We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Quarterdecks Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Quarterdecks Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Spot !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2008

Just back from a great stay at the Quarterdecks in Hervey Bay.
Its basically a bunch of private houses inside a gated estate. Each house has its own back patio, private garage and all the other commodities a house generally has. All very modern, two large LCD tv's all brand new furniture etc. Basically a very nice spot. I was impressed by the private garage each house has, with access direct into the house. This is great when its hot as hell outside, not to have to get into a piping hot car.

Its about 5 minute spin to the esplanade in the town, I would recommend having a car as its a little bit out. There is a shopping centre down the road, so you can get all your supplies there no problem.

Overall a very nice spot.
A big thumbs up.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank hey_funboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    39
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
45
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Braunschweig, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

We stayed at the Quarterdecks in August 2008 during our family holidays with two teenager kids (14,16). Hervey Bay was our starting point for a whale watching tour and a visit to the amazing Fraser Island. The Quarterdecks location is a bit remote (not at the Esplanade) but close to the harbor and in walking distance to the beach. The resort consists of many units (apartments, villas) and looks like being built by an investor with the goal to sell the apartments and villas to private investors. Did completely work out yet.

It is very quiet and well protected by security installations.

* Accommodation
We stayed at the villa #56, consisting of a huge garage, two bedrooms, kitchen, terrace and two bathrooms. The standard offered is truly "luxury" - very elegant furniture, excellent beds, good kitchen equipment (though the dishwasher was obviously defect and there is no extraction hood). Certainly one of the best places we staid at during our trip.

* Management
Very friendly and engaged, always helpful. We had a couple of 'special' questions and were always served very friendly.

* Price-Performance ratio
Just excellent - we paid 150 AUD per night for a spacious two bedroom villa , which was well below the normal price. I doubt, however, that it will be available for that rate over summer.

* Things to complain about:
- almost no sun on the terrace at #56
- dishwasher didn't work
- a bit remote, close to the harbor though

  • Liked — excellent value for money, luxurious place
  • Disliked — a bit remote
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hosithoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2008

I highly recommend you consider Quarterdecks Retreat if heading to Hervey Bay, this place is fantastic and I simply cannot fault it. We booked a package direct through their own web site which included Lady Elliot day trip and Whale Watching on Blue Dolphin (both excellent) and this is a great way to save a few $$.

The accomodation is very new and very well appointed, having stayed in a number of similar properties this one is spot on. We had a spacious one bed unit and really did feel at home so much so we extended our stay. The welcoming site manager Craig goes out of his way to make sure everything is sorted, he has advice on everything you could possibly want to know about the area. If the weather isn't kind they have a very good free DVD collection and this place is great for chilling out rain or shine.

If you are going to Hervey Bay put this place at the top of your list, we will certainly be going back.

  • Liked — Great welcome and superb accomodation
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandShelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2008

I travelled to Hervey Bay with my fiancee in November 2007. We had such an amazing time that I thought I would come to the website to tell everyone how great it was.

As soon as we arrived at the Quarterdecks, we were taxied to the hotel with amazing compliments from the taxi driver on how wonderful the "new" quarterdecks had turned out, much to our surprise on arrival seeing was believing.

We were welcomed by the onsite manager "Craig" and his companion "Monty" (his small friendly dog whom followed Craig EVERYWHERE). With an array of brouchures in the reception area, our vacation planning was at our fingertips.

Our only down point was that the location was a little far from the centre of town, however I didn't think this was necessarily a bad thing as we had the quietness surrounding us. Regardless, we needed to get to town and we asked Craig where we could hire some scooters and without delay he had rang, booked and organised for us to have our scooters! This is simply ONE of the many amazing requests fulfilled by Craig ... as well as organising a BBQ in all the guests honor.

The rooms were incredible, furnished with beautiful AND comfortable furniture that you wanted to take home with you. The artwork - BREATHTAKING. The spacious living was coupled with practical finishings - Great if you have a family.

Quite simply Hervey Bay was a home away from home.

We'll definitely be going to the Quaterdecks again, year after year...

- Nada

  • Liked — Everything - Perfect package
  • Disliked — Location - although not necessarily bad
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NadaTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2008

We discovered the website for the Quarterdecks and liked the look of it. On arrival we were very pleased with our choice. The villa we had was finished and equipped to a very high standard and was excellent value for money. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is a fair walk from the centre of Hervey Bay so is most suited to those with their own transport. Overall we highly recommend the Quarterdecks for anyone looking for self catering accommodation in Hervey Bay.

  • Liked — The high standard finish and friendliness of the staff
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland/Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2007

We have just returned from as few nights at the Quarterdecks and were mightily impressed. We were not really looking forward to our stay in Hervey Bay, being a "stopover" between Noosa and our Fraser Island trip. But all that changed when we checked in to our fabulous apartment.

We were greeted on arrival by Jumpers and Craig, the management team, who were very hepful from check in to check out. Our apartment was beautifully furnished and very large for a one bed.

The pool and spa area are lovely and we didn't even bother to go the beach since we thought the pool was too nice!!

With regards to location, it is situated in Urangan about 10/15 minutes walk to the boat harbour area, restaurants and some beaches. The larger beaches are found at the Esplanade area and are easily reachable by bike or car.

I would recommed this resort for both couples and familys. The 2 and 3 bed apartments looked absolutely huge from the outside.

Overall I would say these apartments are great value for money and I think you will be as impressed with these as any 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wardipod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2007

Stayed at Quarterdecks for a weekend to see if it was as good as it looked on the internet. It was even better than it looked. The rooms were furnished beautifully and the pool and spa area were spectular.
We were welcomed with opened arms by the friendly staff and they could not have been more helpful to us considering it was our first visit to Hervey Bay. They gave us really good knowledge of the area and all the good sightseeing attractions to go and visit. By the time
our weekend was over we had already decided to come back and stay for
a week at Xmas.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank reidy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jumpers, Asst Manager Marketing at BEST WESTERN PLUS Quarterdecks Retreat, responded to this review, November 2, 2007
From the team at the Quarterdecks Harbour Retreat, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write about us on Trip Advisor. We are only newly opened in Hervey Bay, and comments especially comments like yours will only help us to become better known.
From Craig & Mark and the team a big thank you, and we look forward to seeing you again over Christmas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
0.5 mi away
Akama Resort
Akama Resort
#3 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#6 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Quarterdecks Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Quarterdecks Retreat

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Quarterdecks Retreat
Address: 80 Moolyyir St | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Quarterdecks Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hervey Bay's Premier Retreat - Quarterdecks Harbour Retreat. 6 star service, 5 star retreat, 4 star prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Quarterdecks Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Quarterdecks Retreat Hotel Hervey Bay
BEST WESTERN PLUS Quarterdecks Retreat Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing