We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Marina Views”
Review of Mantra Hervey Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Hervey Bay
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
dalston
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Marina Views”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed in one bedroom apartment. despite proximity of bars & restaurants very quiet at night,
Fantastic views over marina & 5 minute walk from whale watching boats. Everything clean & would stay again

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank havenexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Havenexile,

Another experienced Trip Advisor traveller with over 85 reviews posted. Thank you for highlighting the excellent location that Mantra Hervey Bay enjoys, and that the room was clean. I hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    727
    343
    121
    83
See reviews for
390
979
86
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had a wonderful few days here, excellent apartment with all amenities, great to have a washer and dryer after traveling. Pool was lovely, nice view of the harbour, didn't have time to use anything else. Check in very efficient, great customer service, do hope to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tubbritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Tubbritt,

Hervey Bay is a long way from Wales! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mantra Hervey Bay. It is especially pleasing to hear regular comments on the excellent customer service that our guests have been receiving. Thank you for sharing that with the Trip Advisor community.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buddina, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights here in late October for a mid week rate of $105. This got us a nice sized room overlooking the harbour on the 5th floor. The hotel isn't brand new and is showing just a little wear but it was very clean and comfortable and a great place to watch the boats in the harbour come and go from. The weather was a little blustery so a dip in the pool was a little cool. The desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall great value for money and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NauticalDreamer3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear NauticalDreamer3,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in Hervey Bay. I'm glad that you found your accommodation to be good value for money. I'm sorry that it was so windy during your stay. Even though we are lucky enough to have a heated pool, that wind can certainly make you feel chilly when you are getting in and out of the pool.

Hopefully you will choose to stay with us again next year.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
661 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Let's start on a positive note ..

Reception staff were friendly and efficient.
We had a balcony which had views of the harbour/Marina.
Room was compact and clean - a bit on the small side - with minimal amenities, but had everything we need for our brief overnight visit.

Parking is available in a secure fenced area (not underground) requiring key card for access in & out.

Right next door are some restaurants and cafes as is the Marina where the whale watching cruises departed from. (Can highly recommend Tasman Venture tours)

100m away is the popular Hervey Bay Boat Club which has a café and restaurant, bars, entertainment and poker machines (if you want a play).

Unfortunately there were some negative aspects ..

Air conditioner was too noisy – it was within 2 metres of our bed which could not be turned off.

The bathroom set up was dangerous – it had a shower over a spa bath which you had to "crawl over" to get into and the spa floor was uneven and slippery making it lethal.

Also, it should not be the guest’s responsibility to worry about steam coming out of a bathroom and to be threatened with a penalty if the fire alarm is activated by the steam.

Car park – exiting the car park requires a key card which you don’t have after you have booked out.

Overall it's in a great location and OK for an overnight visit, but just be aware of previous guests findings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brissy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Brissy2,

You are indeed a very experienced reviewer with over 144 contributions on Trip Advisor. Well done.

Thank you for your balanced feedback on the positive and negative aspects of your stay. It is terrific that you found the staff, location, and cleanliness of your room to be more than satisfactory. Also, Tasman Ventures is definitely one of the best vessels for whale watching tours, so I am pleased that you have recommended them.

I'm sorry that the noise from the air conditioner interrupted your stay. As I have mentioned in replying to a few other reviews, we do have a program in place to replace the old air conditioners with new LG air conditioners that are much quieter and more efficient. I am sure this will assist with guest comfort in the future.

Also, we have installed a step in a few rooms to make access into the shower/bath a little bit more convenient. I can see that we should look at installing this in some more rooms in the near future.

Fire Alarm activation is a very rare occurence, and is simply the result of the building being fully fire compliant for the safety of all building occpuants. Legislation requires fire/smoke detectors to be located in very particular locations in hotel rooms and apartments. It is our responsibility to make you aware of these detectors and the possible cause of activations so that there are no unnecessary call outs for the fire brigade.

I apologise that you encountered difficulties with exiting the carpark following your checkout from the property. Our reception team commonly enquire with a guest on departure whether they still have their vehicle in the secure carpark. If they do, the guest can retain their card for departing the carpark and then drop it in one of the conveniently located key collection boxes. I am sorry if our staff forgot to communicate this to you on this occasion.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Well I usually start with the shower. While some get excited by a huge spa bath I don't. I hate having to climb in and out of a spa bath to have a shower and I did incur injury cutting my toe on a spa. Lovely view and bed. Room tiny. I always turn the air con off at night as I hate the noise and I was surprised on my final night I was kept awake by next doors air con on and off all night. A nightmare! All staff are wonderful and helpful. Note no stocked bar fridge, no laundry service and no room service (unless paid for extra). Great spot surrounded by lovely restaurants and beautiful swimming pool. I will stay again but in an apartment.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MarieS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear MarieS1,

I am delighted to see that you are a very experienced reviewer on Trip Advisor. Thank you for the fair review of your stay at Mantra Hervey Bay.

I'm sorry to hear about the difficulties that you encountered with the shower/bath. They certainly aren't for everyone. We do have a selection of rooms that have 'walk-in' showers that we can try and allocate on request.

As our various owners upgrade their air-conditioners we are transitioning across to having a separate air conditioner for each half of a dual-key room. These new air conditioners are also much quieter and more efficient in their operation.

I am pleased to hear that you found our staff helpful, and that the location, swimming pool and surrounding restaurants were all positive aspects of your stay.

I do hope we can welcome you back to Mantra Hervey Bay in the near future.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We decided on a weekend away and wanted somewhere near the Marina in Hervey Bay. You can't get much closer than by staying at Mantra.

We had a room on the 5th floor with a great view of the Marina. We thoroughly enjoyed just sitting watching the boats coming and going from our balcony.

The room was clean and comfortable with a lovely spa bath.

There is a fantastic cafe downstairs as well as the Boat Club that have exceptionally great meals.

The only thing we were a little surprised at was there was no servicing of the room. They did not replace towels or make up the room at all. (There is a fee if you want this done.) There was no mention of this in anything I read on their website. It was only in the literature we were given upon check in. Once we knew this, we just ensured we threw the towels in the dryer after each use.

Apart from this very minor thing, we will definitely be staying at Mantra Hervey Bay for our weekends away in 2014.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Narelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Narelle S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It certainly is the best location in Hervey Bay if you want to have a cold beverage on your balcony and watch the boats coming and going in the marina.

There are indeed a number of nearby choices for dining with Cafe Balaena, Bistro Aubergine, Chit Chat, and the Boat Club all on our doorstep.

You are correct that we do not offer daily servicing of our rooms. We offer a mid-stay clean on stays of 7 or more nights. However, we are always happy to provide you with fresh towels and any of the room amenities from the reception desk on request.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Mantra is right on the harbour next to the Whale watch marina. It is a clean and comfortable motel with great views of the harbour. Right next to a great choice of good restaurants.
Very helpfully staff and secure car parks.

Room Tip: There are great views above level one, and up to sixth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djgtatqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear djgtatqld,

Thank you for the positive review of your stay at Mantra Hervey Bay. I am delighted to hear that you found the staff to be very helpful.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hervey Bay
1.0 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#11 of 23 in Hervey Bay
162 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
272 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#7 of 23 in Hervey Bay
590 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
4,860 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akama Resort
Akama Resort
#3 of 23 in Hervey Bay
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Hervey Bay

Property: Mantra Hervey Bay
Address: Buccaneer Drive, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Hervey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Hervey Bay is the region's only absolute marina front accommodation, offering direct access to the Great Sandy Strait as well as being one of the best places in Australia for whale watching. Only three and half hours north of Brisbane or just five minutes from the Fraser Coast airport, Mantra Hervey Bay offers a range of accommodation perfect for your Fraser Coast holiday. Featuring hotel rooms and one, two, and self-contained three bedroom apartments, all rooms include private balconies and cable TV, with most rooms featuring a spa bath. One and two bedroom apartments offer the additional convenience of kitchenette and laundry facilities. Onsite leisure facilities at Mantra Hervey Bay include a swimming pool, sauna, exercise room, BBQ facilities and adjoining restaurants. Free security parking is available. There is also a number of retail outlets including fashion boutiques, a day spa and gift stores within the marina precinct. With an abundance of nature, such as the Great Sandy Strait, Fraser Island and the wetlands, as well as the eco tourism ventures and attractions, Hervey Bay offers something for every visitor. Hervey Bay is an idyllic location to experience the Fraser Coast with Mantra Hervey Bay providing the perfect base to explore all that is on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Hervey Bay Hotel Hervey Bay
Mantra Hotel Hervey Bay
Hervey Bay Mantra Hotel
Mantra Hervey Bay Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing