We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Beachside Motor Inn(Hervey Bay)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Hervey Bay(Hervey Bay)(Great Value!)
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ramada Hervey Bay(Hervey Bay)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akama Resort(Hervey Bay)
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge(Hervey Bay)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shelly Bay Resort(Hervey Bay)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Main Street Motel(Hervey Bay)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveler rating
146
73
21
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
73
21
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadcypress streetthe kitchentwo bedroom apartmentcoast restauranthighly recommend this propertyfraser islandfantastic apartmentgreat spotheated poolsea viewgreat poollounge rooma great place to staycouple of nightsstayed for nightsliving area
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 252 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
julieb171, Manager at Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Well, I've stayed here a few times over the past few years, and I just can't warm to this place. I don't know if it is that I am a "short stay corporate traveller" but I've never had a reasonably positioned apartment. This is unfortunate because the units I've stayed in have all had this "closed in" feeling about them. Althought the units have been two bedrooms, the living areas are still rather small compared to other quality accommodation in Hervey Bay. The ensuites are very small, although the robe space is more than adequate. The lounge area furniture is minimal, and not so good if you have friends call around. The balcony areas are also fairly small. Both the living area and the bedrooms have only had a shear curtain to the full length glass doors facing outside, so privacy is not comfortable. The pillows are awful, but I did find some softer options in the wardrobe on my last stay. The position is great for the three local restaurants (Indian, Italian, and COAST) but not so good if you want to venture a bit further. It is a bit out of the way from the main sphere of culinary action. It is pleasant enough, but I do find some other establishments in town have more spacious apartments and are in better locations.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyTravels094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julieb171, Manager at Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

You mention you are a "short stay corporate traveller" - does this mean your employer allocates a budget for your accommodation? If so, that may explain the allocation of apartment style.
We have oceanfacing apartments, apartments with direct access to the swimming pool, penthouses and some larger apartments in our complex however these apartment styles may fall outside of your company approved expenditure for accommodation.

We have a number of corporate guests who stay with us regularly and love Allegra. For guests who return regularly, whenever possible, we try to offer an upgrade.

We offer varying levels of accommodation to meet different requirements and budgets. Whether it is a week stay for a family, a couple for a weekend stay, wedding groups or corporate visitors, there is an apartment style and price to suit everyone.

We would like to mention that bedrooms have blockout curtains as well as sheers...so privacy is provided.

We have been awarded a Certificate of Excellency from Trip Advisor this month so do hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

My wife and I had 3 nights here in July 2012 in a penthouse suite which included a roof top deck with spa and BBQ. The property is very well equipped and well located close to restaurants and opposite the beach. Pool area was attractive and inviting and gardens lush and well maintained. Management was friendly and helpful. Only complaint was the hard bed which resisted all attempts at a good nights sleep. Overall an enjoyable and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Top floor suites have an ocean view and you can enjoy the amazing sunsets.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob & Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed at the Allegra 4 or 5 times on business in the area and would rate it as the best place in Hervey Bay and significantly ahead of the Mantra in terms of both location and offering.

The positives
* The apartments are brand new and very well equipped - best Kitchen I have come accross even had a salad spinner
* The pool looked nice - sadly each day i left early and got back late so couldnt use but look inviting
* Good location right by the beach with nice restaurants 50metre walk from the back door
* Has normal TV and Ausstar - altho took me till my third stay to figure out it had normal TV]
* Spacious - Had a one bed apartment and had two bathrooms and a huge kitchen and lounge area

The Negatives and in my mind these are slight
* The pillows - these are too hard and management need to look at some other options
* Service - I didnt orignally know but these are unserviced apartments and thats fine I can cope with that, however on departure you are told to empty the rubbish or risk a fine, given housekeeping has to obviously clean the room before the next stay they could also take the rubbish, having to leave lovely accomodation with a big bag of rubbish while juggling your luggage somehow cheapened the experience
- Gym - was badly lit and given was in underground carpark the bad lighting made it feel uninviting to say the least

I would definatly stay again and were the above niggles corrected I would change my rating from 4 to a 5. Altho I should also add given I travel for work I can often be more critical than the avg traveller and for a family weekend away the Allegra would prove fantastic

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed with our 2 grandsons for a week in a 2 bedroom plus office apartment. 2nd floor no sea views but a private outlook into trees. Modern large living,plenty of room for all. Large outdoor heated pool was a bonus. Quality cafe/bar attached otherwise more restaurants etc close by. Beach across the road. Would recommend to anyone wanting quality accomodation in Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julieb171, Manager at Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Hello Sandy,
Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Allegra and the special time with your grandsons. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews