We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SLSQ Juniors 2013”
Review of The Bay Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bay Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

You need look no further. "The Bay Apartments" Hervey Bay has everything you require for your weekend away or long term holiday.
We were warmly welcomed when we arrived, all of our requirements were catered for while we were there and we were thanked when we departed.
Everything you need including Restaurants, Hotels , Shops , a small Supermarket and a flagged beach are within a 10 minute walk.
If you must seek out the local mall . major shops etc they are maybe a 5 minute drive. Don't bother park your car and leave it , didn't you come on holidays to get away from that?
The 2 bedroom apartment we were in was Huge the under cover outdoor are was Huge the facilities were perfect, our 3 day stay was far too short and we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DickieGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHerveyBay, Manager at The Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

WOW! Thank you so much for your fantastic review. It was an absolute pleasure to have all the Surf Life Saving Juniors stay with us. A great group of lovely families and happy active kids. We look forward to seeing you all again here at The Bay Apartments whether in a group again or individually. All the very best for the forthcoming tournaments and thanks again for the reveiw and being such a wonderful crew! Cheers, Denise & Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for The Bay Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 142 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment in February and had a lovely weekend with 2 other families (who were staying in apartments either side of us). The rooms were modern and clean and very spacious. Plenty of space to spread out and enjoy the verandah when the days were nice and sunny or sit inside in the evenings. When our 1 yo refused to sleep in his bed, Derek kindly and quickly provided a cot for us and even erected it for us which was very helpful. We all slept better the second night! We loved the pool and the location on the Esplanade was terrific.

Room Tip: Spa's are located on the verandahs of some suites but are 'locked' unless you book a &qu...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turva81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHerveyBay, Manager at The Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Hi Guys,
Thats an awesome reveiw thank you. It is so great to hear you guys all had such a good time together and enjoyed our resort. Happy to help with any guests requests so glad we could help out with the cot. Hope to see you all again sometime and locate you all on the one floor again which is fantastic when travelling together.
Once again thank you. Kind Regards, Denise & Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Similarly to many people we went for the whale watching experience and we found the proprietors, Denise and Derek, to be very useful in helping us find a good operator and with plenty of other local advice. We did have problems with the television on arrival but this was rectified and our stay was otherwise pleasant. The room was clean and truly self-catering with plenty of basic kitchen ware items. We would stay here again if visiting Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satrinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHerveyBay, Manager at The Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Hi Guys,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay in Whale Watching Season. It was fantastic to see your photos which help us to see our property from our guests eyes. We are very fortunate to be located where we are on the Esplanade and glad you enjoyed it. Hope to see you again next Whale Season as it really is an experience you can do over and over again.

Cheers,

Denise & Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in January 2013 in a 2 bedroom apartment. The room was superb and very large with our own balcony spa heated and ready when we arrived.
We were planning to go out for dinner but thought it a waste to have such a lovely balcony looking over the shore and the pool area that we grabbed some takeaway and had a wonderful night in.
The pool area is great with a gym, sauna, and great bbq area right beside the pool. The pool is a 25 m long pool with a kids wading pool as well as a spa attached.
We were on the 2nd floor and our only issue is with the architect , as we had no pool access other than to go to the ground floor, out of the back door and walk around the building to get to it.
The managers were super friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Beds were very comfortable and the decor stunning. Highly recommended, although if you have kids that will be heading to the pool often, make sure you get one of the rooms which has good pool access.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NellSunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHerveyBay, Manager at The Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Hi Neil,
Wow what a wonderful review and so lengthy. We are absolutely thrilled you took the time to do such a detailed review. Very happy to hear you had such a great stay and found our service and property so pleasing as we try to offer the best possible.The Outdoor Spas on the balcony are always a favourite for those who book the Deluxe Spa Apartments. The ground floor poolside apartments are the ideal apartment for those with young children who go in and out of the pool often as they do have direct access through their courtyards to the pool which is very convenient.
Look forward to seeing you again when you are in Hervey Bay again. All the best for a great year ahead. Kind Regards, Denise & Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed in a top floor apartment which are the best for your views. Really nice apartment which was huge for just the two of us. There is a limit of on your wifi but we never used it all. The beach is right opposite which is handy. Hervey Bay itself is not the best for restaurants or choice where to eat out, we tried the hogs breath cafe which was good and other nights we ate in. It was nice tho to spend the time in the apartment. The lady on the front desk was really nice and helpful and actually gave us a discount for stopping 3 nights which was a pleasant surprise. A bit disappointed that she didn't mention to us there was ongoing work right next to the pool which was extremely noisy! Even my iPod on full whack wasn't enough to drown out the sound of the machinery, so we went out instead and luckily they didn't work on the Sunday!
But overall it was a nice stay and would recommend the apartments as long as they've finished the work!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmab175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHerveyBay, Manager at The Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Hi Guys,
Thank you for taking the time for reviewing our property and your lovely comments. Not many guests ever use the generous WIFI limit of 1/2 gig per day each!
We are very happy with our location which also has some great restaurants within a 5 min walking distance, sorry you didnt find them on your visit! Thai, Chinese, Beachouse Hotel, Indian, Lillianas Cafe and Enzo's Cafe right on the beach with 2 takeaway outlets as well all at the Scarness shops. We would also recommend on your next visit Hoolihans & Black Dog (2 min walk) & within a 10 min walk Cafe Tapas & Simply Wok are excellent. Coast and Santinis Italian on the esplande while a 5 min drive away are superb and top class. Would be happy to recommend some choices on your next visit so you can get to experience some of our best. Happy to hear you found our service helpful and friendly and we apologise for any noise which was unfortunately unavoidable as we had to finish the renovations prior to Christmas and the guys were trying their best to be as quiet as possible. Hope to see you again with all the work finished. Thank you once again and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our top floor apartment was extremely spacious, modern, comfortable and very well appointed. The beach is just across the road and a short walk to local shopping - the French Bakery was our undoing! A good base for sightseeing in the area, or a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHerveyBay, Manager at The Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Hi Valerie,

We really appreciate our guests taking the time to write a review and it is fantastic to read you had such a lovely time. The French Bakery in Scarness is sometimes too close! Their chocolate eclairs are our undoing and the best we have ever had. Our location is one of the many things we are fortunate enough to have and is definitely tops! Glad you enjoyed your top floor position which offers high ceilings and a more expansive view, although they are all fantastic. Look forward to seeing you both again. Thank you once again. Kind Regards, Denise & Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I'm sitting here on my bed on the last day of our stay and I'm listening to the waves from the beach right across the road and the squeals of delight from my kids in the pool, to say The Bay apartments are wonderful is an understatement!! The staff are friendly, welcoming and so helpful. Our apartment is clean (I'm a cleaner and trust me I'm fussy!!) the furnishings are up to date and modern and comfortable! was able to book well in advance and pay off our stay in installments instead of having to pay it all at once. The spa on our balcony was to die for and perfect after a long day. The location is perfect and close to everything you need. If you stay here we highly recommend the Freedom whale charter company, just brilliant!! A wonderful luxurious place to stay, what more could you want!?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassFulford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHerveyBay, Manager at The Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Hi Cass,

Once again thank you so very much for your kind comments left behind for us as well as this truly wonderful review. When guests have anxiously awaited their holidays and then to actually have it turn out so fantastic is exactly what we love hearing as we understand the excitement, cost and time taken booking a holiday. Look forward to seeing you up here again when the oppportunity to leave a cold winter behind arises again.
All the best to you all.
Kind Regards,
Denise & Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
3.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,947 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#11 of 23 in Hervey Bay
163 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
3.0 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#6 of 23 in Hervey Bay
594 reviews
3.0 mi away
Akama Resort
Akama Resort
#4 of 23 in Hervey Bay
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Apartments

Address: 371 The Esplanade, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hervey Bay
Price Range: $143 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bay Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Apartments Holiday Resort is situated directly opposite one of Hervey Bay's best beaches, right on the Esplanade with an array of restaurants, cafes and shops all within a short few minute stroll. All of our fully self contained apartments are incredibly spacious and contemporary with large bay facing balconies or ground floor courtyards offering direct access to the pool. Being self contained you get to enjoy more space and facilities in your apartment allowing you to self cater. Our Outdoor Spa Apartments offer you the added luxury of your own personal outdoor spa on your balcony or in your courtyard. Why guests love the bay apartments Hervey Bay's best 25 metre lap pool with hot spa & Children's wading pool - heated year round Sauna & Gym & Full size Tennis Court Well equipped Poolside BBQ Area in a tropical garden setting Secure Basement Parking including Security Access to Grounds, Building and Lift Levels Private Individual Storage Cages in basement Personal Outdoor Balcony/Courtyard Spas available in Outdoor Spa Apartments Complimentary starter kit of toiletries/tea/coffee allowing you time to settle in & shop later Reception Tour Desk assisting with Fraser Island, Whale Watch, Lady Elliot Island & local tours. The Bay Apartments continue to be Hervey Bay's favourite Resort offering the very best for couples, the largest of families, corporate groups and business guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hervey
The Bay Apartments Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing