitor information as well as some great souvenirs and maps and things to keep the little ones entertained! The interpretive display is amazing! The price ($15 for adults) may scare some people but is worth paying! You could spend the entire day in there, learning about Aboriginal and early settlement/exploration history and so much more. Finish the afternoon off with a nice afternoon tea from their cafe which has some beautiful local 'bush food'. Will be back for sure!

Thank TabbyTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This was an amazing discovery centre. It was interesting with lots of interactive displays to keep you enthused. Also there was lots of information about a whole range of things from aboriginal heritage, the first settlers in the area, the building of the ghahn railway through to modern day information e.g. olympic dam mining. We spent nearly 3 hours here. Definitely worth a visit if you are nearby.

Thank perrymp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wadlata Outback Centre also viewed

Port Augusta, South Australia
 
Port Augusta, South Australia
 

Been to Wadlata Outback Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing