We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colonial Village Resort
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We couldn't fault this Hostel. Excellent value for money. Our double room was very spacious with en-suite, fridge, aircon, fan,etc. The room had its own veranda with bench seat overlooking well kept gardens. The pool was very good with sun loungers. The Hostel is set in a large well kept plot. The owners were always friendly and helpful and had very high standards. The hostel is quiet and peaceful due to the accommodation being spread out. Our kitchen was kept clean and tidy and only shared with five other rooms. This hostel is very convenient for Fraser Island trips - companys will pick up and drop off at the Hostel.
Tony and Chris Baker (UK)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonyhbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 215 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Dont know if it was because it was raining and the hostel had not a lot of guests, but the rooms were great, the bathrooms are in the rooms.
The resting area, pool table and bar is pretty cool and nice.
The staff has been awesome! I clearly recommend it if you go to Hervey Bay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojomillenium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a really nice hostel. The staff is very friendly and there are a lot of things to do: You have the opportunity to play basketball, pool or tennis, you can go swimming in the pool or use the spa area and there are waiting a lot of parlour games for you. The Ocean and the next shopping centre are just around the corner. I just can recommend the bar and the happy hour: cheap and very good! The rooms and beds are pretty good and the kitchen and bathrooms are clean. There is a free shuttle from and to the greyhound station and you can book your tours straight at the reception. Come over and see by yourself ;)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raoul_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a great spot to travel from to Fraser Island.
We travel with a car and stayed there for 2 nights.
The kitchen is not brand new and the equipment can use an upgrade.
The bathroom was clean and the showers are great!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krogiers1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hostel is great, the people here are very friendly, the dorms were great, very clean and very spacious. There was complimentary shuttle service which was helpful. The food available in the bistro was good and quick and not too expensive. Extremely value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I loved this hostel the most, and the layout, kind of felt like I was in Canada. The log cabin dorms were amazing, loads of space,en suite bathroom also.
They offer free shuttle bus services to the Greyhound drop/pick up point, which was good. The staff here were extremely friendly, hospitable, and helpful.
Beautiful swimming pool and jacuzzi area. Great food & overall atmosphere!
I would totally recommend this YHA to anyone wanting to stop off and go exploring Fraser Island.
I would stay there again for definite, great value for money also.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwm26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Our family of five stayed in a villa which was clean and comfortable. We ate in the bistro several times during our stay and the meals were quick, super great value for money and delicious. The kids enjoyed swimming in the pool whilst my husband and I relaxed reading on the deck chairs with an iced cold glass drink from the bar in hand. We found every member of staff to be very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The beach is a short walk away as well as some great cafes and restaurants. We also booked some Fraser Island tours through the front desk and found the staff very knowledgeable and guided us to the right one that suited all of us.
Very satisfied guests 10/10

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacquit27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
Hervey Bay Motel
Hervey Bay Motel
#14 of 23 in Hervey Bay
85 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
2.7 mi away
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
#3 of 53 in Hervey Bay
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Hervey Bay
Ingenia Holidays Hervey Bay
#1 of 53 in Hervey Bay
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Quarterdecks Retreat
2.7 mi away
Fraser Coast Top Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Village Resort

Address: 820 Boat Harbour Drive | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Colonial Village YHA)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hervey Bay
Price Range: $19 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hervey Bay is the closest departure point for a Fraser Island Adventure. Why waste a day of your 4wd tour getting to the highlights, we put you right where the action is. You have'nt been Whale watching until you have been via Hervey Bay, the ONLY place i Australia where you can swim with the Whales. We have a free daily courtesy bus to and from the coach station (7am to 915pm). Please phone for bus pick up times. The Colonial Village is unlike any other hostel; with 8 acres of sprawling botanical grounds complete with native wildlife and enough activities to make it a self-contained retreat you are sure to love your stay here. Complete with a pool,free tennis and basketball courts, free Wi-Fi and PC use, free table tennis, darts, pool table, wii, a children's play area, large playing field, a large relaxing pond with fountain, hammocks, all surrounded by tree's with a huge variety of resident and visiting birds, not to mention the tree frogs, sugar gliders, possums, and so on. Endless hours of fun, plus push bikes available to help you explore all that the gorgeous Hervey Bay has to offer. The bar and restaurant are well priced for travellers on a budget and will leave you well satisfied. With your belly full you can retreat to your tastefully decorated dorm or private room each with their own en-suite. There is no need to fight over bottom bunks here either as the entire hostel is bunk bed FREE!! The private rooms seem like luxury apartments complete with mini fridges, TV's and a private balcony. It's the perfect place to sit back, relax and enjoy your stay in Hervey Bay. All of our rooms are professionally cleaned , and all come with linen, pillows and blankets. All rooms are either air conditioned, or come with ceiling fans. Villas and cabins are fully self-contained with their own kitchen, TV, lounge and bathroom. Colonial Village is situated only 50m's from Urangan beach, and it is only 350m's from Hervey Bay's 7 kilometres of unspoilt beaches, and the 850m long Urangan pier, which is wonderful for fishing. The all year round perfect climate with cool refreshing sea breeze is great for fishing, swimming and water sports. On our doorstep is the Marina/harbour with a range of cafes, galleries, shops and restaurants, also a boat club with daily entertainment. Urangan Central plaza is 700m's away with a Woolworths, Post Office and Pharmacy. We have an all day bar and bistro, with day and evening menu's, and breakfast is also available. We appeared in the 'Fraser Coast Chronicle - July 2014...Venues that scored a thumbs up for pub meals..' We offer 24 hour access to the shared self catering cooking facilities/TV room and showers/washing. All accommodation and the whole site are at ground level with no stairs. 1 of the ensuite double rooms has a special access shower/toilet. There is a special access toilet in the bistro also, as well as a spacious non-partitioned toilet/shower by the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Colonial Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Village Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing