We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and practicality rolled into one.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Whitianga
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Luxury and practicality rolled into one.”
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We can't rave about this place enough. It's not often you'd rather spend time in your accomodation than go out sightseeing.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MooEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    67
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
85
94
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Stayed for three days - used it as a base to visit Fraser Island. The best rates are obtained by booking direct. The apartment was huge - 130m2 - and the quality of the accommodation was awesome. The pillows were rather hard. The views from the balcony were disappointing however, but we did have the large swimming pool to ourselves. There's a good local shopping centre ten minutes walk away, and the kitchen was well equipped. Car parking is under cover in the basement. The reception staff (all one of them) was very helpful and knowledgeable about the trips to Fraser Island.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AberdeenshireSparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

I had to stay at an Accor hotel as we were given vouchers. We found the Allegra at Hervey Bay. This was a very nice new hotel. THe rooms are very spacious and teh staff are very friendly.

If you want a very nice place to stay its here.

If you get the choice take a room as far forward on the property as possible and on the right hand side (facing the bay) it has better views. The laft hand side rooms's view is partially blocked by another hotel. We stayed on level 4 out of 6 floord on the left hand side and still loved it. The pool is very nice. Great spot as well.

Definitely recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch3wi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

This is excellent accommodation with a fabulous pool. It is contemporary in style, and not all the rooms have brilliant views but the facilities are excellent. Out of season it is slightly out of the way. The catamaran, Blue Dolphin, is a wonderful half day sail, and Fraser Island is a must.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stayed in a 2 bedroom ground floor unit with outside spa. We are regulars to Hervey Bay and decided to try this "5" star resort. Don't be fooled these are holiday apartments that were built with the intention also of being able to be lived in so the main living areas and kitchen are a decent size, however, the size is lacking though in the 2 bedroom which is tiny and bearly fits 2 single beds. The dried/fake flower arrangements date the apartment and take away from the luxury feel, they also obviously collect alot of dust. The cleaners let this establishment down as our oven was dirty and there were undesirable "left overs" from other visitors still in the main bathroom. The management allow rooms to be shared by two couples which is a great saving to those who stay but it also allows those who wouldn't normally appreciate this type of accommodation the affordability to stay there. We continually had cigarette butts thrown over onto our eating/spa area. Not good for people with small children...beware of this. Also make sure you take out your rubbish otherwise there is a charge...just what are the "cleaners" paid for? This is the 1st 5 star establishment that we have had to do this.. also the apartments are not daily serviced which you would normally expect when you pay close to $300 for the privledge to stay there. There is a nice pool but there needs to be some more greenery as the pavers make it an extremely hot experience. There is no restaurant on site...there is room for it though. Take a wireless connection to the internet of your own as there is one via an off site provider which charges by the minute....not great if your holidaying and keeping track of business. With a few improvements this could be a desirable regular holiday spot for those looking for luxury in the Bay. Whilst the address is Torquay if you know the area it is really Shelley Beach.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTravelBugFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

After spending five nights on Lady Elliot Island, we decided to finish our holiday with a little luxury and booked one of the penthouse apartments at Allegra. From the moment we opened the door to our apartment we were delighted. The apartment was spotlessly clean and beautifully presented.

With just the two of us staying in the apartment we had far more space than we needed – the penthouse could easily accommodate two couples or a family with children and still not feel cramped.

As we were travelling by ourselves we didn’t utilise the rooftop BBQ /entertaining area, however we did take advantage of the rooftop spa. Sitting in our private spa in the summer rain and watching lightning flash across the sky was a very unique experience.

The apartments are right next door to an Indian restaurant and five minutes walk from a superb Italian Restaurant / Pizzeria. The beach is just across the road and the main shopping strip is a comfortable 15 minute walk away

Allegra apartments are about a $20 cab ride from the airport, or $10per person if catching the shuttle bus.

If you want to spoil yourself (or family / loved on(s)) whilst in Hervey Bay, Allegra would be a great choice.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRG94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

This was the nicest place we stayed in whilst in Australia. The apartment was immaculate. Very moden and huge!
There is not much going on in Hervey Bay, but as we were out all day on trips it was lovely to come back here and run the jacuzzi bath.
We didn't really see the staff as reception isn't 24 hours but they were accomodating with seeing us after reception hours.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
2.0 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
268 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
1.8 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#7 of 23 in Hervey Bay
583 reviews
1.8 mi away
Akama Resort
Akama Resort
#3 of 23 in Hervey Bay
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay

Property: Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay
Address: Allegra 468 Esplanade, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3.5 hours drive from Brisbane, Grand Mercure Apartments Allegra Hervey Bay is the ultimate paradise escape. Situated on beautiful Shelly Beach, Grand Mercure Apartments Allegra Hervey Bay is your gateway to Queensland’s World Heritage listed Fraser Island and where humpback whales holiday not just swim past. Offering luxury apartment accommodation on the Esplanade overlooking the magnificent beachfront, the 49 apartment hotel features tropical gardens, lagoon pool, gym and sauna and is just a stroll from boutique shopping, cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing