We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you expected”
Review of Mantra Hervey Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Hervey Bay
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The view was good looking out over the marina. The room was nice and clean but small. There isn't anything close to the hotel. We had to drive 20min to get dinner. The hotel doesn't look a bit like the photos on the website. It is much older and dirtier. It isn't well looked after. Doors are really heavy. Felt more like a Motel than a Hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a car as you will need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andre d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Andre D,

I'm sorry that you did not find all aspects of your recent stay with us as good as you had hoped. I appreciate that you found the room clean, and that you enjoyed the views from your room. The Hotel rooms are quite compact in size, and it certainly can be worthwhile to pay the small upgrade fee to a One Bedroom Apartment if you desire more space.

The property is 10 years old, and in general is in good condition. The body corporate has recently approved a full repaint of the property. This painting is now underway, and will certainly modernise the appearance of the property. The BBQ's have also recently upgraded to new stainless steel ones, and we are awaiting the installation of all new shade cloths throughout both car parks, and above the restaurant. All up the body corporate are very generously spending over half a million dollars in upgrading the property to keep it up to speed with our competitors. I am sure you will be suitably impressed when you are next in Hervey Bay.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,893 - 1,899 of 2,109 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Smart, modern, clean. Quiet part of town. No public transport. 20 minute walk to the beach. Few shops near by, 5/6 places to eat (Boat Club good value).
Good size comfortable bedroom with balcony. Small bathroom including large spa bath. Limited storage. Limited catering facilities, tea/coffee & fridge.
Friendly & helpful staff with free use of computer with printer.
Good size pool with sun loungers.
Individual a/c units are on each balcony & next door had theirs on until 4.00am which kept waking me up.
Greyhound & train shuttle bus drop off at bus station then you need A$25 taxi ride.

Room Tip: High room, sea/marina view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glennmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Glennmore,

Thank you so much for your very positive comments. It is greatly appreciated and I have passed this on to our team.

You must have stayed in one of our Hotel rooms. I always recommend that if our guests are staying for 2 nights or more then it is well worth the small upgrade fee to stay in one of our One Bedroom Apartments. This room type provides a kitchen, larger bathroom/laundry, and additional storage space. We are always happy to try and match the right room type to the guests needs.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed in room 230, hotel room with twin/king bed.
Plenty of space, corner spa, nice sized bed. Large mini/bar fridge. Nice coffee making facilities.
Balcony overlooked the marina and was in a quiet spot.

Shame the hotel does not have a restaurant (we were there at Easter and everything filled up for dinner by 6.30pm) but plenty of good value options within a couple of minutes walk!

Staff were friendly and helpful, very smiley.

My only complaint...like many other hotels, there is no bug screens on door, so you have the balcony door open at night and risk mossies, or closed and use the air con.

Room Tip: Room 230 was great for a couple. Quiet, smoke free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viksta_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Viksta_1,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mantra Hervey Bay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our team provided friendly and helptul service. That is what hospitality is all about.

You are correct that the restaurants surrounding the complex were extremely busy over the Easter weekend. Fortunately, there is a new restaurant about to open directly at the front of Mantra Hervey Bay. This restaurant is called Bistro Aubergine and will bring something a little different to the marina dining options.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Mantra. It is positioned right at the Marina and the views out to the bay are lovely. All the rooms seem to have a balcony with a view. We had a lovely one bedroom apartment with a spa and it was very spacious. Huge king size bed was comfy. The spa was good and the bathroom also had a washing machine and dryer in it. There was a small kitchenette and dining room table with a pull out lounge. All in all I found the room very nice. We requested an end room and was given one. The secure parking is a bonus as well. With restaurants down stairs and only a two minute walk to the Yacht Club for meals and entertainment it is well positioned. The two things I was not happy with was the bedroom does not have air con or even a fan and does get quite warm. This really needs to be addressed by management. Also there is no free Austar movies, only sports channel. Apart from those two items I would certainly go back to stay. If you are looking for somewhere near the main shopping area of Hervey Bay then don't stay here as it is quite a distance away. However for peace and quiet and walking distance to restaurants this is a great place. Also the rooms are only serviced once a week but I found this good as you can sleep in.

Room Tip: I always ask for an end room as I find these are usually larger and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robggBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Robggbrisbane,

Thank you so much for your kind words on tripadvisor. Location, staff and service are key to any hospitality business and I am so glad we delivered your experiences in these areas. I am sure readers will appreciate your detailed review of your stay and use it to make an informed decision when next booking in Hervey Bay. Many thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in mid-week. The Mantra is in a quiet location on the marina and is clean and modern looking. The rooms are well equipped. Two ladies on reception, one especially, went out of their way to be helpful when we had a problem and one of the groundstaff couldn’t do enough to show us places.

The rooms are in 2 large buildings separate from reception. Two bedroom apartments only have one bathroom which is also a utility room. The shower is over the bath. The apartment balconies overlook the marina and Fraser Island. The beds are comfortable enough and the rooms clean and well equipped. The main room has air-con but the bedrooms don’t and get hot. The car park is secure and well maintained.

Some of the rooms are classed as hotel rooms and have hotel features, no cooker, walk in shower, rear facing balcony. These rooms can be joined to a single apartment to create a two room apartment. The staff kindly gave us one of these when our elderly parents couldn’t get over the bath. Luckily it was out of season and there was a room available.

Almost next door is the large Boat Club which seems to be the local club with a courtesy bus service. It’s a very large, modern and smart building with a cafe, restaurant, bar, live music and gambling area. We ate there a few times. The restaurant serves tasty and well prepared food of a plain style. The café food is also not fancy . The staff are very friendly and it has a welcoming atmosphere.

There is also a restaurant next door in the other direction that is quite good.

There is a good walking track in the opposite direction from the Boat Club and about a quarter of a mile away is the very long pier and a few restaurants and a decent bar, then it’s a couple of miles to the next area. One of these restaurants across from the pier looked better than any other we saw but we didn’t try it. The roads are a bit deceptive as they take you inland and you could miss the pier.

Overall Hervey Bay is a bit confusing as the road comes in from one end and runs inland parallel to the coast with the Mantra and marina at the far end. It is a collection of small resorts, easy to get about. My wife thought the quilting shop on the main shopping strip was magnificent. Maryborough is worth a trip some nice old buildings well kept and local history museum, park, Queenslander houses and the history is interesting with industries and floods.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete3080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Pete3080,

It is always pleasing to see a review from such a well travelled guest. I appreciate the time that you have put into writing a detailed review of your stay at Mantra Hervey Bay, and Hervey Bay in general. I think you have highlighted an often underated attraction in regards to a visit to Maryborough. Maryborough is only a half an hour away by road and is a town full of history including a beautiful park in the middle of town.

Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at Mantra - Hervey Bay during Australia Day long weekend. Even though we got stuck here for extra two days due to ex-cyclone Oswald, but the stay here was simply marvellous. We had the pool room booked, but we're upgraded to a on suite spa room on the top floor. I must say that the views from the balcony were stunning (when it's sunny after 2 days).

The girls at the reception (Stacey and Steph) were wonderful and so helpful, with always a big smile on their face. We're even charged manager special rates for an extra night which was way less than the listed price, and that's when the resort got full due to stranded travellers.

We may not have had a chance to make a trip to Fraser Island, but we had a wonderful time at Mantra.

Mantra: it's not a negative feedback, but it'd be better to actually have a king bed rather than two king singles joined together. Not that it can be felt or noticed, but it'd make everything perfect.

I'd recommend anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: Take the room on top floor. It's awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pankaj_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Pankaj_Sydney,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay over the Australia Day long weekend. It sounds like you made the most out of a less than ideal situation. I'm sure everyone would have preferred a sunny long weekend without the inconveniences of delayed travel, but we certainly tried our hardest to lessen the inconvenience for our valuable guests. I'm glad you got to enjoy the magnificent view from your balcony.

I appreciate the feedback on the King-zip beds. The reason we have these beds in our rooms is because it provides more flexibility with sleeping configurations. We are a very popular family resort, and being able to split the beds makes it more suitable for children staying in the room. Over the last few months we have been replacing a number of the older beds with brand new beds that have the deluxe cushion top on the mattress.These have been very popular with our guests.

I hope you do return to Hervey Bay and make the trip over to Fraser Island. You also must go whale watching as it is a truly magnificent experience.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I had to spend a week in Wide Bay and was lucky enough to be sent to the Mantra at Hervey Bay.

The rooms were clean, spacious and the bed comfortable.

The restaurant fair next door was very pleasing and well priced. An all round pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are nice if you are their for the weekend to overlook the mariner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Sean A,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at Mantra Hervey Bay. It is certainly very convenient being located adjacent to a number of restaurant, cafe, and takeaway food options.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Hervey Bay.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hervey Bay
1.0 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#11 of 23 in Hervey Bay
164 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#8 of 23 in Hervey Bay
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akama Resort
Akama Resort
#4 of 23 in Hervey Bay
513 reviews
8.1 mi away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
5,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Hervey Bay

Address: Buccaneer Drive, Urangan | Buccaneer Drive Urangan Marina, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range: $68 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Hervey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Hervey Bay, absolute marina front accommodation offering direct access to the Great Sandy Strait as well as being one of the best places in Australia for whale watching. Only three and half hours north of Brisbane or just five minutes from the Fraser Coast airport, Mantra Hervey Bay offers a range of accommodation perfect for your Fraser Coast holiday. Featuring hotel rooms and one, two, and self-contained three bedroom apartments, all including private balconies and cable TV, and most featuring a spa bath. One and two bedroom apartments offer the additional convenience of kitchenette and laundry facilities. Onsite leisure facilities include a swimming pool, sauna, exercise room, BBQ facilities, adjoining restaurants and free security parking is available. There is also a number of retail outlets including fashion boutiques, a day spa and gift stores within the marina precinct. Enjoy an abundance of nature, such as the Great Sandy Strait, Fraser Island and the wetlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Hervey Bay Hotel Hervey Bay
Mantra Hotel Hervey Bay
Hervey Bay Mantra Hotel
Mantra Hervey Bay Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing