We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Surprise”
Review of Mantra Hervey Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Hervey Bay
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    691
    329
    114
    81
See reviews for
374
923
78
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

After reading some of the recent reviews on Tripadvisor, we were pleasantly surprised. We were welcomed by a friendly receptionist (Stephanie) and we were very pleased with the room we were given on the 4th floor. There was a good view over the marina and the carpet, mattress and furnishings appeared to have been recently renewed. We had a spa suite for only 2 days so we didn't get to use all the appliances but the ones we did use worked OK. The flat screen TVs seemed to be quite new and we had no trouble getting a park in the secure area.

It seems that the people who complained about their rooms here were usually booked into hotel type rooms and the manager seems to have had some problem getting the owners to upgrade the furnishings. Presumably those rooms that haven't been upgraded don't get allocated to paying guests except in peak times.

We particularly appreciated the free internet in the foyer but with only 2 computers, it would probably be difficult to get a turn in peak season. During our recent trip to Europe, it was common for hotels to offer free WiFi in hotel rooms which would certainly overcome and problem with access to the computers.

We met another couple while we were staying there and they mentioned that they were initially allocated a room with no view except a billboard. Fortunately they were able to change the room for one with the advertised view over the marina but we were surprised that these kind of rooms were not offered at a reduced tariff.

We only had two minor gripes. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 2.00 pm and given that another recent reviewer indicated that there was a strict $10 fee levied on guests who didn't vacate their room by 10.00 am, no mention was made of any discount offered to guests who weren't able to access their room by 2.00 pm - presumably we could have extended our check out by the amount of time past 2.00 pm that our room was unavailable. We didn't do that but it's worth noting that these type of issues should cut both ways.

Our other gripe was that we were required to sign a pre-sale on our credit card for $100. When we asked what we could possibly charge to our room account for $100 we were told by Michael that it was a surety against room damage. We have only been asked to do this twice before - both times in Australia and both previous places had restaurants so there was probably some justification for covering any restaurant charges that may have been left unpaid. While we don't doubt that there are occasions when certain types of guests cause some property damage, levying every room with the $100 is a bit over the top and have to assume that there is some other reason for levying this amount. We do concede that the $100 was refunded promptly on our return home.

The Mantra has a unique position so close to the marina for whale watching and travel to Fraser Island. It is a pity that the shopping area around there has fallen on tough times but there are still a couple of good eating places as well as the Club nearby without having to drive somewhere else to eat.

We would stay here again and we hope that future guests can look forward to a room of similar quality to the one we were allocated.

Room Tip: Book a suite rather than a hotel room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Ozitravel,

Thank you for providing such a detailed review of your stay at Mantra Hervey Bay. It is always very rewarding for team members such as Stephanie when they see positive feedback regarding themselves on Trip Advisor.

I'm sorry to hear that your room wasn't ready at the advertised check-in time. That is an unusual occurence, and I certainly agree that where possible we should then provide you with a late check-out to an equivalent time.

In regards to the $100 pre-authorisation that is taken on your credit card at check-in. I'm sorry that you were provided with the incorrect information. The pre-authorisation is indeed to cover any incidental charges that may be charged to your room such as phone calls, in-house movies, internet, restaurant charges (Cafe Balaena), and tour bookings.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. I am sure other potential guests appreciate the information that you have provided.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were basically looking for a two night stay in a comfortable, not 'over the top' priced hotel with the convenience of a central location in Hervey Bay and what we found was all of the above and more! So close to the airport but didn't once notice any loud aircraft flying over, the ground floor room was spacious, clean, comfortable, light filled, a sliding door invited you out to an outdoor table and chairs in which to view the beautifully positioned pool and spa, of which access could be obtained by security gates. The long rectangular pool was clean and inviting, with a heated area and a separate spa. Banana lounges, tables and umbrellas line either side of the pool area and provide you with a not overcrowded area for sunbaking and relaxing.The optional buffet breakfast was ok. Nothing exceptional. The position of the hotel was perfect. A walk directly down the road out front took you past a quaint caravan park to the Marina - the Surf Club is great for a meal and to sit out on the balcony with a beverage and take in the fresh sea air and the sights of assorted boats, yachts, catamarans and plenty of dreaming of only if... kills half a day or night. The motel provides bikes for hire ( full day $10). Its the best way to get around to the shops and follow the bike paths along the waters edge, travel along the longest pier in Aus or check out the locals if you don't have a car.
Fishing is great fun. If you have a rod, take it down to the rocks and throw in a line. There are plenty of fish to be seen, even local dolphins if you are lucky...we were. thoroughly enjoyed the two night stay and would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Ground floor with a sliding door that exits to a table/chairs and gate access directly to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne7466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel (17th, 18th Oct) in order to do the Fraser Island tour. We only booked the hotel the Saturday before and got it for a very resonable price, we were even more delighted when we arrived and told we had got one of the swim up rooms (bonus!)

The room was clean and bathroom had jacuzzi bath which again was great for the price we paid. The pool was lovely and warm and a pleasure to get into (some other hotel pools are so cold its a big effort to get in)

Staff at reception were friendly and helpful.

Both nights we ate at the boat club which was right beside the hotel. The food was lovely and resonably priced, as was the drink.

We had got the Greyhound up from Brisbane, it stopped at Stockland in Hervey Bay so we had to catch one of the local buses (Route 16) that brought us to the Marina (about 20 mins on bus)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Gwni,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at Mantra Hervey Bay. I am so pleased that you had a lovely time with us. The swim-up rooms are a fantastic room type that offers guests something a little bit different.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was our second stay at this location and still think it is just great overlooking the Marina especially being able to watch the various Whale Watching boats coming and going right from our apartment. We stayed there this time in order to show our overseas visitors around Hervey Bay for a day before heading to Fraser Island early the next morning. One night was just not long enough to appreciate the resort and its facilities properly and vow to return for a longer stay as soon as possible even though we only live a short distance from Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you Quickbeds Traveller,

Mantra Hervey Bay is certainly a good base for exploring Hervey Bay from. I hope that your international visitors enjoyed the natural beauty of Hervey Bay, and that you all return in the near future.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

stayed here for a few nights and it was beautiful, a lovely room looking over the harbour, just up the road is the boat club, you can go here for cheap drinks and cheap food, even if the clientelle is a little older, we are a young couple in our 20's but was still great food and a great place. The hotel was clean, the beds really comfy and was lovely looking over the marina in the evening,if you get up early you can see the sun rising too. all in all an amazing stay, will definitely come back to this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfgti220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Golfgti220,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at Mantra Hervey Bay. It is very pleasing to hear that you had such a great time while you were here. We certainly recommend that everyone visits the Boat Club at least once during their stay. Fantastic food for a great price, and all within 100 metres of Mantra Hervey Bay.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hervey Bay Mantra, great value for money. Our room was on the 5th floor and we had excellent views of the marina and water.

The location is perfect for whale watching with the marina right next door so no rushing to get to the boat.

The self contained room was nice and clean with all the facilities we needed.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this to our friends and will stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Craigjv,

Thank you for your concise review, and for highlighting the excellent value for money that you receive at Mantra Hervey Bay. There are a number of options available for accommodation for visitors to Hervey Bay, we do believe that our price point enables guests to have a quality stay, in a terrific location.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hervey Bay
1.8 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
269 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#7 of 23 in Hervey Bay
583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akama Resort
Akama Resort
#3 of 23 in Hervey Bay
496 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
4,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Hervey Bay

Property: Mantra Hervey Bay
Address: Buccaneer Drive, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Hervey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Hervey Bay is the region's only absolute marina front accommodation, offering direct access to the Great Sandy Strait as well as being one of the best places in Australia for whale watching. Only three and half hours north of Brisbane or just five minutes from the Fraser Coast airport, Mantra Hervey Bay offers a range of accommodation perfect for your Fraser Coast holiday. Featuring hotel rooms and one, two, and self-contained three bedroom apartments, all rooms include private balconies and cable TV, with most rooms featuring a spa bath. One and two bedroom apartments offer the additional convenience of kitchenette and laundry facilities. Onsite leisure facilities at Mantra Hervey Bay include a swimming pool, sauna, exercise room, BBQ facilities and adjoining restaurants. Free security parking is available. There is also a number of retail outlets including fashion boutiques, a day spa and gift stores within the marina precinct. With an abundance of nature, such as the Great Sandy Strait, Fraser Island and the wetlands, as well as the eco tourism ventures and attractions, Hervey Bay offers something for every visitor. Hervey Bay is an idyllic location to experience the Fraser Coast with Mantra Hervey Bay providing the perfect base to explore all that is on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Hervey Bay Hotel Hervey Bay
Mantra Hotel Hervey Bay
Hervey Bay Mantra Hotel
Mantra Hervey Bay Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing