We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getting a bit worn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Discovery Parks – Port Augusta
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Getting a bit worn”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Several cabin options are available and we chose the ensuite cabin. It was in good working order and clean but the bed was in the main room rather than in a separate room. Also being a small cabin meant there was no lounge which makes sitting not as comfortable.

The cabin was getting a bit old and was showing the wear. Nevertheless we stayed there twice on this trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    104
    26
    14
    11
See reviews for
58
99
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We spent a night at the Port Augusta Big 4 a few weeks ago, wasn't too bad. It was sticky and hot and so instead of just a powered site we opted for a ensuite site. It wasn't so bad reasonably clean, plus a bath mat provided which was good. But when we went to go for a swim, the "manager" was walking past the pool. At this time there were approximately 5-8 people all heading to do the same thing (swim - it was bloody hot!) we were initially told no you cant swim due to oh&s. Then we were told it was due to the pool unable to be cleaned. Then we we're told it was a health risk. All were bad answers and this was all from the mouth of the "manager": Quite disgusting as we would have booked somewhere else if we knew that it was a little windy and they couldn't be bothered to clean the leaves, or was it really something more sinister? who knows but not my cuppa tea. All in all that was lousy. Otherwise we can really complain. The check-in was awfully slow.. I got a trainee which initially I was ok about, until she kept playing the uhhhh I don't know im just leaning crap. It got old pretty quickly. I understand you have to learn, but there are certain things that are common sense with life. Come on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hudol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We usually stay at the Shoreline Park but never again after staying here, a very nice clean, tidy park. A bit close to highway but if you are tired, you will sleep anywhere. Lady on reception could smile and be a bit more receptive to customers. Not a cheap park but worth it. Will definitely stay here again,

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MaddieDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

They obviously know that most of their guests will be just passing through Port Augusta. The sites are long enough to drive through and stay hitched. They are very narrow and vehicles need to drive in "top and tail" so you and your neighbour can both use an awning if you want to! We found it convenient and clean, although we were very glad to have arrived early as there was a very long queue to check in during the afternoon so I guess there were some guests not happy with the service. For us it was just fine.
An easy walk into town via the old bridge which is now pedestrian access.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Can't believe how bad this park was in so many ways from the frosty reception of Leisa who had zero customer service skills, $60 for an ensuite powered site with what has got to be the smallest shower cubicle in a CP.
Biggest gripe after travelling 800km was no welcome, having to wait 20 mins with one person serving when there was obviously someone out in the back office counting money. Wake up people we deserve better with the ridiculous price you charge.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nicofromsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timboon, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Good drive through sites though somewhat narrow. Excellent amenities - clean and near new. Good dump point. Friendly staff. Nice pool area and playground being renovated. The roads are asphalt and wide enough to allow you to swing the longest van.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

After travelling for ten weeks we were on our way home to Victoria when we stayed a night at the Port Augusta Big 4 Caravan Par. We weren't that well after catching a virus in central Australia and booked an ensuite site to make it a bit more comfortable. The park was clean and facilities good but it was the most expensive park we had stayed during our trip. Big 4 parks are generally more expensive even with a members discount. Over the back of the park is a dentention centre, hence the barb wire on top of the stell fence. They have a dog in the dentention centre that started barking at 3am and kept going. Not in their control but disturbed our sleep and I am sure other guests sleep too. I did mention it when I handed the key to reception, evidently they aren't able to do anything about this problem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013wardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Augusta hotels
0.8 mi away
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Majestic Oasis Apartments
#2 of 10 in Port Augusta
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
#6 of 10 in Port Augusta
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
#4 of 10 in Port Augusta
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Port Augusta
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crossroads Ecomotel
Crossroads Ecomotel
#1 of 10 in Port Augusta
150 reviews
1.9 mi away
Motel Pampas
Motel Pampas
#5 of 10 in Port Augusta
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks – Port Augusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks – Port Augusta

Property: Discovery Parks – Port Augusta
Address: Cnr Highway One & Stokes Terrace, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Augusta
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Port Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks – Port Augusta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to some of South Australia’s most spectacular destinations - the Flinders Ranges, outback and Spencer Gulf - is Port Augusta, just over 300 kilometres from Adelaide. Discovery Parks - Port Augusta (formerly Port Augusta Holiday Park) is the ideal holiday park to plan your great southern adventure. It’s not every day you get to travel on a moving museum, but step on board the unique Pichi Richi Railway and you’ll understand why it’s so special. Discover local history with a tour of the iconic Royal Flying Doctor Service and Wadlata Outback Centre, where you will walk in the steps of the Aboriginal people who have lived here for 40,000 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Parks – Port Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing