We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best park in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Discovery Parks – Port Augusta
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best park in town”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was the third time I have stayed here - both in camp ground and Deluxe cabins.
Everything we needed was provided and furniture included a comfortable lounge opposite the TV.
The cabin was well laid out and very clean.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the grounds were well maintained.
It is a popular park, but always very peaceful.
The pool was very clean and inviting.
Prices were also good value.
Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin on the side for great serenity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warwickstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    104
    26
    14
    11
See reviews for
58
99
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We paid $88 for a cabin and were very happy with what we got for that price. All linen was provided, along with good Eco soaps and toiletries, milk and ice waiting for us in the fridge, an efficient air conditioner and a good tv. The pool looked good though we didn't use it. Very helpful staff. The location is very convenient at the junction of the main highways north to Darwin and west to Perth.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit or site away from the highway to avoid noise from overnight heavy truck traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The coast
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were charged $60 for a drive through site and had to listen to highway noise all night, all amenities closed way to early, the swimming pool closed at sunset on a 38 degree day, Stay at one of the other options Port August.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ccsuebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Initial booking was made through Wotif, received a call that the cabin I booked wasn't available, however they had a cheaper cabin. I asked what would happen with the money I paid and the rude response I got was we'll see.
Upon arrival I was given the keys and they were almost hurled at me, I asked about the $$ and received a snarl from this woman "you got what you wanted, so there's your keys".
The cabin is old, worn out and way overpriced. The bathroom has a small shower, the grout in the shower is black (was white once). The floor in the bathroom has broken and loose tiles with grout missing. The spa is dated and I decided that it wasn't worth the risk of infection.
The toilet had the hygiene label on it, but upon first use when lifting the lid we found a floater. Called the manager who was very apologetic and organized to have it cleaned. The manager seemed like a nice guy but he needs to get control of his staff.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mgompie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Heading from Broken Hill to Coober Pedy as a family of 4. stopped in an ensuite cabin. Staff were friendly and room was all we needed. Driveway had room to park Camper Trailer so we could get going first thing in the morning. Only downside was watching NSW lose the state of origin on the good size digital tv

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tripofalifethyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

We booked in here after travelling all day. We had previously stayed here before. On this occasion i was confronted by a verry rude lady at reception ( found out this was managers wife) . Price for sites had risen by nearly 100% since our last stay only 2 1/2 months ago when i queried this was told well thats the price like it or lump it. We were directed to our site. Upon setting up we noticed a family bathroom as we had young children i went to enquire about this. What a debarcle this turned out to be they had very little knowledge of this facility ( what was in room) This nearly ended up in an argument with the manager( they do not like any one asking questions at this park) The next thing i knew i had the manager and his offsider at our caravan requesting i apollogise to his wife to witch i was told if i do not apollogise we would be asked to leave. So before the manager busted his boiler i got a refund and was only too happy to leave. We found another caravan park in a better lacation and at half the price. Will never stay here again Aspen should look closely who they employ as managers as these guys are not up to the usual aspen big 4 standard

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Invy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

TV and kitchen facilies close at 9PM
They boast pay tv but you can only watch it until then.
Kitchen doesn't open until 7.30 am so forget an early start.
$36 for an unpowered site and with these crazy curfews try somewhere else.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Augusta hotels
0.8 mi away
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Majestic Oasis Apartments
#2 of 10 in Port Augusta
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
#6 of 10 in Port Augusta
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
#4 of 10 in Port Augusta
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Port Augusta
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crossroads Ecomotel
Crossroads Ecomotel
#1 of 10 in Port Augusta
150 reviews
1.9 mi away
Motel Pampas
Motel Pampas
#5 of 10 in Port Augusta
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks – Port Augusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks – Port Augusta

Property: Discovery Parks – Port Augusta
Address: Cnr Highway One & Stokes Terrace, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Augusta
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Port Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks – Port Augusta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to some of South Australia’s most spectacular destinations - the Flinders Ranges, outback and Spencer Gulf - is Port Augusta, just over 300 kilometres from Adelaide. Discovery Parks - Port Augusta (formerly Port Augusta Holiday Park) is the ideal holiday park to plan your great southern adventure. It’s not every day you get to travel on a moving museum, but step on board the unique Pichi Richi Railway and you’ll understand why it’s so special. Discover local history with a tour of the iconic Royal Flying Doctor Service and Wadlata Outback Centre, where you will walk in the steps of the Aboriginal people who have lived here for 40,000 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Parks – Port Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing