We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced, dissatisfied and not looked after!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ians Western Hotel

Ians Western Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Augusta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ians Western Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Port Augusta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over priced, dissatisfied and not looked after!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

No help from staff, disgusting food, over priced. Rude staff who wouldn't help. Never ever again!!!! Don't waste your money!
Just in for a quick meal passing through town. Had a Christmas party arrive and surround our table. People leaning on not only our chairs but us as well. Not help from staff. Had to ask people to move away and give us space... Did not happen. No help from staff even though the two tables for the Christmas party were set and ready. Called once we were back at our accommodation only to be told they were too busy and best of all could WE call them back later.... Don't give them any support. Not good enough

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCouple85-87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    42
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
32
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

This is my second time in Port Augusta, passing through on a big road trip around the Western half of Australia.

I stayed at the Big 4 Caravan Park which is on the Northern part of town, which seems to be the quiet end. Last time, I walked a good half hour into town across the river (with a hungry, lazy grumbling group in tow), to dine at the unremarkable COMMONWEALTH HOTEL.

This time, we merely walked across the road to Ian's Western and have been very impressed!

The place was bustling, with the Friday night crowd, and with the Footy Finals second round. I tried to book ahead for a table in the Bistro for dinner, and was told they are fully booked. But the efficient staff put us on a waiting list, and had us seated in no time.

We ordered Scotch Fillet and New York
Sirloin Steak cooked precisely, and mouth watering American Style Pork Ribs. All served with fresh side salad and crusty dinner rolls.

The prices here are reasonable, even more so after being victim to some outrageous opportunistic revenue raising during our travels in the remote outback.

Sorry, I did not stay here, but the food and service I can speak for, and they are both great.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Hiraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Looking for dinner on a Thursday night we were told to try Ian's Western Hotel. It turned out to be a good choice. A packed front bar, and even fuller dining area/s it was certainly buzzing. The staff were extremely good humoured and obviously used to working hard! The food was generous, tasty and cooked well. It isn't flash but the steak was tender and the ribs were melt in the mouth. They were very accomodating, happily providing vegetables instead of salad. It had a nice feel, families, friends, lone tradies/workmen - all mixed in and enjoying the night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooksjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Arfter a long day traveling down the stuart hwy we stayed the night in port augusta , we were told to dine at ians pub , witch was a short stroll from the motel we stayed at . five of us sat down for an evening meal and all five loved it ............... really good food ........... highly recommened .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This hotel does not show much on the outside about the outstanding restaurant on the inside. It is a beautiful multistory building, but finding a signage for the restaurant is not easy. Check it out while staying across the street at the Comfort Inn. The atmosphere is very relaxing. It has a dining area and a very nice bar area. You will find several TV's up on the wall creating a sports bar theme, but not intrusive at all. We ate at the bar. The employees were super nice and knowledgeable about their menu and drinks, and know how to make you feel comfortable after a long day. Order Barramundi. Yummy. Beats having to drive into town hands down. Check it out even if it is just for a night cap....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0nyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Augusta hotels
0.4 mi away
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Majestic Oasis Apartments
#2 of 10 in Port Augusta
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
#6 of 10 in Port Augusta
87 reviews
0.6 mi away
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
#4 of 10 in Port Augusta
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Ecomotel
Crossroads Ecomotel
#1 of 10 in Port Augusta
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Port Augusta
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Augusta Courtyard Motel
Augusta Courtyard Motel
#1 of 5 in Port Augusta
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ians Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ians Western Hotel

Property: Ians Western Hotel
Address: 10 Loudon Rd, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Augusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Augusta
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and looking awesome, we have new menus, the biggest bottle shop in Port Augusta and fantastic, comfortable décor. Located right on the Highway by the Port Augusta bridge, Ian's Western Hotel is known for its excellent dining and friendly staff. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing