We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Plus Quarterdecks Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

A lovely clean complex of townhouses and apartments, and for us best of all dog friendly. Everything you need, all immaculately clean, lovely pool and bbq area. It is a 15 minute walk along the beach to the main part of Hervey Bay. The staff were excellent and went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay.

Room Tip: If you are taking a dog or bikes with you ask for an apartment with side access to avoid having to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETJLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western Pl... Q, Manager at Best Western Plus Quarterdecks Retreat, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for writing a detailed review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back soon. //John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    39
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
46
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Campbelltown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very modern, spacious, friendly and helpful staff, really enjoyed staying here, value for money the rooms where so clean and well presented was shocked at how much detail the staff put into it we stayed in villa 2 love the idea of self contained with its own garage would of stayed here this new years break had it not been over booked, regret not getting in early enough now, the swimming pool, spa and bbq area is awesome loved it, recommend staying here again to everyone :D

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western Pl... Q, Manager at Best Western Plus Quarterdecks Retreat, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back soon! //John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
278 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Unit 55 is not 5 star. Lounge is worn out, dining chairs have no padding. You are sitting on the framework so we couldn't sit on the lounge and we put pillows on the dining chairs to use to watch TV. 5 Star is only if owners keep the furniture comfortable and they haven't.

Room Tip: Spa Pool great Unit clean and everything there we needed. Unit 55 ....Shame about the furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ozdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western Pl... Q, Manager at Best Western Plus Quarterdecks Retreat, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thanks for the review and I'm sorry for the late reply. As I said when you checked out we are happy for constructive feed back and I will surely take your comments in consideration when the owner is updating the furniture. I'm happy that the rest of your stay with us was good and I hope to see you back another time. //John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here as recommended by a local for a wedding in October 2012. Stayed for 3 nights, great little spot, close to the beach and restaurants although probably driving distance to the main areas of town. Room was clean and well kept. Accommodated us when we requested a porta-cot at the last minute. Couldn't fault the service. One down side was the pool was FREEZING! But then I think that's just all of QLD...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biddy_Adz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western Pl... Q, General Manager at Best Western Plus Quarterdecks Retreat, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thanks for writing a review and I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Welcome back! //John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were in Hervey bay as a jump point for Fraser Island. Perhaps in an effort to re-live my youth, had initially booked into the YHA. That lasted about 5 minutes into seeing and smelling the room..... Booked the quarter deck as it looked lovely on the internet in our desperate search for an alternative to the YHA. The reason for the title of my review - is that I'm not quite sure if this is a hotel or more of a self-catering holiday village for longer stays. We booked last minute after a very long drive down from Airlie Beach - the manager was very accommodating and duly booked us in, despite the fact that reception had closed at 7pm. The room/apartment was huge, great well equipped kitchen with laundry facilities, large lounge with comfy sofas and stairs up to our comfortable room. The accommodation was clean and featured a nice private garden area, however - we booked this as a hotel room and during our 3 night stay, there was no service at all. The tea/coffee was not replenished, towels not replaced, sheets not changed etc - hence I'm not sure if this is a hotel or not, I sort of expected more. However - the price was good for the space we got, and if I was holidaying with my family for a self-catering trip I would highly recommend this place

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western Pl... Q, General Manager at Best Western Plus Quarterdecks Retreat, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thanks for your response and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We are a self-catering retreat, for both shorter and longer stays. The villas are serviced if the stay is 7 nights or longer and not daily, I'm sorry if we in some way were not clear about this.
Welcome back!
//John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

When we arrived the bathroom had an overpowering smell of bleach, but we gave the hotel the benefit of the doubt thinking that they had done a thorough cleaning job. That was until it was time to go to bed. Upon pulling back the bed sheets, the sheets looked a little wrinkled, though more alarming was the number of strands of hair left by the previous night's guests. The manager, when called, did change the sheets immediately, though was insistent that the hair somehow got caught up in the commercial wash.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western Pl... Q, General Manager at Best Western Plus Quarterdecks Retreat, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thanks for your response and I'm truly sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. I'm the first one to agree that we made a mistake and again, I'm sorry for that and we did our best to rectify if as soon as we were aware. I hope you had a good stay in Hervey Bay and I hope to see you back with us so that we can prove that we can better. All the best //John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We rang last minute for a booking with a dog (do not think it is right though to charge $50 for 2 nights for a 3kg dog but was great to bring him - they should only charge if there is damage) on a long weekend and they kindly accommodated us. We arrived and the townhouses which was clean, tidy and had just about everything we needed. Unfortunately during our two night stay the tv reception went out for around 24 hours. As it was not an emergency and we only realised when we came home at 8pm that night (when reception was closed) we did not call to let them know but as you can appreciate very annoying and we had already been out to eat and on a tour during the day so were really tired and just wanted to relax.

It was not working the next morning either when we woke up and only worked when we got back from our day trip out. We notified the manager when we were checking out and they kindly credit us a part refund for the inconvienance - this made the experience so much more acceptable and I would definately recommend to stay there. By acknowledging the fault, we left as HAPPY customers who appreciated it and would go back to stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hudson1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western Pl... Q, General Manager at Best Western Plus Quarterdecks Retreat, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thanks for your review; yes we had a major problem with the antenna system that weekend. The good thing is that we now have a better system than before and I'm happy that you appreciated our gesture and looking forward to see you again soon. //John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,718 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
160 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
0.5 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#7 of 23 in Hervey Bay
579 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akama Resort
Akama Resort
#3 of 23 in Hervey Bay
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Quarterdecks Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Quarterdecks Retreat

Property: Best Western Plus Quarterdecks Retreat
Address: 80 Moolyyir St | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Quarterdecks Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hervey Bay's Premier Retreat - Quarterdecks Harbour Retreat. 6 star service, 5 star retreat, 4 star prices. All our villas have a full kitchen with oven, full fridge, micro, toaster, kettle and dishwasher, crockery and cutlery for the maximum allowed persons. Each villa have a laundry with wash machine, dryer, iron and ironing board. All bedrooms have a ceiling fan. Furthermore have all villas a private fenced courtyard and direct access from the garage to the villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Quarterdecks Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Quarterdecks Retreat Hotel Hervey Bay
Best Western Plus Quarterdecks Retreat Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing