We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Highway One Motel

Highway One Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highway One Motel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Port Augusta
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed at Highway One on our way back from a very rushed and emotional road trip from Perth to Melbourne
Reception staff are very helpful answering all questions we had
Accommodation was good be sure to get a room off the highway at the back a little bit more re price but much less noise
Food was great and again staff very pleasant and helpful
Great location when heading east as you are nearly out of Port Augusta right on the Eyre Highway
Would recommend highly

Room Tip: Get rooms set back off the Highway to eliminate road noise coming off the Eyre Highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
802paullk, Owner at Highway One Motel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give your review on our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
13
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Had stayed here in 06 and today I was just as impressed. Travelling from NSW, tired AMD wanting a rest it was a quiet room and a comfy bed. Staff were helpful and reception open till 9:30pm was convenient. Will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
802paullk, Owner at Highway One Motel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
We are glad you had a good rest with us Kristy. Thanks for taking the time to post your review about our motel. Travel safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumby Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

A convenient stop over on the way to Adelaide. Staff were pleasant, room was clean and restaurant food was good. This is not a 5 star motel but it is comfortable and priced accordingly. It is an excellent place to stop overnight.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
802paullk, Owner at Highway One Motel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our motel. We are glad you were happy with your stay. Hope to see you on the return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Driving a rental truck full,of our household items from Perth WA to Victoria.
Pulled off highway after a long day driving on Nullarbor Plain . A nice greeting at reception. Manager offered for us to put truck at rear of building. We were relieved that there was a dining room and we could eat on site. However I have never sent food back. Ordered rib eye fillet steak as was starving. It came out not looking like a fillet, first look, overlooked, then the taste ! Discusting ! It was either beyond use by date, was over cooked in microwave then fried or cooked on a very dirty pan. "His" meal, a chicken stir fry came with rice plus fries all floating in juice.
The menu was full A la Carte - suggest number of dishes minimized and menu amended to fewer dishes and a bit of quality added.
For a truck stop - Room ok, pool ok, waitstaff ok

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osprey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paull K, Owner at Highway One Motel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Sorry to hear you had a bad experience. We have never had a problem with the Eye Fillets before to our knowledge. It couldn't be anything to do with the age of the meat from our behalf as we get deliveries daily as required from our local butcher. I have spoken to our butcher in regards to this and he was also surprised. We will do our best for that not to happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I recently stayed at this motel while at Port Augusta working. the staff on check in (Two guys) were friendly and helpful. the room was clean and tidy. The only down side was after working in the 43 degree sun all day the cold water in the shower was still about 38. This is due to the above ground water pipe into the town. I had a meal in the restaurant that was fantastic with very friendly waitress. excellent value for money in a standard room.

Room Tip: near the main road so a bit of traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paull K, Owner at Highway One Motel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thanks for giving us your review. We totally understand about the cold water not being cold during extreme hot weather. We wish this could be changed but unfortunately it is out of our control. We have some other Standard Rooms further to the back of the property which would be a bit quieter next time you visit. There is also our Deluxe Rooms which are double brick buildings, you won't hear any traffic noise in these. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

If you're going to shell out for a motel room, you may as well spend a little more and get something nicer than this. The room (one of the front ones) looked every bit its fifty-something years and the bed was very saggy.
It's not all that close to town either and (as the name suggests) it's right on the highway, with nothing in between to dull the noise.
On the upside, it was clean.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Vaughan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paull K, Owner at Highway One Motel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thanks for your review. Yes the Front Rooms are subject to traffic noise and we do advise people of this when giving them room options. That is why we offer them at a cheaper rate. I hope you choose to stay with us again in future as I would suggest our Standard Room or Deluxe Room for a quiet stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Augusta hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Good location but it is spoilt by having very old and noisy air conditioning units. The air conditioning is not even working well. Beds may need better mattresses. Otherwise rooms are clean and big enough for a or a short stay. I did not have a good sleep!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duststorm200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paull K, Owner at Highway One Motel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We have rooms with split system air conditioners as well which are obviously quieter than the window type air conditioner. If you are travelling through again just advise us you didn't like that air conditioning so we can give you an appropriate room. We will certainly look at the bedding to identify any issues with mattresses as we want our guest to have a good stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Augusta hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
#6 of 10 in Port Augusta
87 reviews
1.8 mi away
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Majestic Oasis Apartments
#2 of 10 in Port Augusta
598 reviews
2.7 mi away
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
#4 of 10 in Port Augusta
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Port Augusta
308 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crossroads Ecomotel
Crossroads Ecomotel
#1 of 10 in Port Augusta
159 reviews
2.2 mi away
Poinsettia Motel
Poinsettia Motel
#7 of 10 in Port Augusta
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highway One Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highway One Motel

Property: Highway One Motel
Address: National Highway One, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Augusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Port Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highway One Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Highway One Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing